Stride climate
1,510 Festivals & Special Events Tour & Trip Reviews

Festivals & Special Events Tour & Trip Reviews

1,510 Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Excellent 1,030 Great 392 Average 63 Disappointing 18 Terrible 7
98% Recommend
Value
4.6 Guide
4.6 Activities
4.6 Lodging
4.6 Transportation
4.6 Meals
4.6

Tour Reviews

N

Recommends

Experience Nepal tour June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Completed the 15 day Experience Nepal tour. Rahm was an amazing guide who took me around the country. He had so much knowledge of the trekking routes, the local culture, and history. He knew lots of people wherever we went and took me to local stores and restaurants. Both the driver and porter also were excellent, I don't know how they do it.

I can't speak higher of Ace the Himalaya, they are extremely organized: provided the best hotels and hotel rooms wherever we went, and had the most knowledgeable and experienced city tour guides.

I ended up being alone on the tour and they were very accommodating with making some adjustments and provided a seamless trip. If you're going to Nepal, Ace is definitely the way to go. Exceptional experience!
Read more

K

Recommends

An extremely timely manner June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just completed the Tilicho Lake/Thorang-La Pass 19 day trek and I had the trip of a life time! From the very beginning every single email and question I had was answered in an extremely timely manner.

Once I arrived I was picked up and taken to the pre trek meeting and was given an extremely in depth itinerary and review of my next 19 days. It was incredibly reassuring to meet my guide and fellow trekkers and see who I would be spending the next 3 weeks with.

The following 19 days consisted of spectacular scenery everyday, beautiful welcoming culture and delicious carb filled meals. However, the thing that impressed me the most was my guide Raj and porter Dhankumar. They were absolutely incredible! There was never a day where Raj wasn’t smiling and laughing. Raj has an extreme depth of knowledge about Nepal and the Himalayas that he shared with me at every stage of the trek. No question of mine ever seemed like an inconvenience or hassle and was answered with great knowledge that he has required over his 8 years of being a tour leader.
Dhankumar was one of the nicest people I have ever met. He always had a smile on his face and genuinely loved chatting and getting to know the group. At every single lunch stop he was offering to refill my water and on some of the harder trekking days he even handed over his own Oreo biscuit stash to make sure I had enough strength to get us through the day. On one part of the trek I was struggling with the tricky terrain, Dhan saw that I was having a hard time so he insisted that I had him my day pack which he added to the already 30kgs of bags on his back. He then proceeded to grab my hand and assist me along the rest of the difficult trail. I can not thank Dhan enough for this! If he wasn’t there to help me I am not sure if I could’ve completed this trek. Thank you Dhan.

I cannot wait to come back to Nepal and do many more treks with both Raj and Dhan!
Read more

H

Recommends

Did an extraordinary job June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Ace The Himalaya did an extraordinary job for our trip to Everest Base Camp and Gokyo Ri.

Our guide Nimesh Nepal and assistant guide Amin Karki carried themselves with utmost professionalism throughout the duration of our trip. Nimesh is a man with immense fitness, perfect conversational English, exceptional leadership skills, and he has a deep understanding of what needs to be done and what needs to be said at the right time. These attributes of his were what enabled us to complete every objective of the trek in a safe manner. Every morning and night, he would brief us in a systematic manner, check in on our physical condition and prepare us for the following segment of the trek. This was helpful for us because we were better able to condition our mental state for the trek. He is also very sharp and able to notice if we are unwell. His profound understanding of the interaction between altitude and diamox usage allowed us to manage our altitude sickness symptoms. Nimesh also accords immense respect to his clients. Whenever there were decisions to be made, Nimesh always laid out the different options, identified their pros and cons and left the final decision to us without putting any pressure on us. This enabled us to make informed decisions, without doing anything which we were not comfortable with.

During trekking, Nimesh and Amin would walk at the front and back respectively and adjusted their pace to match our own which we were comfortable with. At the teahouses, Nimesh and Amin would make sure that our needs were looked after first, before attending to their own. They also paid attention to small details, such as informing us which room they were staying at in case we needed to urgently look for them at night.

Temperament-wise, Nimesh and Amin were always high-spirited and cheery, which kept morale high in the group although the trek itself was strenuous and tiring due to the terrain. They brought us across Cho La Pass safely, which on hindsight is extremely difficult to attempt without an experienced guide.

Prior to the trip, we had considered not getting a guide, but Nimesh Nepal and Amin Karki were absolutely indispensable to us during this trip. We absolutely enjoyed our trip thanks to them, and thank Ace the Himalaya for delivering exactly what they set out to do.
Read more

E

Recommends

They are the best! June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Ace The Himalaya is a CLASS ACT company. Not only are they professional and efficient, we LOVED our guide and porter - Ramhari (guide) and Deepak (porter). They made our two day trek so much fun. They were polite, knowledgeable, great companions and attended to our every need. We really enjoyed their company.

Ace The Himalaya is not only amazing as a trekking company to people like us (tourists), they are very active in the local community, giving back 10% of their proceeds to help those in need.

Please book your trek with Ace. They are the best!
Read more

W

Recommends

Fantastic experience June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My friend and I have just returned from our trek to Everest Base Camp and Island Peak and the experience was nothing short of excellent. Of course, the views and people of the Khumbu valley make any trip here worthwhile but it must be said that Ace put together a wonderful itinerary for us complete with outstanding staff.
Our guide Pasang was perfect for the trip, he is from Lukla and his knowledge of his home Everest region is second to none and we were able to gain some fantastic insights through Pasang's connections in the area. Unfortunately for me, I fell ill with a flu short of everest basecamp and had to return to Dingboche with Pasang, his handling of the situation was excellent and turned the setback into a positive experience for me with his advice and wisdom. We then set off for Island Peak, again marred with illness for me, which is a fantastic experience for anybody with an interest in mountaineering but maybe unsure where to start.
I fell short of the summit by a couple of hundred feet but the views at dawn more than made up for the failure on my part. We had a climbing guide, Pemba, who was also outstanding and made us feel very safe on the mountain with his vast experience of himalayan mountaineering. All in all, the trip was a great success despite its various setbacks for me and that can be attributed to magic of the Khumbu region and the fabulous Pasang, Pemba and our porter Shere.
Read more

C

Recommends

An amazing job June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
ACE the Himalaya did an amazing job at coordinating our groups trip. I’m the type of person who doesn’t like to stress about my vacation. I like to go with the flow and have someone else do all the planing, ACE did that for me. ACE provided a guide (Nirajan) who did a great at job scheduling our everyday activities.
Read more

M

Recommends

I was impressed May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I read reviews on Trip Advisor regarding Ace the Himalaya prior to booking my trip for the Annapurna Circuit trek. I was impressed with how fast they responded to my emails. The itinerary listed was spot on. Everyone I met from Ace were friendly and very helpful. My guide, Yam (pronounced Yim) was very kind, friendly, and knowledgeable. He made sure I understood what to expect throughout our trek in terms of the terrain, weather and length time to get from village to village, etc. He also gauged my physical abilities and attentive to my needs throughout my stay. Dhan was my porter, he was very friendly, polite and considerate. I was impressed by his strength and abilities to carry my bag up and down the mountain trails with ease. I wouldn't hesitate recommending Ace The Himayla to anyone I know and I will definitely use them in the future as Nepal has so much to see and offer.
Read more

KK

Recommends

Cannot say enough wonderful things about our tour guide Alam with On The Go Tours February 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Entire holiday went smoothly with no hiccups. Alam was so informative with so much information and was always making sure our On The Go Tour family was having a great time and felt safe.

G

Recommends

On the Go Tours was amazing! Loved it! Better than we imagined! Our guide Alam went above and beyond!! We enjoyed our group (family) too! Thanks Alam February 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Keep up the good work. And keep on smiling.

SP

Recommends

Fantastic tour December 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I had such an amazing time. Our guide was truly fantastic, always going the extra mile to give us an authentic feel of the country (we would jump into tuk tuks to get to local restaurants, she would give us advice on local dishes, places to see and was always full of very interesting facts about the Thailand).

Group size (12) was perfect, we had the freedom to quickly go places without relying on a big bus. It gave us spontaneity and the possibility to discover small local restaurants and delicacies. I truly believe the small group size, and the fact that we all had the same expectations and desires for the tour added even more value to the experience.

Absolutely everything was perfect (visits, boat rides, food, accommodation, nature, sightseeing...), and the Yi Peng festivities were breathtaking.
Hard to find anything to improve on,if I had to: the visit to the hill tribes village lacked some contextual info. We were all nervous about getting a "human zoo" feeling and wanted to understand more about the place, the people living in the village and their lives in our modern world.

Also, a quick warning about the train ride: it is virtually impossible to get any sleep as the lights are extremely bright for some reason. Other than those little details, everything was absolutely perfect. Thank you so much, I will definitely book with you again in the future!
PS : I can't stress enough how amazing our tour guide Nui was :)
Read more

WT

Recommends

Firstly can i just congratulate you and your company for organising my recent trip to Egypt November 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
From the first email i sent to you , to getting off the plane back in Perth , the entire trip was fantastic. The tour guides and Reps were fantastic. The entire trip was well organised and we all felt very welcomed and well informed throughout the whole trip. When i was leaving Cairo i was the last of my group to leave. The thought of getting through security and customs at the airport was a daunting prospect but your team escorted me all through the process and a possible 2 hour process was reduced to about half an hour. Great stuff.
Read more

B

Recommends

I really wanted to move to Japan October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I really wanted to move to Japan, but I was too nervous about making a long term commitment. Thanks to Studytrips, I was able to do a 3 week trip and experience everything I was wanting to experience in Japan. If I didn’t think I could live in Japan, this trip allowed me to experience my Japnese bucketlist and was the perfect trip! However, I was able to make the decision that I do want to stay in Japan for a longer period. I am so grateful that Studytrips was able to give me a test run and give me the confidence to chase my dream!
Read more

A

Recommends

A great trip October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
A really enjoyable first experience of Japan. Cities, mountains, transport,
food & culture all there.
Probably reaching the summit of Fuji but the Mt Yari hike was more beautiful.
Bit unlucky with the weather on Yari.


Mayuko is an exceptional leader. She is all the things you would expect from
an exodus tour leader; well organised, patient, knowledgeable and in charge
of the group and the plan. Mayuko offers a lot more than that though. She
developed a real rapport with everyone in the group, she is engaging, funny
and opened a real window onto Japanese life. A gem.


Practice using chopsticks before you go! Luggage with wheels is very useful.
Be prepared for rain. The Mount Fuji jut is overcrowded and smelly.


Japan exceeded my expectations. Customer service is very good as is the
food.


Read more

A

Recommends

Bucket List Bhutan October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
If seeing Bhutan and hiking in the Himalayan region is on your bucket list,
then the Land of the Thunder Dragon tour is for you! This trip was such a
good mix, that it made me really feel like I got to see a good variety and
experience Bhutan to the fullest.
We got to trek for five days, seeing beautiful scenery, visit two festivals
(including a really fun, smaller local one, and a more famous and larger one
in the city), and visited many cultural sites.
Exodus Travels has an amazing local staff in Bhutan, and the guides were all
great. Everything was organized down to the last detail, and the trip was
executed flawlessly.
I can't recommend this trip enough!
On the fourth day of our hike, the clouds cleared and we got to see some of
the world's tallest unclimbed mountains!


We had two leaders, Norbu and Tshering, and they were both excellent. They
knew the answer to every question anyone could possibly have about Bhutan!
They both had outgoing, fun personalities and worked to make sure everyone on
the trip was happy and having a good time.


Pack warmer clothes than you think you'll need for the hike, and pack modest
but cooler clothes for the rest of the trip if you're going in September.


Read more

A

Recommends

One of the best Exodus trips October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Although the price is high, this is a great holiday and worth the cost. The
only thing that could have been better was the weather, as we had two days of
rain during the trek, but that made us appreciate all the other days of good
weather more. The scenery was fantastic, the itinerary was perfect, and we
were very well taken care of. We certainly left with a positive view of
Bhutan.
Really, the whole holiday was inspirational. Watching the sunrise during the
trek was beautiful and we were glad the guides woke us up to see it. We also
visited Punakha Valley even though we were supposed to miss it as we were
going to a festival and we were very glad we got to go as it was great. All
the dzongs were interesting and the buildings were photo-worthy everywhere we
looked.


Norbu was very knowledgeable, attentive, and accommodating. He had clearly
been a guide for a long time. Our other guide was also helpful and a very
nice man, although his English and his knowledge were not quite as good.


It can be very cold on the trek, especially at night, and very hot in the
valleys. You are also likely to get sunburnt on the trek, no matter how much
sunscreen you apply.

Pillows are provided on the trek.

Take cash on the trek for the tips as this will be given to the camp crew at
the end of the trek before you get to the hotel in Thimpu. The recommended
tip in the trip notes didn't include the main guide on our trip.

Take cash -- some people had trouble using cash machines.

Leave some clean clothes in Paro before starting the trek. You will get them
in Thimpu after the trek.

You have free time in Kathmandu at the beginning and end of the trip -- there
is nothing organised before dinner. It's not difficult to visit sites on
your own but if you are a woman travelling on your own, try to go with
someone else. Sole women often get harassed, probably not as badly as in
some places, but enough to be a nuisance and, potentially, slightly menacing.
People in our group experienced this. For myself, on one occasion I was
walking behind my husband so it wasn't clear that we were together and I was
followed by a man who wouldn't take no for an answer until my husband turned
around and threatened him.


One of our best holidays!


Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 1645 total

Top Festivals & Special Events Tours View All Festivals & Special Events Trips
Winter Festivals of South Korea tour Winter Festivals of South Korea

$ 4,070 13-days trip

Halloween in Transylvania tour Halloween in Transylvania

$ 1,675 10-days trip

The Canadian at Christmas tour The Canadian at Christmas

$ 4,375 11-days trip

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x