310 Iceland Tour & Trip Reviews

Iceland Tour & Trip Reviews

310 Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Excellent 211 Great 75 Average 18 Disappointing 3 Terrible 3
93% Recommend
Value
4.6 Guide
4.6 Activities
4.6 Lodging
4.6 Transportation
4.6 Meals
4.6

Editor’s Take

What to Look For in Iceland Travel Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary. Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

Reviews for tours in Iceland are mainly positive, in the 4 and 5 star range.

Iceland has grown rapidly in popularity, so the crowds are almost unavoidable unless you travel in the middle of shoulder season. Traveling with a guide is one of the best ways to help the crowds feel less intense.

Your Iceland tour guide may not be a local every time, but positive reviews almost always comment on the their guide’s expert knowledge and ability to expand on the unique landscapes and natural phenomena in Iceland.

Safety is another primary concern when traveling in Iceland, as this is a very popular destination for adventure travel. In particular you will probably have 1 or 2 quite long drives and depending on the time of year the roads could be wet or icy. Some reviews

Another important thing to bear in mind is that Iceland is very expensive. Be sure to go prepared for this, as not all meals or activities may be included in your tour price.

The service level on your Iceland tour will depend on the tour theme, but most Iceland tours have an active focus. Accommodations are mainly value or premium, comfortable and clean, yet relatively basic amenities.

Some negative Iceland tour reviews comment on the sights that weren’t included on the itinerary. Due to Iceland’s popularity, some travelers may have been under the impression that all the major sites on listicles and from inspiring photographs would be included on the tour.

While it’s true that a number of Iceland’s main attractions can be seen on a short trip, some other are much farther away from the main tourist track. So depending on your tours duration, be sure to look closely at the itinerary to make sure everything you want to see is included.

If you want a professional take on traveling in Iceland, see the Stride Travel Iceland Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

A

Recommends

Iceland Walking Explorer August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
An active walking trip through a diverse kaleidoscope of landscapes, from
volcanic craters, green verdant hills to snow fields. An excellent way to
experience nature and Iceland without the crowds.
Hiking in Kerlingafjoll in snowy conditions. A combination of hot steamy
geothermal activity, stark hills covered in snow. Bleak, and beautiful.
Wading through snowfields, and clambering up slippery snow covered hills. It
was a real adventure.


Gunnar was great. Stoic, quietly passionate, a good chef who fed us well,
and kept us safe. He showed us the beauty of Iceland sprinkled with
traditional folklore. His depth of knowledge of the flora and fauna was
impressive.


Be prepared for all seasons from sun, snow, rain, wind. Waterproofs
compulsory and walking poles are useful. The walking is technically not
difficult but you do have to be reasonably fit. We walked on average 6-8
hours per walking day. Adverse weather conditions may make it more difficult
walking through muddy, slippery conditions.


Definitely go sooner than later. Camping is becoming increasingly popular. We
went at the beginning of the season and missed the crowds.


Read more

S

Recommends

Very informed about all the things August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We were on the middle October 2017 tour. Our tour guide, Oli, MADE us stay out on the tour the first night that we were there--for some of us having stayed up for nearly 24 hours BUT--he was right we had views of the Northern Lights that never appeared another night--He was great--I loved all the tales of the Trolls and Hidden People--he was very informed about all the things that make Iceland so special. Plan to go back. The worst part of the whole trip was my getting called out--cataracts and all--for extra scrutiny at the Reyjavik airport--and that the overnight at JFK was unbearable--except for watching some Peruvians in native costume--recognized from our trip to Macchu Picchu --who were waiting on a flight.--Hated that part of it all--the connection--but loved the trip itself.
Read more

MP

Recommends

Anna was an amazing tour guide - I really can’t speak highly enough April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
She had a deep knowledge and love of her country and it showed in every moment of the trip making it extra special.

SR

Recommends

Thor was extremely knowledgeable and personable April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0

He ensured that everyone was comfortable, happy, and achieving all that they wanted to on their tour.

I loved this trip! Being in a small group and travelling around the entire country, was both enlightening and exhilarating.
Our transport, accommodation, guide, and daily 'excursions' made this trip a dream come true.
Read more

YB

Recommends

Our Iceland holiday was amazing March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We saw everything we wanted to see - the trip was well-paced, but we covered a lot of ground. We also saw the Northern lights - spectacular.
Anna-Lara was excellent - informative and great fun. She obviously enjoys her work, and we felt really well looked after.
Read more

CDF

Recommends

The sites chosen to visit were excellent, I felt that the itinerary provided a good sampling of Iceland, and hit some major attractions March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The time spent at each stop was usually adequate. Thank you for a good trip.

BW

Recommends

On the whole we had a fantastic time and a really great experience March 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
This tour is such a great way to explore the highlights of Iceland an would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

CM

Recommends

Very interesting tour guide, lots of little titbits of information, felt very safe with the coach driver March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Everything was well timed, excellent places to eat out, enjoyed the Blue Lagoon. We didn't see the Northern Lights unfortunately but we understand that these do not always appear. We had a lovely time. The log cabins at Hella were beautiful, we felt like we were in a fairtytale!
Read more

PC

Recommends

The tour was full on right from the start, no time to relax,Brilliant February 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It is obvious right from the start that both our safety and enjoyment were the main priorities. Simone was exceptional in her knowledge and this was shared with us throughout, as were any decisions as to why we were changing itinerary. I must also mention Gunner our driver, these are the unsung heroes on any tour, The conditions on some of the roads where a white out but at no time did we feel unsafe. He also well went that extra mile to ensure we saw all the sights safely.
Read more

RP

Recommends

Good tour with lots to see February 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Would have liked a little more Reykjavik time. Saw northern lights so I am pleased.

LT

Recommends

I loved this tour, it was absolutely amazing and covered all the main tourist sites December 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The guide was lovely and really helped make the holiday memorable. I have already recommended this tour to several people.

SM

Recommends

This was an amazing tour, Katrina was so knowledgable and friendly and really gave us a fantastic tour all round November 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I was thrilled that even when the weather threatened to change the itinerary Katrina was prepared for anything and we never felt that we had missed out! The highlights are too many to really tell but I have recommended this tour and OTG to many of my friends and clients now. I am also considering going back to Iceland in the summer and will certainly look at OTG for this! Thank you for a life changing trip!
Read more

LE

Recommends

Great tour, wonderful sites, nice accommodations and terrific guide November 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thanks for getting us ready along the way, too.

TT

Recommends

I thought this tour was spectacular November 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I was amazed at every stop we made. We had a good amount of time at each stop. The cabins in Hella were so cute and were a great spot to try to view the Northern lights. Our guide Anna Laura was a delight and a bit of a character but sure made the trip a delight. My only regret is I didn't do a longer tour. Thank you.
Read more

SY

Recommends

We were very enjoyed the tour November 2017

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
The tour guide, Karl, has given us unforgettable experience about the northern lights and country side walk to an unknown water falls. He is an amazing photographer and shown us how to make great pictures at the night time with water falls as background. unfortunately, we can't get the pictures taken on us from him. This is the reason I give a star less.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 310 total

Top Iceland Tours View All Iceland Trips
Laugavegur trail guided walk

$ 2,560 5-days trip

Iceland Explorer tour Iceland Explorer

$ 1,149 4-days trip

Explore Iceland tour Explore Iceland

$ 3,599 9-days trip

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!