955 China Tour & Trip Reviews

China Tour & Trip Reviews

955 Reviews
4.8 out of 5
Excellent 748 Great 186 Average 15 Disappointing 2 Terrible 4
99% Recommend
Value
4.8 Guide
4.8 Activities
4.8 Lodging
4.8 Transportation
4.8 Meals
4.8

Editor’s Take

What to Look For in China Tour Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country - however in China it’s a bit of a different story.

Negative or lower rated reviews for China tours often bring up the culture shock - though most have a positive word to say about their tour guide and the trip itinerary in general. So in the case of China reviews, the tour itself may have been enjoyable but the country was different than expected.

As you read China reviews, consider that China - while a wonderful country with amazing history and people - can be very challenging for travelers, particularly western travelers.

The language barrier is one of the primary reasons that traveling with a local guide is essential in China. They are invaluable for keeping things calm in the often crowded and confusing areas you visit, make sure you find things to eat that you’ll enjoy, and can also help you experience more rural countryside regions, that would be extremely difficult to navigate independently if you don’t speak the language.

That said, while most guides in China speak english, sometimes their accent will be thick and difficult to understand. This can be quite frustrating for some and possibly lead to a lower review score. Be sure to take this into account as you read China tour reviews.

Accommodations in China may also be quite different in terms of comfort level, depending on where in the country you’re traveling, and the tour style. Many China tours feature overnight trains, which can be quite an experience - not always super comfortable.

Homestays and local hotels are very common on China tour itineraries, and these too aren’t every travelers cup of tea. Be prepared with an open mind and adventurous spirit, ready to learn about a very different culture from your own.

If you want a professional take on traveling in China, see the Stride Travel China Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

L

Recommends

Outstanding! June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We've just returned from our 12-day tour of China and there's only one adjective to describe the service of Ritz tour guides and drivers: OUTSTANDING! The five-star hotels were beyond expectations and the shows were spectacular! Thank you Ritz for a wonderful vacation....
Read more

A

Recommends

First trip to China and we loved it! June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was my family and me's first trip to China and we loved it! We were so glad we chose to go with Ritz Tours.... Also, I had so much fun on the trip to China that I made a YouTube video about it

D

Recommends

Made it a great value. June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
just returned on 6-2-13 from your absolutely fabulous 16 day, 14 night tour of Beijing and the Great Wall, Yangtze River, Xian and terra-cotta warriors, Guilin and the exquisite Li river cruise, and Shanghai. Each of our city guides was outstanding but the most remarkable, helpful, impressive, approachable guide was Ocean, our national tour guide. China was fascinating and we bonded well with our fellow guests, but Ocean made the trip wonderfully fun and informative. we would love to do China "201" with him and see other parts of China. We are trying to get our fellow guests to schedule another trip with him. This was an absolutely unforgettable experience and the price of the tour made it a great value. Thank you ever so much. Hope to travel with you folks again. Best wishes.
Read more

Tour Ritz Tours Company Reviews

A

Recommends

Amazing trip to Lhasa City May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We are very lucky to be guided by a knowledgeable tour guide. He can provide in great information on the history, culture and life of the Tibetan. What an amazing tour.

E

Recommends

Amazing tour and operator! May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our tour guide is very professional and knowledgeable. It provides lots of useful information when we are in Tibet. With the help of the tour guide and Great Tibet tour, we have a wonderful time in Tibet. Wish to travel to Tibet again.
Read more

M

Recommends

Fantastic Tibet Nepal tour May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
After taking a fantastic train journey along the Qinghai Tibet Railway, we met our tour guide at the train station. Then we started our trip from Tibet to Nepal by this excellent tour guide. We visited Lhasa city, EBC, and Nepal. It is wonderful journey.
Read more

S

Recommends

I love Tibet May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Seven days Lhasa Mt. Everest Kathmandu overland group tour was really excellent. I never forget it in the rest of life. Tibet is really charming and attractive. And our tour guide is also excellent and kind. They helps us a lot. Great Tibet Tour is a trustworthy agency. I will recommend it to my friends.
Read more

S

Recommends

What a pleasant trip May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our tour guide is very professional. He knows everything in Tibet and gave us lots of travel tips. And he is also skillful. He could do a magic show when we feel exhausted. We really enjoyed our time there.
Read more

M

Recommends

Trustworthy travel agency May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Before heading to Tibet, we compared the price of this five days trip in several company. At least, we booked our tour in Great Tibet Tour which has more than ten years’ experience. This tour company is really wonderful and the service is the best.
Read more

J

Recommends

Nothing but amazing May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
During this 15 days tour in Tibet, Tibet leaved a deep impression in my mind. We had an amazing time in Tibet with nice tour guide and drivers. They were always here when we needed their help.

W

Recommends

Stunning EBC Kailashi kora tour May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
With the help of our friendly tour guide, we spend an fantastic time in this holy land. Visiting Mt Everest and Kailash was my ultimate dream. Now, I achieved my dream guided by a professional tour operator. The sunrise and sunset of Mt Everest and the pilgrims along the way to Mt Kailash impressed me a lot.
Read more

M

Recommends

Unforgettable Time in Tibet May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This 6 days tour showed me a lot of attractions in Lhasa, Gyantse, and Shigatse. Our tour guide made us feel welcome, and he was very knowledgeable about Tibetan culture, customs and religion and taught us so much.
Read more

W

Recommends

Thrilling and wonderful journey May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Joining this 6 days tour helped me know more about Tibetan culture and lives. Besides that, we made several partners from other countries who were also interested in Tibet. We talked a lot and learn a lot. What a thrilling and wonderful journey.
Read more

N

Recommends

AMAZING! May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This 10 days tour was amazing! If I have a chance to Tibet again, I will find this excellent tour guide again. A kind, helpful, knowledgeable, tour guide. When I suffer from the high altitude sickness, he took me to the doctor in the middle of the night. Thanks him very much. And also thanks Great Tibet Tour.
Read more

P

Recommends

The Roof of the World May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I feel blessed to have joined this with a fantastic group, I feel enriched by our tour guide and for the best part Great Tibet Tour. They did an great job, such as double check all bookings for accuracy. I believe I will visit Tibet again in the future.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 955 total

Top China Tours View All China Trips
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x