Stride climate
861 Ecuador Tour & Trip Reviews

Ecuador Tour & Trip Reviews

861 Reviews
4.8 out of 5
Excellent 703 Great 135 Average 11 Disappointing 8 Terrible 4
99% Recommend
Value
4.8 Guide
4.8 Activities
4.8 Lodging
4.8 Transportation
4.8 Meals
4.8

Editor’s Take

What to Look For in Ecuador Tour Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

Reviews for tours in Ecuador are mostly rated positively. There are many different sides of Ecuador to see, and Ecuador tours tend to focus heavily on one or two main regions.

Remember that one of the most popular destinations in Ecuador is the Galapagos - and this tends to be a stand alone trip. So a variety of Ecuador reviews will be all about a trip to the Galapagos rather than mainland Ecuador.

That said, Galapagos or mainland, Ecuador is very much a nature enthusiast destination. From the rainforest to the Andes, experiencing Ecuador means a lot of time outside. Accommodations are basic, often with a sustainable focus, and even in the luxury eco lodges you can expect a bug or two to join you in your room.  

Positive reviews comment on their guides ability to highlight wonderful cultural sights as well as the many natural attractions - and pinpoint nearly hidden wildlife!

Those Ecuador reviews that are more negative really come down to personal preferences. Some travelers disliked the amount of free time on the tour, while others complained that the itinerary tried to cram too much in. Be sure to read the itinerary carefully to determine if the tour will follow a pace you’ll enjoy.

If you want a professional take on traveling in Ecuador, see the Stride Travel Ecuador Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

A

Recommends

Thoroughly enjoyed August 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed my 11 weeks on the road through Central America and Colombia.

A

Recommends

Enjoyed the culture of the old Mayan ruins August 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Every country was an adventure. Enjoyed the culture of the old Mayan ruins as well as the biodiversity of Costa Rica and Colombia. Highlights were snorkeling in Caye Caulker, seeing the native frogs in Costa Rica, sleeping in hammocks and standing on the equator line in Ecuador.
Read more

R

Recommends

Great team August 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
ASA is a great team with Eli on the backup side and Jaime on the field with us. Eli followed us with all the administrative and paper work, and make everything clear and easy, on the other hand Jaime was our guide, and we could not feel any safer especially as the conditions were a bit rough out there!

I definitely highly recommend the team in all mountaineering activities.

Thank you for your help on the Cotopaxi slopes :)
Take care guys.
Read more

A

Recommends

Fantastic planning and experienced guides July 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Fantastic planning and experienced guides. This group gets it right! I felt safe, secure and well looked-after in this fun-filled adventure in the Andes! Highly recommend!

A

Does Not Recommend

Horrible Customer Experience and Agency with Complete Lack of Any Expertise July 2019

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Shame on Andean Discovery. When one chooses a travel agency it is for their “craft”, or expertise if you will, on knowing and recommending ALL things for the desired location. My family used them for the first time to travel to Galapagos islands. They sorely disappointed and beyond failed with the transportation from Santa Cruz island to Isabella island. This was the most atrocious life altering experience on the ocean my family has ever had and we grew up on the ocean and we both have boats on a lake and the gulf of Mexico, so we are very experienced with the seas. There were so many issues and wrong doings with this, my words will not do it justice. It was a small speed boat packed to the gizzards with people and only a few life jackets that I could see. I was alarmed by that but knew it was going to be a problem when the man handed out black vomit bags. This entire set up was not only unsafe and should be illegal, the waves and swells were larger than the boat during this time of year. I had my 74 year old mother and sister throwing up the entire miserable 2 hour ride where I had to change their vomit bags by bear crawling on the floor of the boat. There were others vomiting as well, and the worst travel experience of my life and I travel all over the world.
Again shame shame on Andean for not knowing what that experience was like and what the ocean was like during that part of their season & more importantly for not providing their clients with OPTIONS. Option to fly between the islands which we found out were available after we got off, thank god alive, that horrific speed boat. And our tour guide knew all of this and he even agreed how rough and awful the ocean and boat experience is during this time and that Andean should be made aware, which is appalling as that is their job!

I challenged the members of Andean, to go, and go now, and experience the boat ride (provided them the boat named the “GLADEL”) for themselves from Santa Cruz to Isabella for a whopping $30. I would never want one person to ever experience what my family and I had to endure.

They were the worst travel agency I have ever experienced, they were rude, unprofessional and not empathetic at all. They never even reached out after they knew we were taking the plane back between the islands because their travel guide had to fly with us. Never waste your time looking into this disaster of an agency.
Read more

SoAD

Does Not Recommend

Overall Awful Experience with Andean Discovery July 2019

1.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Shame on Andean Discovery. When one chooses a travel agency it is for their “craft”, or expertise if you will, on knowing and recommending ALL things for the desired location. My family used them for the first time to travel to Galapagos islands. They sorely disappointed and beyond failed with the transportation from Santa Cruz island to Isabella island. This was the most atrocious life altering experience on the ocean my family has ever had and we grew up on the ocean and we both have boats on a lake and the gulf of Mexico, so we are very experienced with the seas. There were so many issues and wrong doings with this, my words will not do it justice. It was a small speed boat packed to the gizzards with people and only a few life jackets that I could see. I was alarmed by that but knew it was going to be a problem when the man handed out black vomit bags. This entire set up was not only unsafe and should be illegal, the waves and swells were larger than the boat during this time of year. I had my 74 year old mother and sister throwing up the entire miserable 2 hour ride where I had to change their vomit bags by bear crawling on the floor of the boat. There were others vomiting as well, and the worst travel experience of my life and I travel all over the world.
Again shame shame on Andean for not knowing what that experience was like and what the ocean was like during that part of their season & more importantly for not providing their clients with OPTIONS. Option to fly between the islands which we found out were available after we got off, thank god alive, that horrific speed boat. And our tour guide knew all of this and he even agreed how rough and awful the ocean and boat experience is during this time and that Andean should be made aware, which is appalling as that is their job!

I challenged the members of Andean, to go, and go now, and experience the boat ride (provided them the boat named the “GLADEL”) for themselves from Santa Cruz to Isabella for a whopping $30. I would never want one person to ever experience what my family and I had to endure.

They were the worst travel agency I have ever experienced, they were rude, unprofessional and not empathetic at all. They never even reached out after they knew we were taking the plane back between the islands because their travel guide had to fly with us.
Read more

JK

Recommends

Looking at different options what would… June 2019

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
Looking at different options what would a 9 day trip to Spain cost from us with about 20 students

Thanks

F

Recommends

Traveling with ACIS takes all the… May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Traveling with ACIS takes all the anxiety and pressure off of me and I can concentrate on enjoying the trip with my students and embracing the new adventure.

K

Recommends

My experiences with ACIS have always… May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My experiences with ACIS have always been fantastic. ACIS's stellar reputation is completely deserved.

J

Recommends

I took a group to France in April of… May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I took a group to France in April of 2019 and couldn't be happier. The company is a joy to work with. I have never experienced such personalized service from start to finish! Will travel with them again.
Read more

MR

Recommends

Best in the business May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The best in the business! After 25 years of working with this company, they keep getting better. Their love for kids, understanding of educators, and partnering with parents are the best. Engaging kids and educators in travel is thier forte.
Read more

DS

Recommends

Don't Miss This Opportunity May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
There are few companies that truly live up to their motto, but ACIS knocks it out of the park. "Travel changes lives." Travel does change lives and this company makes it happen. ACIS is superior in all aspects of travel from pre-trip planning to follow through on every detail. I state with complete confidence that my children's experience with ACIS has positively impacted their college and career decisions. What else could a parent ask for? When considering other companies you get what you pay for, don't miss an ACIS opportunity!
Read more

S

Recommends

Costa Rica Trip May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I’ve traveled in the past with other companies but the service and education that my students received thru ACIS was far superior. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, great communicator and very organized. The activities, hotels and food were first class. I would highly recommend them and it’s worth the extra money
Read more

L

Recommends

I’ve been traveling with ACIS for 14… May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I’ve been traveling with ACIS for 14 years - amazing trips, tour guides, representatives, service...can’t say enough great things about them

ES

Recommends

I am always pleased with my trips May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I am always pleased with my trips, most hotels and food. Tour managers are off the charts. When I come home I am always satisfied and ready to travel again

Items 1 to 15 of 871 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x