4,557 Italy Tour & Trip Reviews

Italy Tour & Trip Reviews

4,557 Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Excellent 3,293 Great 1,046 Average 161 Disappointing 36 Terrible 21
97% Recommend
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Editor’s Take

What to Look For in Italy Travel Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

Reviews for Italy tours are overwhelmingly positive, with a very small smattering of 1, 2, and 3 star ratings. It is important to note that Italy is often included on wider Europe tours, so some reviews will also be taking into account their experience in other countries as well.

Related to this, some reviews complain that multi-country tours felt extremely rushed - if this is the kind of experience you choose, be sure you are prepared for a very busy and active tour.

Service level will always vary tour company to tour company. Many negative reviews for Italy bring up the high number of “optional experiences” - that is additional tours, activities, and excursions not included in the base price of the trip. This is common practice, yet can be frustrating if you are unprepared for the tour to be set up in this way. Always check thoroughly while reading the itinerary to make sure you have a clear understanding of what is included.

There can also be some confusion on tours of Italy about the amount of walking and the grade of walking. The Amalfi Coast and Cinque Terre are beautiful and the views are spectacular, but the walking will be quite steep in some areas - for some it will feel more like hiking. Reading the reviews will be invaluable to help you narrow down the walking tour in Italy that is right for you.

If you want a professional take on traveling in Italy, see the Stride Travel Italy Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

B

Recommends

Fast-Paced Tour of Western Europe that highlighted most Bucket List Sights. Awesome Company. Great Food and Tour Leader June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I jumped on this tour with very little notice and planning, and I was thoroughly impressed. Our Topdeck trip leader was very knowledgeable, fun, and adjusted the trip to the group (34 people). The meals provided were delicious, and they worked hard to cater to dietary needs. Accommodations were good, typically with 2-6 people in a hostel room. Keep in mind they are hostels, not hotels (bring your own towel).

I loved the itinerary, as it highlighted the must-see places and had variety (ex. Paris, Rome vs. Switzerland). The optionals in each city were all wonderful. However, many were not presented in the Topdeck literature online and were not introduced on the trip more than a day in advance. All are paid for in cash (Euros). Because of how the optionals were presented, it was a bit harder to budget. I would recommend inquiring more about the optionals when booking and at the beginning of your tour via your trip leader. Don't feel pressured to do all of them and remember to keep your own interests in mind.

The solo travelers easily found others with similar interests to explore with. For many on this trip, drinking and going out to bars/clubs was a major component (as alcohol is often cheaper than water). Because of the shortness of this tour along with all the destinations, prepare for lots of driving and to make the most of the time you have in each city.

This trip provided am amazing sampling of Western Europe and opened my eyes to cultures and history I was unfamiliar with. Overall, I would highly recommend this itinerary and touring company, as it provided a good balance between budget and experiences.

P.S. Stay flexible with plans, but some of the popular sights need more pre-planning than expected, like the Eiffel Tower and the Anne Frank House (Amsterdam).
Read more

K

Recommends

Overall amazing value. Food, particularly by Topdeck staff, excellent. Spontaneous/flexible; be prepared to pay for lots of extra excursions, on and off your itinerary, in cash. June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Food was excellent. Accomodations were better than expected: hostels, but usually with in-suite bathrooms and always only with other members of your tour of the same gender. Don't try to overplan; trip is quite spontaneous and flexible and you won't know much about the schedule/optionals for each city more than a day or so in advance. Optionals will be plentiful and paid in cash. Only do those that are right for you, even if your trip leader really encourages them and most other people are going. These trips are great for solo travelers, but make sure you find people interested in the same things as you...it will probably be easy to find groups to go to bars and clubs with in the evenings, but harder to find people who prefer other evening plans. Driver was excellent and bus was very comfortable and clean, but be prepared to spend a lot of time on it as there is no driving at night. Trip leader extremely knowledgeable, experienced, and helpful. Overall, excellent value and a trip with plenty of time to see the bucket list highlights in each city.
Read more

D

Does Not Recommend

Expect no help, ignored, no resolution if issue on tour occurs Rate 0 June 2019

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Rate 0, would never touch Globus or Cosmos tour again. Be warned if there is an issue with your tour - Don't expect Globus to help you or provide a resolution – care factor is nil. Don't risk it - don't buy Globus or Cosmos. Globus and CEO of Globus accepts and approves employee bad behavior - including lying, disrespect and mock client in front of them and putting the client health and safety at risk - I have proof in emails that support this. Had major trouble on a Cosmos 15 night trip in Sicily - 10 nights of 15 nights trip went through extreme stress and no resolution (not during the trip or after rectification).

The tour guide was extremely unprofessional in behavior - lying to clients repeating, tour guide was disrespectful, mock, belittle, laugh about and downgrade clients in front of them in Italian thinking they don't understand what you are saying (clients understood what was said and extremely upset), the tour guide and company ignore risks and forced two of the shared clients to share with another that was an issue (that person should not been allowed to purchase a twin share or should of been told to get own room on tour - sharing with this person posed WHS hazards with power cords hanging mid high across room for their medical equipment (trip hazard) and breach of privacy and access to basic amenities (sharing with a stranger twin share - where can't shut bathroom door to go to toilet or shower - as the only power point is in bathroom and her equipment had to be plugged in for life support). Multiple clients on tour complained to tour guide for 10 days and demanded another room, the tour guide did not deal with it and lied, also mocked and disrespected clients in front of them. While on tour multiple complaints emailed direct to Globus as governing body did nothing and swept it under the table and ignored it. Multiple complaints was lodge after trip as well - still no action or resolution, Multiple complaints alerting CEO of Globus (12 pages letter full examples, photos and correspondence - still no action and I specifically ask CEO questions Does the CEO accept staff bad behaviour and breach of code of conduct - approving Globus staff lying, disrespectful, mocking clients and in Italian too and a whole heap more - I received a call today and YES the CEO of Globus approves the bad behaviour of staff and clients being disrespecting, mocking, lying and more. I travel extensively all over the world for 28 years, no other Tour company does this - all other companies will resolve it. Don't risk it - don't use Globus or Cosmos - if you have an issue you wont get help. Use another tour company - there are plenty of good ones out there who will stand by their service.
Read more

J

Recommends

A great experience and wonderful trip May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
A great experience and wonderful trip with a great guide in Yarum. Very informative and enjoyable experience where many friends were made.

Tour America Israel Tours Company Reviews

J

Recommends

A great experience and wonderful trip May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
A great experience and wonderful trip with a great guide in Yarum. Very informative and enjoyable experience where many friends were made.

Tour America Israel Tours Company Reviews

J

Recommends

This tour has been great! May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This tour has been great! Our guide Tamar is amazing. There seems to be no end to her knowledge of the sites we have visited. And our driver Yossi has been brilliant. This tour has been jammed packed with visits to site and after site with each one being more amazing than the last. So glad I was able to take this trip!
Read more

Tour America Israel Tours Company Reviews

J

Recommends

This tour has been great! May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This tour has been great! Our guide Tamar is amazing. There seems to be no end to her knowledge of the sites we have visited. And our driver Yossi has been brilliant. This tour has been jammed packed with visits to site and after site with each one being more amazing than the last. So glad I was able to take this trip!
Read more

Tour America Israel Tours Company Reviews

FA

Recommends

Wonderful trip April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our guide and bus driver were exceptional!

Tour America Israel Tours Company Reviews

HaBM

Recommends

Our visit to Israel April 2019

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
We have been to Israel several times The itinerary included some of the places we have already been before, but it is always okay to revisit these places because we can get another perspective from our guide. We did visit new places and saw the progress being made in the country's infrastructure and building all over Israel. There were some places on our itinerary that we did not visit, which we would have very much liked to have seen.

Our bus driver, Benny, who has been on several tours with us previously, was excellent as usual.

Our guide, Yishai was very nice and very knowledgeable, but we did find some faults with him. We were a group of 37 people. When we got off the bus or were walking, he moved on ahead and did not take into account those individuals who were in the back of the bus or who were a little slow. It was hard to keep up with him.
After the first full day of touring, where he left a couple of people behind, he counted to make sure that everyone was on the bus before we departed.

In some places, he spent too much time.We could have gone to another site that was on our itinerary. In several cases, he gave too much time for the group to go shopping. For example, spending over two hours to shop in Tel Aviv Ben Yehuda market was absolutely ridiculous . There were other places where he wasted time that could have been better spent. We could have used that time to see other sites.
We missed going to Acco and Coca Cola among others, which were on our itinerary, and these were just a couple of places we should have gone to see. It seems he tried to get away with as little as possible. He did not appear to allot the time to visit places well.
Read more

Tour America Israel Tours Company Reviews

HL

Recommends

My fourth trip to Israel with AIT. April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My fourth trip to Israel with AIT.
It was a great tour with good hotels, good food, and many interesting sites. I would highly recommend AIT to anyone going to Israel.

Tour America Israel Tours Company Reviews

MS

Recommends

Excellent tour guide and bus driver. April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Excellent tour guide and bus driver.
Hotels were all in excellent locations.
Very poor internet service at both Leonardo properties. Especially poor internet at Jerusalem location.
Rooms in all hotels were small.
Bathroom showers in both Leonardo hotels were difficult to use.

Certain parts of the itinerary were not provided. To see these Venus, we had to pay for our own transportation and admissions.

Lastly, disappointed with the tour operator denying me transport on the bus from airport to Jerusalem hotel. I paid over $100 to taxi that distance. The bus had plenty of empty seats but the tour operator told me that because I didn’t purchase the airfare from them, I could not board the group bus at the airport.
Read more

Tour America Israel Tours Company Reviews

SB

Recommends

Outstanding trip to Israel and Jordan! April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Outstanding trip to Israel and Jordan!! The tour guides, Yair and Omar, were very knowledgeable and coordinated all activities, busses, hotels with ease. Highly recommend America Israel Tours!!

Tour America Israel Tours Company Reviews

RJ

Recommends

We requested a Catholic guide but our… April 2019

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
We requested a Catholic guide but our guide was not Catholic. Some of his interpretations of the Gospel were not Catholic. Also, stops for kibbutz winery and diamond store were not on our itinerary but meant for commercial shopping purposes and took up time. Also, they never found us an ATM on the whole trip. The Masada tour took up too much time and is not important for Catholics. Zvi was polite and bus driver was very good. On other tours I've been on, the guide during the bus trip faces the group to give commentary. It would have been helpful but I understand that it is not safe while bus is moving. Hotels were OK but glitches like room keys that don't work ( 3 times for me at Dead Sea hotel).
Read more

Tour America Israel Tours Company Reviews

JS

Recommends

Bus driver and guide were amazing April 2019

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Bus driver and guide were amazing. Hotels were old, but nice. Food was good. Some changes made to the itinerary.

Tour America Israel Tours Company Reviews

PS

Recommends

Fantastic Israel in depth tour April 2019

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Fantastic Israel in depth tour. Benny was a very skillful driver. Ishai was the best guide - very knowlegable, very engaging and obviously a great lover and very proud of his homeland. The many places on the tour took us were very worthwhile, historical and interesting.

My only fault with the tour is that the time allotted for shopping opportunties at the various malls and shopping areas was too long. The shopping time cut into the time we had at some of the amazing museums where I would have loved to have stayed longer.
Read more

Tour America Israel Tours Company Reviews

Items 1 to 15 of 4557 total

Top Italy Tours View All Italy Trips
Classic Italy tour Classic Italy

$ 4,208 21-days trip

Tuscany Biking tour Tuscany Biking

$ 5,295 6-days trip

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x