First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

528 China Tour & Trip Reviews

528
China Tour & Trip Reviews 99% Recommend

4.7 out of 5
Excellent 399 Great 117 Average 5 Disappointing 2 Terrible 5
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Tour Reviews

  • Sort By:

R

Does Not Recommend

An Utter Mess November 2017

1.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 2.0
I never gave a 5 star to incompetent Wendy Wu

Wendy Wu Tour-Silk Road Tour-September 2017

A MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT . We wasted 5 full days......yes, 5 days in which we did nothing relevant to the published tour itinerary, in order to avoid overnight trains (which were on the itinerary) and make sure we were forced to see the "factory tours" (retail sales stores).

Booked online, direct with WW.

Xian was horrible. 2 days of itinerary inexplicably changed into one day AND we did not arrive at the first venue until 11:30 AM, because we were forced to go to a retail store. 1 1/2 hour rush job at Terra-cotta Warriors (+ 1 hr for lunch), one hour on the City Wall and 40 minutes in the Muslim Quarter (my wife and I had spent 3 hours there, before the tour started). People traveled 1/2 way around the world, and we were to " walk thru, and if you have questions, you can ask later".....since it was our first (and only) visit, we started to guess at what would be a good question. Only to be told that we were out of time for Q&A.

There was a complete inability , OR DESIRE, by (all but one) local guides to impart knowledge.

The National Rep was scared of the local guides. Even when our entire group complained to her, she would not ask the local guides to be more informative.

Luckily, there were two Phd.'s, who were tourist in our group........they spent their time correcting the local guides, and they helped provide historical , cultural, and antiquital information.

in Kashgar, the outdoor animal market opened only on Sunday at noon. We were taken there between 10am and 11:15am........and told that we had to leave early.

The entire 25 day tour was fraught with excuses, unnecessary waste of days, and venues in which we had too little time to permit a proper understanding of its' historical importance.

IMAGINE, Spending the money for a couple to take a WW TOUR, and then being told that you needed to rush through several important venues, that were the major highlights of the tour
Read more

R

Does Not Recommend

Pathetic Wendy Wu Tour. September 2017 November 2017

1.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
Wendy Wu Tour-Silk Road Tour-September 2017

A MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT . We wasted 5 full days......yes, 5 days in which we did nothing relevant to the published tour itinerary, in order to avoid overnight trains (which were on the itinerary) and make sure we were forced to see the "factory tours" (retail sales stores).

Booked online, direct with WW.

Xian was horrible. 2 days of itinerary inexplicably changed into one day AND we did not arrive at the first venue until 11:30 AM, because we were forced to go to a retail store. 1 1/2 hour rush job at Terra-cotta Warriors (+ 1 hr for lunch), one hour on the City Wall and 40 minutes in the Muslim Quarter (my wife and I had spent 3 hours there, before the tour started). People traveled 1/2 way around the world, and we were to " walk thru, and if you have questions, you can ask later".....since it was our first (and only) visit, we started to guess at what would be a good question. Only to be told that we were out of time for Q&A.

There was a complete inability , OR DESIRE, by (all but one) local guides to impart knowledge.

The National Rep was scared of the local guides. Even when our entire group complained to her, she would not ask the local guides to be more informative.

Luckily, there were two Phd.'s, who were tourist in our group........they spent their time correcting the local guides, and they helped provide historical , cultural, and antiquital information.

in Kashgar, the outdoor animal market opened only on Sunday at noon. We were taken there between 10am and 11:15am........and told that we had to leave early.

The entire 25 day tour was fraught with excuses, unnecessary waste of days, and venues in which we had too little time to permit a proper understanding of its' historical importance.

IMAGINE, Spending the money for a couple to take a WW TOUR, and then being told that you needed to rush through several important venues, that were the major highlights of the tour
Read more

SK

Recommends

Fabulous China trip November 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
On October 13, 2016, we left for our trip to China & the Yangtze River Cruise. 27 people who couldn't wait to meet each other and most of all our tour guide, Mark Ma. To say that he's the best would be an understatement. Our trip was fabulous from the moment we met him til we boarded the plane, homeward bound. His knowledge of China is vast and his English is perfect. This is my 3rd trip with Smart Tours and I love traveling with them. The price is unbeatable for what we always get. From hotels, to transportation, tours and food Smart Tours can't be beat. The trip is physically demanding but the upside is I lost 6 pounds from so much walking. I can't wait for my next trip. Thanks!!
Read more

EL

Recommends

The China sampler tour November 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The China sampler was a wonderful trip. We had never ventured to the orient and the China Sampler was a good introduction to Chinese culture. We liked all the places we visited in Beijing, Xian, Shanghai,and Sozhou. The hotels were very nice and comfortable. Out guides Hou and Lilly were very knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. All the extra excursions were well worth the time and expense. I would definitely recommend the tour to anyone.
Read more

BKD

Recommends

Great but exhausting tour November 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We hit the road running, flight from LA to Shanghai...our guide Mark was waiting for us and we set off for the hotel. Mark Ma spent the entire time with us. For most of us that have travelled a lot, we all felt he was one of the best ever. He was patient, intelligent, knowledeable, and informative. There were 26 in our group of varying ages and abilities. At the end of the day, we saw so much and were ready for bed at night. There is so much to see, but the crowds of people for us proved very tiring. China proved to be a remarkable country, we were all blown away how they have advanced mainly since Tienamen and then of course where they are going from here. The cities were all new and amazing, and very, very clean. We were hard pressed to find any litter anywhere. All of the major attractions were amazing....The Terra Cotta Warriors were almost beyond belief...no one should miss seeing this piece of history. At every place we went, Mark and smarTours had arranged for a tour guide for us for that area....they were able to give us great insight to that days activities from a local perspective.For your information, we saw tours from much more expensive tour companies all along the way...they were seeing most of the same sights, staying at many of the same hotels...be sure to realize the value of this trip
Read more

A

Does Not Recommend

Nanda Devi and Miriam Glacier November 2016

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
A badly managed trip from the time we arrived in Delhi till the time we left Delhi.
None. Trip spoilt by the poor planning, dishonest trip notes and shifty people we dealt with.

Group leader did not have the experience to lead such a challenging trip, had no leadership qualities and poor people handling skills. Did not know how to handle the problem that arose with two of the trekkers.

Stay away from this trek.

My report on this trip has been submitted to Exodus management and I am awaiting their comments.

Read more

PW

Recommends

Amazing Tour of China November 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have just returned from the China Sampler tour jet-lagged and happy, and I can’t stop talking about how incredible it was. Thanks to tour guide Michael (and a number of excellent local guides who joined him), our wonderful group of travelers saw the biggest sights in China: the Great Wall, the Terra Cotta Army, and Shanghai’s breathtaking Bund waterfront. I highly recommend the optional excursions. Almost everyone in the group did most (or all!) of the excursions, which kept us very busy but ended up being some of the most memorable highlights of the trip. While the hotel in Beijing was pretty good, the ones in Xian and Shanghai were outstanding. Michael kept things running smoothly and efficiently. Word to the wise if you book this trip: I hope you like Chinese food! This was my first trip with SmarTours, and it won’t be my last.
Read more

RM

Recommends

17 day China Tour September 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My second smarTour trip was simply amazing. The value for money incredible, Harry our tour director just perfect and China mind blowing. I just can't say enough about this amazing experience, except to say "just do it". You won't have any regrets.
Read more

YC

Recommends

China August 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I traveled to Beijing and Shanghai with smarTours in April 2015. I had a wonderful time. Our tour guide, Tiger, was amazing and very knowledgeable. The sites and excursions were fun. I am hoping to find a great rate for a Hong Kong and Tokyo combined trip before my visa expires. I still have eight years remaining.
Read more

CB

Recommends

China Sampler August 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This is my 2nd trip with Smartours. I went with eight of my friends and family and we truly enjoyed our trip. Oscar our tour guide was the best. He was patient and extremely knowlegable. The sites were great and also the additional excursions. I must say we were tired , but it was well worth it. I am so glad that I was able to share some great moments with my group, especially climbing the Great Wall, my 1st visit to one of the Seven Wonders of the world. The hotels were awesome, but the 1st hotel in Beijing could have been better. I am getting ready to plan my second trip next year with Smartours. I cant stop telling my friends about my trip and your company.
Read more

s

Recommends

Awesome China August 2016

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
SHANGHAI Hotel: Excellent. Shanghai Tours: Excellent. BEIJING Hotel: Excellent. Beijing Tours: Excellent

E&SP

Recommends

China & Yangtze River Cruise with Hong Kong August 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Overall the tour was great. Harry was quite knowledgeable and a great tour leader who assisted with every needs. He saw that as Vegetarians we were accorded enough choices for our diet. Individual guides in the cities were also quite knowledgeable and provided a wealth of information.
Read more

MIR

Recommends

Excellent August 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Excellent TRIPS!!!

LH

Recommends

Wonderful Trip to China July 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I recently returned from the China Sampler and had a great trip. From the beginning of planning my trip to the end, the staff was helpful. Veronica helped a great deal with some issues I had with the trip and answered all my questions in a timely manner. Initially, I was hesitant to go on a tour as a single person. The tour guide, Oscar (Li Bo), made everyone feel welcomed and was very attentive to everyone's needs. He went out of his way to make everyone on the tour happy. The hotels were very nice and the destinations were interesting. Everything on my tour ran smoothly and I got to see everything that was on the tour. The group of people on the tour were friendly and I never felt like I was traveling alone. Thanks smarTours for a wonderful experience. I am already thinking of where to go to next!
Read more

TFFT

Recommends

China's Hidden Gem July 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
While China is a very hectic, very overwhelming country, it is also a country filled with incredible natural beauty. For the average tourist, these beautiful sites are largely inaccessible or extremely difficult to access due to a combination of language barriers and lack of public transportation. One of these gorgeous areas is located between Yichang and Chongqing: the Three Gorges of the Yangtze River.

With this in mind, many cruise companies have begun offering multi-day trips down the Yangtze River, making the relatively inaccessible easily accessible. One such cruise company is Victoria Cruises. They have a range of vessels and itineraries to suit one’s needs. We decided to hop aboard their most prestigious boat, the Victoria Jenna, for a five night/four day cruise luxurious cruise through the gorges. Newly renovated this year, the ship exudes class and comfort.

The rooms aboard the Victoria Jenna were clean and quite spacious considering we were on a ship. To compliment the five-star standard within the rooms itself, the Victoria Jenna offered ample facilities for it’s guests. Whether you want to lounge on the rooftop or grab a drink at the lovely Yangtze Club bar, there’s something for everyone. The dining options for breakfast, lunch, and dinner were fantastic; the Victoria Jenna offered an array of food from Asian to Western cuisine.

Of course, one of the main reason people cruise is for the excursions. We were lucky enough to go on all of the included and optional tours offered on the Victoria Jenna, and I’m thrilled that we did. They outsource local guides that are truly knowledgable about each and every site.

Last but not least, I was astounded by the staff; never have I seen a staff so attentive and friendly. A very special shoutout goes to Dick, our Cruise Director, who made sure that everything we needed was taken care of; Steven, our River Guide, who not only knew the in’s and out’s of the Yangtze, but also taught Mahjong and Chinese 101, on top of playing MC for the week; and Maggie, our fantastic waitress for every meal in the Executive Lounge, who not only knew us by name, but knew all of our food and drink preferences as well.

I wouldn't cruise down the river with any company other than Victoria Cruises! It was truly the highlight of my month-long journey in China.

Thanks again!
Sarah

Founder, The Five Foot Traveler
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 1923 total

Reviews of China Tours on Stride are between 4.8 and 5 stars. Most reviews are positive, with praise for their guides who either spoke easy to understand english or had interpreters, and were local. Food is also mentioned quite a bit, in a positive light. Chinese food in China is quite different that westernized, so be sure to read a lot of China tour reviews to make sure this aspect will be appealing to you!

Tours & Operators on Stride Awarded and Featured by:

  • National Geographic, Condé Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure
  • Outside, The New York Times