First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

1,560 Italy Tour & Trip Reviews

1,560
Italy Tour & Trip Reviews 99% Recommend

4.7 out of 5
Excellent 2,317 Great 854 Average 103 Disappointing 22 Terrible 12
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.6 Meals
4.6

Tour Reviews

  • Sort By:

C

Recommends

We had a wonderful trip! February 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
We had such a wonderful time on a tou! Excellent hotels, a lot of activities and interesting guides, fast paced adventure with some free time that was really nice and we visited all the cities in Europe I was dreaming about in one trip!
Read more

IT

Recommends

Great Tour December 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Loved all of the locations. Small group and personalized attention.

MF

Recommends

AESU was amazing to travel with! November 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Traveling with AESU was one of the best decisions I’ve made in a long time. They kept the trip organized and on scheduale and made sure we were all very safe while giving us so many opportunities to explore on our own as well as with our tour group. The adventures and sites we went and did and saw were life changing and I would give anything to go back with this company. I wouldn’t have traded my experience for anything. I definitely recommend traveling with AESU!!!
Read more

M

Recommends

Everything I Hoped For And More November 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 5.0
This tour was amazing! I am a fairly well traveled person but this trip was like nothing I'd ever experienced. The guide was really knowledgeable, helpful and just so nice. I just cannot get over how much we were able to do and see on this journey, it beyond surpassed my expectations. Every included meal was phenomenal, every included excursion and museum/historical site visit was incredible and informative, and every person on this tour was just awesome. I made so many new friends. I wouldn't change a thing about the experience, I wish I was leaving tomorrow and going on the whole thing all over again. I have to say I was so thankful I chose to do the full tour and stay through to Greece, it was BEAUTIFUL. I would highly recommend doing the full tour and try to participate in as many optional excursions as you can!
Read more

B

Recommends

Great Until London July 2017

4.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
We just returned from the European Dream vacation. My wife and I had a wonderful time, except for London. The website advertises this trip as 10 days, but we felt abandoned on day 8 when we were delivered to Hotel Kensington in London. We no longer had our excellent tour director, and we were left on our own for the remainder of the trip. The tour director spun this by saying we purchased an extension to London, but that is not how it was advertised on Trafalgar's website. She also said that another tour director would be taking over for her in London and all would be great. It was not. There was no tour director, but a Trafalgar concierge at the hotel who was only there for 3 hours a day to give out maps of London. I should have known that something was up when we had to fill out our final survey for the trip on day 8 before we arrived in London. If we would have been given the option of trying to explore London on our own or end the trip in Paris, we would have left on day 8.
Overall, the trip was great. However, we did not receive the "Trafalgar Experience" on the last part of the trip which left us frustrated and disappointed.
Read more

K

Does Not Recommend

Expensive trip for what we got June 2017

4.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 1.0
Went on this trip with my wife and my sister. First off the positives.
Europe is quite different from North America. History is abundant, the Europe experience is really interesting. Visited many very historic sites, cities, monuments and many amazing structures such as the Colessium, Palletine hill, fountains, Leaning tower of Pisa, so many structures and areas it is hard to name them all, but all amazing. Overall the three week trip kept us busy and we learned much about past cultures.

Now the negatives
Upon our first group meeting we met our guide, or so we thought as she informed us she was our "leader" not our guide. I never thought much of it at the time, but as the trip progressed I understood more what she meant.
Our "leaders" name was Lauren Nichols, young lady from England. To start off, Lauren was a very bad communicator. Our group was made up of seven people, and very rarely were we informed of what was going too happen during a day we were scheduled to travel. Our first travel day was when we left Rome to head to Luca I believe, We had never travelled on a train in Europe and did not know what to expect, Lauren did do a quick explanation of how to read the train schedule board, but this was while we were walking through the busy Rome terminal, there was no explaination what we were supposed to do with our luggage when we got on the train. Any questions that were asked were just either ignored or quickly answered so she didn't get bugged anymore. This pretty much was the case throughout the trip. We were basically forced to just follow her through terminal and city metros trying to keep up and not really know where we were going. Once we would arrive at our destination there was no direction as to how far we had to walk from the train stations to our accommodations, again follow and try to keep up while dragging your luggage through the streets. At no time did she ever make an effort to inform us as a group what the day travel would entail. Became very frustrating near the trips final week, very stressful when moving through big city train stations. Once we made it o our accommodations, it was a 15-20 minute turn around and we were expected to be ready to go for our orientation walk, which was as fast as she could make it so we could get to our "free time", more so she could get to hers. Any interesting sites we passed on these walks was quickly passed by and we told to go back on our own, even when the group was ok with stopping to take pictures, which everyone wanted to do.
I my opinion, Lauren wanted to complete her duties as our " leader" as fast as possible so she could be on her own. When we were in Stressa we met her boyfriend who came to the hotel we were staying at and had supper with our group.
As far as the accommodations I felt they were the cheapest possible options that Intrepid could come up with. In Luca there were five of us staying in one apartment, and my sister had to stay in the laundry room where a bed was placed, very under whelming for the cost of the trip. Our guide always had a room to herself, or was housed with the smaller part of the group.

I myself will never use Intrepid again and will certainly NOT recommend this company to anyone. The guide and accommodations were the two issues that were very lacking, but overall the countries and sites were wonderful. If we ever return to Europe I would plan the trip ourselves, not that hard once we experienced it, and using a competent travel agent hotels would easily be done on your own.

The overall experience in Europe was favourable, some stress but we really enjoyed the month we were there, no thanks to our guide.
Read more

UP

Recommends

Outstanding experience! A few tips and thoughts on Barcelona to Rome. April 2017

5.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
As with all small group travel, your group and tour leader have a lot to do with whether or not you have an enjoyable tour. For this trip, we were lucky enough to have a great group and an absolutely amazing tour leader. Adrian (tour leader) was a huge part of why this tour was a resounding success!

Just a couple thoughts on this particular trip:

- Bring a suitcase! Don't buy the hype and strap a big old backpack to yourself. You'll regret it (trust me). A suitcase is easier and quicker to pack than a backpack. True, many streets in older areas of European cities have cobblestones. If your suitcase has wheels, you're probably ok on these streets and sidewalks. The trek between train station and hotel can be quite a haul in some instances. As long as you can safely carry your luggage up and down a flight of about 30 stairs and lift it above your head on occasion to store it in the train, you're fine. If you can't lift and/or carry your suitcase for these short distances, you have either packed too much stuff or you just might not be in shape to make this trip. We had a group of 10 travelers and 8 brought suitcases. Hauling a loaded backpack up and down train station stairs and from station to hotel and back was way more effort than it was worth.

- Don't be afraid to sample the local cuisine (sometimes). Following local customs and eating local dishes is part of why you travel. That being said, there is a reason some of these traditional dishes haven't become worldwide sensations. Some of them just aren't that great. It's hard to know what you'll enjoy ahead of time, but trust your gut and try things you wouldn't normally try at home. Just don't be shocked if, every once in awhile, you don't ask for seconds.

- Wear comfortable shoes! We're not talking about shoes that are soft and comfy while walking around the house. We're talking shoes that can keep your feet intact while walking uneven surfaces and pounding those previously mentioned cobblestone streets and sidewalks for extended distances and periods of time every single day. Imagine a strenuous 7-8km hike in the mountains over rocks of all shapes and sizes. Now imagine walking your ever-loving backside off through town the very next day, and every day after that. You absolutely need shoes that will hold up to a lot of walking. I would advise bringing two pair of shoes for this trip. Better yet, get yourself used to walking long distances in your shoes of choice prior to the trip. You'll be glad you did.

- European bandaids suck. Bring your own. You will end up with a blister, or ten. If you don't bring your own adhesive bandages, you will not enjoy the outcome.

- Bring an extra t-shirt or two, a couple extra pairs of underwear, and enough socks to last until the apocalypse. There are opportunities to have your laundry washed while on this trip but you really don't want to run short of the essentials. I also found time to sneak off to a laundromat for an hour. You don't want to be the stinky one in the group. :)

- The stars of the trip for me, supply-wise: Febreze, an awesome travel adapter with 4 USB ports, a lightweight day pack, a travel wallet that attached securely to my belt, my own soap, and earplugs.

- Things I wish I had brought with me: a couple washcloths (You won't find any in these hotels), another pair of shorts, more bandaids, and a wheeled suitcase.

- Oh, I almost forgot. Get your phone/data situation figured out ahead of time. If your cellular provider offers coverage while you're in Europe for a somewhat reasonable cost, take advantage of it. If not, make certain to plan ahead and locate a reputable big-name cell service provider store as soon as your arrive. 15-20 bucks will get you a couple GB of data. Wifi is available in your hotel but you need data to use Google Maps. You need Google Maps. Trust me on this one. Download the areas you will be visiting for offline use before your trip. If you don't know how to do this, search the internet. Do not try to navigate any of these cities without some assistance. You will get lost. Guaranteed.

That's about it, I think. All in all, awesome trip! If you are lucky enough to have Adrian as your tour leader, enjoy! Your group plays a huge role in how much you enjoy this trip. Make sure you contribute positively to the group. Make friends. Go out of your way to make sure others have a good trip as well. Try new things. Enjoy the tremendous scenery. Know your limits but be willing to push them here and there. Good luck and safe travels!

Read more

TR

Recommends

Exodus Travels are amazing!! Had a wonderful time, 5 stars February 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 5.0
An amazing cross country skiing trip with great people and lovely food! Loved every minute of it, the only criticism is that it went too quickly- still wish I was there now.
Would love to come again, would definitely recommend exodus travels to anyone!!
Read more

S

Recommends

Amazing Europe Trip February 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
There are so many great things to say about my European trip of a lifetime. The people that made it was my fellow topdeckers and of course the Fab Tour guide Matt Stewart. This is a trip that I will never forget, so many lovely memories I will cherish forever. We was very lucky with Matt because he really took time to talk to us and make us all feel relaxed with each other and asked us what we wanted to do. He was so knowledgable about all the places we went to, I remember thinking to myself this guy is pretty cool the fact he knows so well about the history and culture of each place especially the amount of cities we travelled to. Matt made the trip fun, interesting, exciting and I hope that if I was to ever do a top deck again one day he would be the tour guide or I think I would be disappointed. Have recommended top deck to so many people, memories I will have for a lifetime.

Georgina staines
Read more

M

Recommends

Our Rick Steve's "Best of Italy Tour," starting in Varenna, October 18, through Rome, November 3, 2015. January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We flew into Milan and toured the town on our own a few days. Then we took the train to Varenna on Lake Como to formally start our Rick Steves tour with our guide, Lisa Anderson. She was excellent; very organized, helpful to a fault, and took us to a lot of out-of-way places not on the itinerary. What I liked most was the mixture of planned activities and time our own own; a nice balance which I believe gave us a good feel for the people, culture, and historical places we toured throughout Italy. You can read any itinerary for this trip and learn about what you're going to see, but getting to know your traveling companions (there were 28 of us) well, share food (and a cold- achoo!) made it all the better. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who would really like to get a taste of Italy from Rome north. I had no interest in visiting Italy before, but would go back in a heartbeat. I especially enjoyed our time high up in a ski village in the Dolomite Mountains. Seeing the "big three" of Venice, Florence, and Rome was great, but I also enjoyed seeing Pisa and Assisi, and spending time in places I had never heard of before - Cinque Terre , Siena, and Orvieto. While I know you can't pick your tour hosts, I would give the highest marks to our guide Lisa, her assistant, Alex, and our bus driver extraordinaire, Adrian. They helped put an excellent adventure over the top. Kudos to you Rick Steve's! We'll book another one of your tours in the next few years.
Read more

J

Recommends

Awesome! January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It was an awesome trip. After a week of running and taking trains around Rome, Florence, Venice, and Cinque Terre -- that week was a awesome break to just relax and enjoy the Amalfi Coast. We stayed at agriturismo and had farm-to-table meals every breakfast and every dinner.

This trip called for a lot of hiking -- not recommended for those who do not hike or exercise on a regular basis.
Read more

GR

Recommends

Great trip! January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It was a great trip - exactly as it was described on the website. Consisted of a great combination of city/town touring and active hiking.

EB

Recommends

Enjoyable trip! January 2017

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
An enjoyable trip, but I was not that enamored of the area...too many tourists!

HW

Recommends

Memorable experience! January 2017

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
The trip was well organized, good meals included, a memorable trip.

L

Does Not Recommend

Two days of joy and then all downhill! January 2017

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 2.0
Exodus did not deliver the Premium holiday they described. The premium experience began with an easy jet flight, previous standard holidays began with BA. The bikes and guide were average, the guide failing to motivate a lethargic group and a did not deliver a food and wine lovers paradise, lunches included packet supermarket salads and no local produce. The accommodation was excellent for the first two days and then acceptable - a theme echoed by the food experience.

The cycling was easy not moderate and the stunning coastline advertised was either a poor description or we didn't visit it!
This was my third Exodus trip and fell way short of my previous trips to Italy, Amalfi had a great combination of challenging cycling and excellent rustic food. Sicily was wonderful complimented by great food and both had excellent guides and back up teams.

I am waiting for a full response from Exodus but have lost confidence in the company and their ability to deliver what they promise.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 4998 total

Italy tours reviewed on Stride are rated 99% positively. Italy can be a tough country to pace well, and most reviewers seemed pleased with how their Italy tour was laid out. Local food and accommodation options get a shout out from most reviewers, saying this experience enhanced their Italy tour.

Top Italy Tours View All Italy Trips
Tuscany Biking tour Tuscany Biking

$ 5,395 6-days trip

The Best of Italy tour The Best of Italy

$ 2,749 9-days trip

Tours & Operators on Stride Awarded and Featured by:

  • National Geographic, Condé Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure
  • Outside, The New York Times