4,447 Italy Tour & Trip Reviews

Italy Tour & Trip Reviews

4,447 Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Excellent 3,195 Great 1,038 Average 159 Disappointing 36 Terrible 19
97% Recommend
Value
4.6 Guide
4.6 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.6 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.6

Editor’s Take

What to Look For in Italy Travel Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

Reviews for Italy tours are overwhelmingly positive, with a very small smattering of 1, 2, and 3 star ratings. It is important to note that Italy is often included on wider Europe tours, so some reviews will also be taking into account their experience in other countries as well.

Related to this, some reviews complain that multi-country tours felt extremely rushed - if this is the kind of experience you choose, be sure you are prepared for a very busy and active tour.

Service level will always vary tour company to tour company. Many negative reviews for Italy bring up the high number of “optional experiences” - that is additional tours, activities, and excursions not included in the base price of the trip. This is common practice, yet can be frustrating if you are unprepared for the tour to be set up in this way. Always check thoroughly while reading the itinerary to make sure you have a clear understanding of what is included.

There can also be some confusion on Italy trips about the amount of walking and the grade of walking. The Amalfi Coast and Cinque Terre are beautiful and the views are spectacular, but the walking will be quite steep in some areas - for some it will feel more like hiking. Reading the reviews will be invaluable to help you narrow down the walking tour in Italy that is right for you.

If you want a professional take on traveling in Italy, see the Stride Travel Italy Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

M

Does Not Recommend

Never again! Perillo is sliding downward quickly. February 2019

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 1.0
No on-site management. The staff has no supervision.
Hotel is moldering and crumbling. Serious personal safety issues of several kinds. Doors are left unlocked all night, my room door bolt was broken.
I had some very unsettling experiences in a hotel and Perillo tried to ignore me and make me go away.
Extremely inept, defensive, inexperienced and unprofessional staff.
Read more

V

Does Not Recommend

Perillo uses hotel in Amalfi where there is no on site management. Lots of bad things happened to me there. Staff is rude, ancient hotel is crumbling and clearly in financial trouble. Perrillo has no competent professional service and won’t address serious issues they are responsible for. January 2019

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 1.0
Sleazy operation

K

Recommends

Very nice January 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Very nice equipment & was delivered in room & picked up as told when it was ordered.

Tour Special needs at Sea Company Reviews

A

Recommends

Well done! January 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The service was incredibly easy to use. You even delivered directly to my stateroom. Well done! You took the worry about getting around right out of my mind.

Tour Special needs at Sea Company Reviews

I

Recommends

Very easy from start to finish!! December 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I recommended special needs group for a client of mine. We went on a cruise on Royal Caribbean cruise lines. The wheelchair was there when they checked into their cabin. No problems or issues at all. Very easy from start to finish!! The price was great also!! Highly recommend them to anyone needing assistance!!
Read more

Tour Special needs at Sea Company Reviews

SN

Recommends

Always a positive experience December 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We have rented from them for years, and it is always a positive experience. Good people with quality equipment.

Tour Special needs at Sea Company Reviews

J

Recommends

I definitely recommend it to any one with mobility difficulties December 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I had a great experience in my recent cruise. As they told me, my scooter was near my stateroom, it was a bariatric scooter. I enjoy all 7 days in cruise. When time to go I just left it in the departure deck. It was a great experience and a great cruise. I definitely recommend it to any one with mobility difficulties. I will rent again with them in my next cruise.
Read more

Tour Special needs at Sea Company Reviews

N

Recommends

Had a great wheelchair December 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a great wheelchair it was easy to push and my wife found it fairly comfortable.
Thank you

Tour Special needs at Sea Company Reviews

D

Does Not Recommend

Great sites, poorly managed November 2018

2.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 2.0
I grew up with National Geographic so when I signed up for a NG trip I was quite excited. I spent a lot of time on a crowded bus. Some of the accommodations were two star, peeling paint, smelly rooms, poorly catered. This was an expensive trip all my girl friend and we spent 17,000 dollars for the two of us. Some of the guides were actually wrong about what they were saying about the history of Sicily, and you did not have to be an expert to realize this. There were a number of representations that tour operators made that turned out to be less than accurate. The tour group one night was having dinner in Sorento, and I asked about the wine they were serving, that is the grape and vintage, the only explanation I got was "its red". In another circumstance, the tour operator lost guests at Pompeii, and then threatened to leave them. It was a mess. I could go on, but I would cross this trip off the list.
Read more

P

Recommends

I recommend anyone with mobility problems October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I enjoyed having a scooter to get around on my recent cruise. I use a rollator walker for longer distance walking but having the scooter made my vacation much more enjoyable. The scooter was in my stateroom waiting and that's where it is left for pickup after the cruise. I recommend anyone with mobility problems to check out renting on your next vacation.
Read more

Tour Special needs at Sea Company Reviews

A

Recommends

Bucket list trip October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Everything was seamless. The balance was excellent: two days hiking, a day of
Pompeii and Herculeneum, a hike, an optional day in Capri or Naples, and a
closing hike. The hotel and its staff were welcoming. The views are stunning
in Amalfi, and when you look back at where you came from you are amazed that
you did it. I travelled to and from Agerola off the Exodus schedule and the
hotel arranged it perfectly.
Our guide rescued an abandoned pup that we found on a hike. He made the
effort to carry the pup until we came to someone who knew where it likely
came from, and took over.


First class. Sevario was enthusiastic, well prepared, indulgent of perhaps
too many questions, made an effort to encourage people in difficult terrain,
helped rescue one of our group who stumbled off the trail and fell down a
steep slope, and led someone with vertigo through challenging terrain.
I never expected that he would be with the group from morning till late in
the evening.


Take the trip. Amalfi is breathtakingly beautiful.
The walks in some cases are probably a little more difficult than advertised,
but most of our group was 60+, and if you are reasonably fit you will have no
trouble.


Read more

A

Recommends

Outstanding - lives up to its reputation! October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This week endorses the many positive reviews already posted. It is a perfect
mix of incredible scenery, just challenging enough walks, a lovely homely
hotel, lots of variety in the week's programme and excursions, great food,
and we were lucky to enjoy a fun group of people from England, Canada and our
own New Zealand. Our guide Severio was fun, knowledgeable, thoughtful and
supportive - especially when we needed to seek local medical assistance. The
hotel staff are family and fabulous. Do it - it will be an experience you
will never forget!
So many - the "Walk of the Gods"of course, the slog up the local three peaks
mountain, Positano, Capri and hiking to the summit of Vesuvio.


Couldn't ask for better! Severio was the perfect leader in every sense, good
humoured, diplomatic when required, and knowledgable - and patient with our
appalling ignorance of Greek mythology!


Go prepared for the trails to be a little more demanding than the "2" rating
would suggest. We thought this was probably a "3" because of some long uphill
slogs and long stair descents. In hot weather it is taxing enough for we
oldies! You need to have a reasonably good level of fitness and good knees to
really enjoy the week. We did!


This as our first Exodus trip. we would happily book another similar walking
tour.


Read more

A

Recommends

An Excellent Trip October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This trip was lived up to the billing in the trip notes in every way:
excellent hotel with attentive staff and excellent food; excellent walks and
free day options; and luckily for us, excellent weather.
All the walks had their moments, as did the optional excursions. I hesitate
to pick one.


Severio could not have done more for us. An excellent guide.


The steps can be tough, and although the days are shorter than a full Cat 3
holiday, in my opinion some of the gradients and terrain merit that rating.
The Trip Notes say it all, so be prepared.


This was our 11th Exodus holiday and we're always asked which was our
favourite. The answer is several, and this was well up there with them.


Read more

A

Recommends

Our Italian Adventure October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This holiday exceeded our expectations on all levels even though I am an
Exodus fan, having travelled on their adventure holidays many times in the
past. This was a centre based holiday high above the Amalfi Coast staying at
a lovely family run hotel with good facilities and great food. We had a very
experienced leader called Suzy and she organised and catered for our group of
16 travellers with endless energy and great enthusiasm! Our group of friends
from all over the world bonded right from the beginning eating and
socialising all together and enjoying our days together. The walks were
excellent and acurately described in the trip notes and three of the walks
started from the hotel which was good as it did not involve coach travel on
the winding, hair raising roads around the area! We had a great day visiting
Mount Versuvius and Pompeii and there were several options on our free day
and we chose to visit Herculanium. The weather on our holiday was perfect
and the scenery spectacular.
Our most inspirational moment was climbing up to the top of Monte Tre Calli
mountain and taking in the breathtaking views of the coastline.


Our group leader Suzanne Hesselden was excellent in all departments, she was
a very experienced tour leader in walking, cycling and climbing and was very
good organising our group and accommodating everybody's needs and
expectations. Her energy, enthusiasm and knowledge of the area was boundless
and inspired everyone in the group.


I would recommend to any prospective travellers to get into training for this
wonderful walking holiday as the terrain can be tough going including many
steps. I would grade this as a moderate rather than leisurely walking
holiday and getting a little bit of training in would make sure you enjoy the
holiday to its fullest.


I would like to congratulate Exodus in organising this excellent holiday,
from brochure ,website and helpful and knowledgable staff and seemless
booking process, good flight times and quality and professional
transportation; I look forward to choosing my next holiday with Exodus very
soon.


Read more

A

Recommends

Fantastic walking / Trekking holiday October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thanks Exodus to provide such Fantastic experiences in our holidays and this
one was very unique all the trails were beautiful with a learning touch of
Italian culture ( andiamo/ limoncello/ mozzarella/ preggo) every time we stop
for lunch in a local area sometimes in the middle of nowhere but with a good
aftertaste . The hotel Due Torri Geovanni and Nicola and the staff were
simply Excellent with there hospitality and sense of humor. Plus the hotel
location is brilliant in Bomerano a small village in the area of Argerola at
a walking distance to a small plaza ( piazza) where you can have a good
coffee or local beer . Enjoy it.
The day we walked the Tree calli was the beginning of our inspirational
journey followed by the outstanding Path of the Gods Trail ( Sentiero degli
Dei )that was Incredible in all ways, Stunning views of the coast and
mountains .


Vania di Paoli , she was excellent on her duties and all the time looking
after every one . Great sense of humor very nice person to be around.
Not only leading us through the amazing trails but always with excellent
advices about the area and what to do during free time . You will be lucky to
have her as a leader .


Good walking shoes , comfortable clothing for the time of the year , walking
poles , hat . And remember this is a WALKING & TREKKING holiday. Enjoy it .


We went to Capri in our free day and was excellent we took our’s leader
advise to visit in anacapri San Michello Church and the chair lift to Lazaro
Mt and the views were stunning.


Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 4447 total

Top Italy Tours View All Italy Trips
Classic Italy tour Classic Italy

$ 4,950 21-days trip

Tuscany Biking tour Tuscany Biking

$ 5,295 6-days trip

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!