4,423 Italy Tour & Trip Reviews

Italy Tour & Trip Reviews

4,423 Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Excellent 3,173 Great 1,038 Average 159 Disappointing 36 Terrible 17
97% Recommend
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Editor’s Take

What to Look For in Italy Travel Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

Reviews for Italy tours are overwhelmingly positive, with a very small smattering of 1, 2, and 3 star ratings. It is important to note that Italy is often included on wider Europe tours, so some reviews will also be taking into account their experience in other countries as well.

Related to this, some reviews complain that multi-country tours felt extremely rushed - if this is the kind of experience you choose, be sure you are prepared for a very busy and active tour.

Service level will always vary tour company to tour company. Many negative reviews for Italy bring up the high number of “optional experiences” - that is additional tours, activities, and excursions not included in the base price of the trip. This is common practice, yet can be frustrating if you are unprepared for the tour to be set up in this way. Always check thoroughly while reading the itinerary to make sure you have a clear understanding of what is included.

There can also be some confusion on Italy trips about the amount of walking and the grade of walking. The Amalfi Coast and Cinque Terre are beautiful and the views are spectacular, but the walking will be quite steep in some areas - for some it will feel more like hiking. Reading the reviews will be invaluable to help you narrow down the walking tour in Italy that is right for you.

If you want a professional take on traveling in Italy, see the Stride Travel Italy Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

D

Does Not Recommend

Great sites, poorly managed November 2018

2.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 2.0
I grew up with National Geographic so when I signed up for a NG trip I was quite excited. I spent a lot of time on a crowded bus. Some of the accommodations were two star, peeling paint, smelly rooms, poorly catered. This was an expensive trip all my girl friend and we spent 17,000 dollars for the two of us. Some of the guides were actually wrong about what they were saying about the history of Sicily, and you did not have to be an expert to realize this. There were a number of representations that tour operators made that turned out to be less than accurate. The tour group one night was having dinner in Sorento, and I asked about the wine they were serving, that is the grape and vintage, the only explanation I got was "its red". In another circumstance, the tour operator lost guests at Pompeii, and then threatened to leave them. It was a mess. I could go on, but I would cross this trip off the list.
Read more

A

Recommends

Bucket list trip October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Everything was seamless. The balance was excellent: two days hiking, a day of
Pompeii and Herculeneum, a hike, an optional day in Capri or Naples, and a
closing hike. The hotel and its staff were welcoming. The views are stunning
in Amalfi, and when you look back at where you came from you are amazed that
you did it. I travelled to and from Agerola off the Exodus schedule and the
hotel arranged it perfectly.
Our guide rescued an abandoned pup that we found on a hike. He made the
effort to carry the pup until we came to someone who knew where it likely
came from, and took over.


First class. Sevario was enthusiastic, well prepared, indulgent of perhaps
too many questions, made an effort to encourage people in difficult terrain,
helped rescue one of our group who stumbled off the trail and fell down a
steep slope, and led someone with vertigo through challenging terrain.
I never expected that he would be with the group from morning till late in
the evening.


Take the trip. Amalfi is breathtakingly beautiful.
The walks in some cases are probably a little more difficult than advertised,
but most of our group was 60+, and if you are reasonably fit you will have no
trouble.


Read more

A

Recommends

Outstanding - lives up to its reputation! October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This week endorses the many positive reviews already posted. It is a perfect
mix of incredible scenery, just challenging enough walks, a lovely homely
hotel, lots of variety in the week's programme and excursions, great food,
and we were lucky to enjoy a fun group of people from England, Canada and our
own New Zealand. Our guide Severio was fun, knowledgeable, thoughtful and
supportive - especially when we needed to seek local medical assistance. The
hotel staff are family and fabulous. Do it - it will be an experience you
will never forget!
So many - the "Walk of the Gods"of course, the slog up the local three peaks
mountain, Positano, Capri and hiking to the summit of Vesuvio.


Couldn't ask for better! Severio was the perfect leader in every sense, good
humoured, diplomatic when required, and knowledgable - and patient with our
appalling ignorance of Greek mythology!


Go prepared for the trails to be a little more demanding than the "2" rating
would suggest. We thought this was probably a "3" because of some long uphill
slogs and long stair descents. In hot weather it is taxing enough for we
oldies! You need to have a reasonably good level of fitness and good knees to
really enjoy the week. We did!


This as our first Exodus trip. we would happily book another similar walking
tour.


Read more

A

Recommends

An Excellent Trip October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This trip was lived up to the billing in the trip notes in every way:
excellent hotel with attentive staff and excellent food; excellent walks and
free day options; and luckily for us, excellent weather.
All the walks had their moments, as did the optional excursions. I hesitate
to pick one.


Severio could not have done more for us. An excellent guide.


The steps can be tough, and although the days are shorter than a full Cat 3
holiday, in my opinion some of the gradients and terrain merit that rating.
The Trip Notes say it all, so be prepared.


This was our 11th Exodus holiday and we're always asked which was our
favourite. The answer is several, and this was well up there with them.


Read more

A

Recommends

Our Italian Adventure October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This holiday exceeded our expectations on all levels even though I am an
Exodus fan, having travelled on their adventure holidays many times in the
past. This was a centre based holiday high above the Amalfi Coast staying at
a lovely family run hotel with good facilities and great food. We had a very
experienced leader called Suzy and she organised and catered for our group of
16 travellers with endless energy and great enthusiasm! Our group of friends
from all over the world bonded right from the beginning eating and
socialising all together and enjoying our days together. The walks were
excellent and acurately described in the trip notes and three of the walks
started from the hotel which was good as it did not involve coach travel on
the winding, hair raising roads around the area! We had a great day visiting
Mount Versuvius and Pompeii and there were several options on our free day
and we chose to visit Herculanium. The weather on our holiday was perfect
and the scenery spectacular.
Our most inspirational moment was climbing up to the top of Monte Tre Calli
mountain and taking in the breathtaking views of the coastline.


Our group leader Suzanne Hesselden was excellent in all departments, she was
a very experienced tour leader in walking, cycling and climbing and was very
good organising our group and accommodating everybody's needs and
expectations. Her energy, enthusiasm and knowledge of the area was boundless
and inspired everyone in the group.


I would recommend to any prospective travellers to get into training for this
wonderful walking holiday as the terrain can be tough going including many
steps. I would grade this as a moderate rather than leisurely walking
holiday and getting a little bit of training in would make sure you enjoy the
holiday to its fullest.


I would like to congratulate Exodus in organising this excellent holiday,
from brochure ,website and helpful and knowledgable staff and seemless
booking process, good flight times and quality and professional
transportation; I look forward to choosing my next holiday with Exodus very
soon.


Read more

A

Recommends

Fantastic walking / Trekking holiday October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thanks Exodus to provide such Fantastic experiences in our holidays and this
one was very unique all the trails were beautiful with a learning touch of
Italian culture ( andiamo/ limoncello/ mozzarella/ preggo) every time we stop
for lunch in a local area sometimes in the middle of nowhere but with a good
aftertaste . The hotel Due Torri Geovanni and Nicola and the staff were
simply Excellent with there hospitality and sense of humor. Plus the hotel
location is brilliant in Bomerano a small village in the area of Argerola at
a walking distance to a small plaza ( piazza) where you can have a good
coffee or local beer . Enjoy it.
The day we walked the Tree calli was the beginning of our inspirational
journey followed by the outstanding Path of the Gods Trail ( Sentiero degli
Dei )that was Incredible in all ways, Stunning views of the coast and
mountains .


Vania di Paoli , she was excellent on her duties and all the time looking
after every one . Great sense of humor very nice person to be around.
Not only leading us through the amazing trails but always with excellent
advices about the area and what to do during free time . You will be lucky to
have her as a leader .


Good walking shoes , comfortable clothing for the time of the year , walking
poles , hat . And remember this is a WALKING & TREKKING holiday. Enjoy it .


We went to Capri in our free day and was excellent we took our’s leader
advise to visit in anacapri San Michello Church and the chair lift to Lazaro
Mt and the views were stunning.


Read more

A

Recommends

Absolutely amazing Amalfi! October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I booked this trip at the last minute, bagged the last space and feel very
lucky. The walking, the views, the history, the food, the wine and my group
(the best ever ;-) and excellent guide Severio made this trip fantastic and
unforgettable. So much is packed into this itinerary with the beautiful
walking trails, stunning views, watching pasta, pizza and cheese making,
walking with a volcanologist on the crater rim of Vesuvio, and guided tour of
Pompeii. I felt fortunate to also take advantage of optional trips to Capri
and Herculaneum.
Walking the Path of the Gods. I just loved the views - breathtaking. The
place where we stopped for lunch was charming and the food delicious.
Finishing the walk with a dip in the sea at Positano was perfect.


Severio kept everyone highly entertained and well informed. He seemed to
know exactly when we needed a break on our walks, made sure we kept hydrated.
He would warn us and help us through any tricky parts of the routes.


The itinerary is busy. Getting around this part of Italy is not cheap if
you're thinking of doing your own thing at any point. There's really very
little time for shopping, which was absolutely fine for me but may be a
problem for others. Definitely bring swimwear.


Grazie mille for a wonderful time.


Read more

A

Recommends

Walking The Amalfi Coast - AMAZING! October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
An absolute must-see and do trip! Everything about the trip was
incredible!.....from as soon as we arrived at the airport to be picked up and
taken to our hotel to the very last day and moment we were dropped off for
the return journey back. Our tour guide Martina is such a warm-hearted,
thoughtful, bubbly individual who everyday had the biggest smile and made
sure each of us within the group were getting the most from our walking and
enjoying all the scenery along the way, she is a fantastic leader with lots
and lots of enthusiasm!
The hotel we stayed in, Ztorri, is perfect! The hotel staff are extremely
lovely welcoming people who accommodate anything you might need while staying
there. They always went the extra mile catering for me being the only
vegetarian in my group and food was always so delicious and fulfilling. The
room I stayed in was immaculately clean and bed very comfortable to get a
good night sleep each day, and I especially liked the mini kettle provided in
the room with tea/coffee!!
Each day I would be greeted with so many smiles and all the staff are lovely
to each other too which for me creates the most nicest atmosphere to be
in......they honestly are a true Italian Family who I could see work very
hard to keep their guests the happiest they can be....I definitely would
recommend this specific hotel to all my family and friends when they are in
Amalfi, as I know they will be looked after like royalty, be served the most
delicious Italian food, and will have their expectations exceeded and much
more!
The Amalfi Coast is beautiful more than you can imagine, the walks we did
took us to panoramic views of the Amalfi and all around is crystal blue sea,
with all the history and incredible scenery among us. For me I particularly
loved the time we had in Ravello the most, as they have a place called Villa
Cimbrone there which is the most breath taking garden I have ever
seen.......the moment I entered I knew I could spend the whole day
there....it is so beautifully created with all the different plants and paths
and views of the coast, that I cannot fully describe the beauty of it.....its
somewhere you will be speechless as the views and environment are just that
incredible....I think it should be a top three wonder of the world! You will
see for yourself if you go!
Seeing Villa Cimbrone in Ravello


A highly knowledgeable and most enthusiastic and kind leader, Martina is
amazing in every way!


Just to do this trip and it will be one of your most memorable memories ever!
It sure is for me.


Thank you to Exodus for organising/creating such a wonderful trip, and thank
you to Martina and the Hotel staff at Ztorri for making the experience so
wonderful too!


Read more

A

Recommends

Fabulous views, beautiful coastline. October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Challenging and enjoyable walks rewarded with spectacular views across the
Amalfi coastline.
Reaching the summit of Monte Tre Calli and seeing Positano and the coastline
for the first time.


Martina Cipolia has an outgoing personality and is very passionate about
hiking, the Amalfi coast region and Italy in general. She set the hiking
pace at a level where everyone could keep up. There were plenty of
opportunities for taking photographs. On our free day she organised for our
transport to Herculaneum.


The Exodus website mentions bringing water bottles. If you are taking this
trip in the summer months it is recommended you bring water bottles which can
hold 2 litres.


Read more

A

Recommends

TDA180011 October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
No need to go to a retreat, just go spend a week walking, exploring, eating
local produce, fresh air, soak up the culture and comeback revitalised.
While walking temptations of wild berries, figs, fruits to sample the
sensation of being in sync with nature is always truly awesome.


Severio guiding a cross section of 20s 30s 40s 50s 60 year olds from
different parts of the world, eleven in the group, across the mountains and
Amalfi coast was huge fun, at times so hilarious we were in tears.


If you’ve ever had a burning desire to visit this region this is definitely
an excellent trip to go fo,r as long as walking is not a problem or vertigo.


Thank you Severio and Exodus


Read more

A

Recommends

Italy October 2018 October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The Chianti Walking and Wine Tour was truly incredible. It was a vacation
for my personal sensory system....to touch the ground that leads to...….the
smell of the crisp Italian forest air, the taste of the locally sourced wine
and fresh cheese, to see the vineyards, the cypress trees and the villas and
to hear the sound of silence and peace, that can only be found walking the
Tuscany Country. The tour was about being aware and in the moment, then
taking those memories and sharing them with friends.
The whole trip was inspirational. For me to comprehend we walked where only
the local people walked. The only other tourists were the nine people within
the group and our group leader. That's it....no crowds, no noise....how much
more inspirational can that be...


Mark Middleton....super, great and loved his job. This made us enjoy the
tour even more.


From personal experience....proper hikers or really supportive runners. The
walks can be more adventurous than expected.


Villa Casalta is amazing - built in 1749!! Pictures and words cannot
explain. Roberta and Margarita always made it feel like coming home.
Absolutely loved it...


Read more

A

Recommends

A leisurely week in beautiful Tuscany October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This holiday is ideal if you are not sure if you want a walking or a
sight-seeing holiday. There are three walks, all of which are well within the
capabilities of a reasonably fit person. These walks take in the vineyards,
olive groves and woods of this part of Italy and also go via small towns with
plenty of opportunity for good lunches or shopping. There are also visits to
Sienna, Florence and San Gimignano. In the first there is a guided walk
included, the second also has the choice to do a guided walk and the third is
a lovely small town for wandering or looking at the frescos in the Duomo. The
three wine-tastings are all very good, and there is plenty of opportunity to
do more either local to the farmhouse where the trip is based or on the
visits to the small towns along the way. For food lovers the meals were all
very good and vegetarians are well catered for.
Looking at the frescos in the Duomo at San Gimignano. I was blown away by the
clarity of the story-telling and the beauty of the painting.

The guided tour of Sienna was excellent. There was so much packed into the
three hours, included an excellent stop for coffee and cake.

Castelina where the trip was based had some interesting Etruscan tombs that,
despite having no artefacts remaining, are well worth a visit.


Liz was the best driver I have come cross, ferrying us about with great
efficiency. She knows the local area well so was able to fit in a quick visit
to see the Leaning Tower of Pisa on the way to the airport, an unforeseen
bonus. This local knowledge came in useful when suggesting things to do on
our day off and during the walks, where she ensured that we were able to see
lots of interesting things along the way. All together one of the best tour
guides I have met.


The walking is a little hilly, but someone with a reasonable level of fitness
will not find it a problem. There are a lot of mosquitos about (and we were
there late in the season) so come prepared with repellent etc. Castelina,
where the trip is based, is a town well worth exploring, the Etruscan tombs
are more interesting than you might think. The archaeological museum is
small, but worth a visit, as the entrance fee includes being able to go to
the top of the tower, where there are some excellent views.
If you like ice-cream be sure to visit the gelateria in town, it is very
good.


I thought the tour was a good balance of sight-seeing, walking and
wine-tasting. We didn't go on the Florence trip as we know the city quite
well, and really appreciated a day getting to know the local area better.


Read more

A

Recommends

1st time Exodus experience October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was our first holiday with Exodus. Usually we are independent travellers
so we were both a bit nervous about a group 'organised ' trip but we needn't
have worried. We had a great group of people; different backgrounds and
nationalities which made for an interesting week of getting to know each
other. Our fabulous guide Mark was absolutely brilliant, patient, helpful and
very accommodating, keeping us out of too much sun, well watered and well
informed about the various places we visited. Roberta, our host at the villa
was absolutely lovely and looked after us wonderfully with the help of
Margarita. We really had a great week and as well as being very impressed
with our trip we've also been inspired by the experiences of Exodus from our
fellow travelers; definitely food for thought for future trips.
We loved Siena, such a beautiful city, full of history, culture and of course
wine. We really enjoyed the walking tour with Alicia, she was so passionate
about her home and the history of the districts. We had a great wine school
experience and just thoroughly enjoyed our day there.


Mark was just brilliant, we really can't praise him highly enough. He really
looked after us all, making various arrangements for individuals, giving us
lots of local history and information and taking the time to check
information and relay info after we'd returned from the trip.


Take insect repellent as there were definitely more biting bugs than we'd
anticipated. Have room in your case for wine and olive oil, managed to get 10
bottles home in total between 2 of us but there were so many lovely wines to
try, you don't want to miss out.


Just that we were very impressed with the whole holiday and felt it was very
good value for money. We also did the cookery school on our free day which
was great fun and another opportunity to meet some new people and learn about
Tuscan food.


Read more

A

Recommends

Beautiful Tuscany October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Wonderful week - three lovely walks through the Italian countryside and some
delicious wine tasting! The wonderful Hill top towns we walked to and through
were beautiful and, Siena and Florence were amazing. However, the latter was
very busy, but that I suspect is due to the place.
Arriving at the airport in Pisa to a welcome and then meeting others in the
group. I knew it would be a good week.

Looking down on Florence from the car park

enjoying good food, wine and company


Our tour leader Mark was well organised, knowledgeable and made everything
interesting and great fun. his attention to detail was second to none and he
knew where to find the best coffee, cakes, wine, ice cream everywhere we
went!


The walking is not flat so be prepared to walk up and down hills!
Mosquitos and insects abound, so some insect repellant and bit cream is a
must!
A liking for red wine and good food certainly helps, as does enjoying
breakfast outside looking over the beautiful Tuscan hills.


Great trip and would certainly recommend.


Read more

A

Recommends

Totally Tuscany ... October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
One week of great walks , great hospitality and great food .. superb leader
in Mark and combined with the warmth of the late summer sun we couldn’t ask
for a better way to spend a holiday than to walk the vineyards and taste the
grape
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 4423 total

Top Italy Tours View All Italy Trips
Tuscany Biking tour Tuscany Biking

$ 4,995 6-days trip

The Best of Italy tour The Best of Italy

$ 2,999 9-days trip

Italian Espresso tour Italian Espresso

$ 1,325 8-days trip

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!