First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

1,435 Safaris Tour & Trip Reviews

1,435
Safaris Tour & Trip Reviews 99% Recommend

4.7 out of 5
Excellent 843 Great 221 Average 16 Disappointing 4 Terrible 6
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Tour Reviews

  • Sort By:

B

Recommends

Excellent July 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We lived in the African bush for 10 days. Accommodations were wonderful - tents with nice furniture and attached bathrooms. Plenty of hot water! Food was delicious and quite sophisticated. But the best were the wildlife experiences led by an extremely knowledgeable and personable guide. All the staff were kind and professional.
Read more

J

Does Not Recommend

This tour operator is terrible - it is scam. DO NOT USE THEM July 2018

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
This company is not reputable or helpful. They charge an extra 3.7% in order to use a credit card and 5% extra for Paypal. I did not use them to plan my trip. I hope that others don't pay these outrageous fees. Be careful and select another company. The camps themselves can recommend a tour operator or you can book online with the camp directly.

THIS IS A COMPLETE RIP OFF!

I had to enter a date for a trip to enter my review. I mention this in the interest of transparency.
Read more

A

Recommends

No words to describe it, we had the best June 2018

5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Where do I start? Got denhum holidays through I friend and everything went easy than I thought from booking to payment made so by Felix who seemed to give information like he was educating us on what we need to know than soliciting business from us. We didn't expect to be met at the airport as we had made own arrangements for the first night in Nairobi. Free transfer did humble us even more. Our guide has been great so far having been with him for 9 days, we confidently say he is the best. Thanks Reuben. We have been to masai mara 3 nights, 2 nights rift valley 2 nights Samburu 1 night mt Kenya and we are in our last night of 2 nights Amboseli. We have had the best more than bargained orvthought of including free sundowners with drinks and visit to samburu and masai villages
Read more

L

Recommends

Great safari we had May 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Me and my wife had a great safari last summer where we did 11 days safari with Denham holidays. we had a very good guide who always asked as many questions to make sure we understood. we feel knowledgeable after this safari. We already think of going back early 2019 or mid to watch the great wildebeest migration at Masai Mara
Read more

P

Recommends

Breathtaking! February 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Kenya was absolutely breathtaking! The sheer amount of animals we saw on this trip was so much more that what we expected. We were taken aback by how diverse and rich the biodiversity and landscape is. This tour is a gem for those who love animals and is definitely a once in a lifetime experience.
Read more

l

Recommends

Tanzania safari October 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 5.0
Dear Mala Tours & Safari
We had the most AMAZING trip, almost every place we stayed took our breath away. The highlights for me were seeing 100 elephants in the river at Tarangire, having lions roaring outside our tent at Swala (my favorite camp) and of course the gorillas. Our guide in Tanzania, Daniel, was fantastic, so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Zanzibar was fabulous too, the Asali suite a perfect end to our trip. I haven't got time to write much now but here are some photos. If you want photos of anything specific to ask me I have 850! Thank you so much for the trip of a lifetime we have already recommended you to several people.Love Lizzy
Read more

G

Recommends

I was completely blown away October 2017

5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
The most beautiful holiday country I have ever visited
All that I've seen, far exceeded my expectations. Especially the gorillas. We had a fantastic guide Anthony Kato. He brought us each day along bumpy, smooth and non asphalted roads to our lodge. Most lodges I found good. Our guide has told much about Uganda, such as habits, tradition, the population and so on. Thought it was clever that he knew a lot about the animals in the park. I got through his explanation a very different and positive image of Uganda. Sure to recommend Uganda and Scenic Trails Safaris to others.
Read more

LT

Recommends

7-Day luxury 4 park safari August 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a wonderful 7-day, custom tailored safari through 4 parks (Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Serengeti, and Ngorongoro Crater) in northern Tanzania. We saw an incredible number of animals and birds, including the big 5. Our guide, Anderson, was so knowledgeable about the wildlife and the environment, and was great at pointing out animals that we would've missed. Anderson really listened to what we wanted to see and was attentive to our needs.

Our accommodations were top notch and the food at each lodge or tent camp was very good. We were pleasantly surprised by the individual attention we were given by the staff at each place we stayed. During the day we traveled in our safari vehicle, just the two of us with our guide, and still the cost was very reasonable. We can't say enough great things about Walter, the owner, Galloping Safaris, and our guide. We have recommended this company to many of our friends in hopes that they will have the special experience we enjoyed. It was the trip of a lifetime for us!
Read more

J

Recommends

Our Lifetime Experience! January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
After we made the initial enquiry Peniel got in touch with us and fulfilled all our special wishes. All questions were fully and quickly answered via e-mail, and even when we arrived several hours early in Arusha, he managed to pick us up at the airport together with our driver-guide. We just sent a short message from Daressalam and he organized everything else.

We spent 7 days of wonderful safari on our own with Ray, our perfect driver and tour guide . The roads are sometimes very rough but with Ray we felt save all the time. The national parks we visited (Lake Manyara, Serengeti, Ngorongoro, Tarangire) are really fantastic and Ray presented to us so many more animals than the big five
All the accommodation at the lodges was wonderful, good food and we particularly enjoyed the Sopa Lodges.

We have no hesitation in recommending this safari operator to other travelers.
Read more

wF

Recommends

amazing trip December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Ron McGregor was the tour director for our group of 21 people. His comments and suggestion were most appropriate and informative. although he is not as an effective shopper as some of the ladies in our group. We saw everything that we could have wanted to see for the days available in SA. Gave drives in all 3 reserves were as advertised and we did see all of the big 5 with the exception that we did see several adult males none were the mature adults with the manes to match. all hotels were above average and the furnished buffet breakfast buffets were above average especially the Protea lodge breakfast. the coach and drivers were excellent for our trips and the park guides were very informative and seemed to enjoy finding the animals for our group. 1st day in Kruger we watched a leopard casually drink from a creek and the fade into the trees. This was our first experience with SmarTours but will definitely not be the last as we were totally
Read more

M

Recommends

Great care and service from Agama Tours and Safaris November 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great care and service from Agama Tours and Safaris. From first mail communication was fast and helpful. Kabalo and Lara helped customized our perfect private safari in Tanzania. 8 days including Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Serengeti and Ngorongoro. The lodges, tent camps, and transportation were all excellent. We are still in disbelief to how amazing our guide was, Emanuel. A professional animal finder, knowledgable, passionate and above all, wonderful friend we have made. I would recommend to anyone traveling to Tanzania!
Read more

D&LM

Recommends

Kenya Wildlife with Tanzania Ext. November 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This is a trip not to be missed! We took this journey in July 2016. Our group totaled only 6 and we had a wonderful time traveling together. Our guide, Abraham was wonderful and took excellent care of us. The wildlife was abundant and our guide knew just when and where to spot the animals. The accommodations on this trip were very good to excellent. The meals were mostly buffet and had good variety. Each of the hotels/lodges we stayed at had something special or unique about the location or building. This was our second SmarTours trip and it lived up to the expectations set after the first one! We were so pleased with our experience that we are looking at another SmarTours trip to a different region of Africa for next year.
Read more

A

Does Not Recommend

Tigers in Focus (REALLY?) November 2016

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
From the ' off ' when i did not receive an email back from a member of staff regarding questions about the trip, (I got it three days INTO the trip??)
This trip was a TOTAL DISASTER!
Looking around wonderful Dehli? We spent the day in Costa Coffee!
Last day sightseeing in Dehli? Not organised until LAST minute panic!
Optional game drives? NO plans for them at all! NO interest in trying to organise them.
Elephant rides? Exodus do not do them anymore?!?!
Visit the Exodus School? It was closed, we stared at the iron gates!!
The wonderful helpful local guides? (who incidentally we had to tip after every drive!) They where absolutely ABYSMAL!!!!! They never said ONE word to us on most of the drives. If we asked them questions, they ignored us, laughed between themselves, feet up txt-ing their mates/girlfriends.
The list goes on and on and ON....
The END

He was appalling
He basically told us in the first 30.mins of meeting him he didn't like The Americans or British,
He was not bothered about our enjoyment, We spent most of the first sightseeing day in Costa Coffee!!
He kept telling us to go through him in regards to any problems and don't inform Exodus.
When we did ask him or query a point, he took it personally, He wouldn't listen to us and got aggressive.
He was Rude to the wonderful staff where we stayed in Bandhavgarh.
He was VERY unhelpful throughout and unapproachable and made us feel uneasy.

DO NOT GO ON THIS TRIP!!!!!!!!!!

This really was a once in a lifetime trip for me, an avid wild life enthusiast.
I would like to point out that we didn't see ANY Tigers which in itself is very disappointing, But NOT
the reason for my accurate and damning verdict of this trip. Not seeing wildlife is all part of it, BUT...
I shall give you an example of WHY we where disappointed not seeing Tigers..
First Game drive was in the afternoon, we had already been told that the first hour-hour an half in the intense heat would not be tiger sighting times and that we would concentrate more on birds and other wildlife.
Excitedly we entered the park driving at a ridiculous pace we passed deer, monkey and a variety of birds that where NOT pointed out NOT stopped to allow photographs whizzed around the corner parked up and spent the next one and a half hours sitting looking at a bush, albeit there was a tiger sighting there the previous day, we asked the guides (sitting with there feet up laughing with each other) if we could maybe come back to this point as we had been told it was too hot for any tiger movement early on and if possible just see some other wildlife for pictures, The response was........ Not a word didn't even make eye contact with us!!!!!
Felt a very, very long way from home when your dreams of seeing a tiger in the wild is in the hands of 'people' like this! SO sad, SUCH a let down it is hard to put in words!

Read more

YA

Recommends

Well Worth it October 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This tour has far exceeded my expectations. An avid independent traveler, I admittedly am skeptical of large tour groups. However I would not have experienced all that Southern Africa has to offer if traveling alone. This tour delivered it all, from the beautiful crystal blue coastline of Cape Town, the intensity of Zululand, the spectacular Blyde River Canyon, inspirational Johannesburg, the wild Kruger National Park...and the optional extension to one of the seven Natural Wonders of the world, the magnificent Victoria Falls. We could not have had a better tour guide than Jonathan Muller. His efficiency and professionalism provided me with a new respect for group touring. He came to know each personality in our group, and embraced each individual's sensitivity . With 35 person onboard, that was no easy task. Jonathan is truly a people person, also patient and knowledgeable...all aspects of a great tour guide. He kept us entertained during the long motor coach rides with humor and personal views of his homeland. While we were all enjoying ourselves during downtime, Jonathan was behind the scenes making arrangements and phone calls, so that our tour succeeded with only one glitch, a missing suitcase that eventually arrived to the hotel. All included hotels were high quality, per US standards. The beds were all comfortable. Some had bathtubs whereas the others had huge showers with strong water flow. All had room safes, only two did not have a refrigerator, and two did not have a television. We were greeted at every hotel with a non-alcoholic beverage, and room keys were distributed expeditiously. Dining opportunities were convenient at all locations. The included buffet meals were top notch. If there is any negativity to mention, it occurred during the end of our 3 day extension to Zimbabwe. Everyone was really hot, exhausted, and ready to return home. Victoria Falls itself was absolutely breathtaking, and the side trip to Chobe National Park in Botswana was was also memorable. Unfortunately, we didn't have Jonathan to hold our hands, so there was a little more exertion on our parts. However the guides and bus drivers that we had were all very friendly. I'm really glad that I did the tour and the extension; one of the best trips I've ever taken.
Read more

AS

Recommends

Everyone should go on this tour! October 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
There are several reasons this was a fantastic trip: 1) the itinerary had a little bit of everything, from the amazing city life of Cape Town to wildlife safaris to the natural beauty of Victoria Falls to the apartheid museum in Joburg. 2) Jeremy Poole was our tour director. He made sure everything was organized, he took special requests, he offered great advice, and he was always patient. But what really made him such an amazing host was his knowledge of and his passion for his country in every aspect, from its history to its geography and botany. I doubt that we would have learned as much or been as captivated by South Africa had he not been our guide. 3) the accommodations, value for money, meals covered, etc. were all excellent. This was our first Smartour but will not be our last.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 834 total

Tours & Operators on Stride Awarded and Featured by:

  • National Geographic, Condé Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure
  • Outside, The New York Times