Stride climate
36 Keteka Tour Reviews & Ratings

Keteka Tour Reviews & Ratings

36 Reviews
5.0 | Excellent
Excellent 35 Great 1 Average 0 Disappointing 0 Terrible 0
100% Recommend
Value:
5.0 Guide:
5.0 Activities:
5.0 Lodging:
5.0 Transportation:
5.0 Meals:
5.0

Tour Reviews

P

Recommends

Absolutely superb trip. October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Absolutely superb trip. I would put this tour up there with the best I have ever done. The scenery is otherworldly and travelling in a small group (a driver, an English-speaking guide and 5 tourists) is perfect.
Would recommend to everyone who considering doing this. Yes, the accommodation is basic, it gets very cold at night (I was there in early October) and there are a couple of very early starts, but it is all part of the adventure!
I only have 2 negative comments:
1. Our guide was in a bad mood on the final day (we had our suspicions as to why this might be, but they were only suspicions, so it wouldn’t be right to mention them here) and was quite rude to the whole group – in particular to the 2 Swiss people, for no reason whatsoever.
2. Our guide insisted on taking the salt flats perspective photos with our phones – because “it is too complicated with cameras”, but this means we got rubbish photos, with either the foreground or the background out of focus. (My advice is to use your camera. Set it on aperture priority and use a high f-stop number – at least 9 – and set your focus to ‘wide’, not ‘centre’. Finally, don’t put the camera too close to whatever is in the foreground and don’t zoom. (OK, maybe he was right – that does sound a bit complicated, but if you do it right, you’ll get amazing photos!)
Finally, I’m glad I’d spent 3 days in San Pedro to acclimatise before doing this tour, as the altitude didn’t affect me at all.
Anyway, book this tour – you won’t regret it.
Read more

B

Recommends

What an amazing Trip! Really appreciate all of the work September 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
What an amazing Trip! Really appreciate all of the work that went into making this trip run smoothly and how everything was organized and efficient from the moment we arrived in Puerto Natales. We (my roommate and I) booked this trip hoping for a great experience, and it definitely delivered.
We were met at the beautiful hostel in PN by wonderful staff members who had our room ready and offered great advice on things to do that night. The next day, we met up with Laura, owner of the tour company, at their office and were provided with all of the passes, maps, information and tips you could ever need for the O-Circuit hike. We met our guide, Carlos, who has over 9 years of experience hiking in Patagonia. He answered all of our questions and made us feel ready for the trip. The next day, we took the bus to the park entrance and then the ferry to the first campsite. The hike is BREATHTAKING, and worth every blister, ache or sore you might experience during the hike.
I would definitely recommend the O-Circuit, as it gives you the full experience of how large Patagonia is. It was a perfect mix of hiking on our own for the first 4 days at our own pace, and then having the guide to lead us on the north side of the circuit, which is definitely not as well marked and has harsher climates and hikes. During the whole trip, all of our lodging, entrance fees, campsite fees and logistics were handled and delivered smoothly. All we had to do was hike our gear from one site to the next, show our passes and passports, and drink some delicious Austral.
This was a trip of a lifetime, and definitely worth it to have all of the logistics, including all of your food on the hike, already taken care of and planned out for you. We’re very thankful to Keteka for helping organize all of this, and would recommend this trip to anyone!
Read more

J

Recommends

Amazing guide with an even better trip! August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Amazing guide with an even better trip! For everyone planning on going on this tour, the actual drive/ tour to Bolivia is just as, if not more beautiful than the destination. While each day was jam-packed with different landscapes, the trip from high-altitude volcanoes to gorgeous sunsets over the Bolivian desert made this more than worth it!
Read more

Y

Recommends

Such a unique and amazing experience! August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Such a unique and amazing experience! Bolivia has so many natural beauties that you must see. Our tour was so organized and the guides helped make the crossings into and out of Bolivia and Chile very easy. Each day had a list of sites that we traveled to and had time to explore, take in, and snap pictures of. We were provided very filling meals during this trip along with some snacks. The sleeping situation in hostels was not bad at all. It does get cold at night, so I definitely recommend bringing a sleeping bag (even with the blankets the hostels provide) which kept me cozy all night. The tour guide was very friendly and kept us informed with some background at each location. It really is amazing how the guides can get around in this area; they’re very knowledgeable. I highly recommend experiencing the sunrise over the salt flats and playing around with perspective after that. Definitely an unforgettable experience!
Read more

S

Recommends

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. May 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The accommodation was not as bad as everyone made out single beds 3 or 6 in a room and while the facilities were limited you had paid hot water showers at both sites we slept at.
Nonetheless the trip did feel a little rushed and as our spanish was lacking so too was the information however the beauty was often speechless so that wasn’t too much of an issue
Read more

S

Recommends

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. May 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The accommodation was not as bad as everyone made out single beds 3 or 6 in a room and while the facilities were limited you had paid hot water showers at both sites we slept at.
Nonetheless the trip did feel a little rushed and as our spanish was lacking so too was the information however the beauty was often speechless so that wasn’t too much of an issue
Read more

L

Recommends

Highly recommended if you’re looking for the trip of a lifetime! July 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Three of us joined this tour in May 2017… and as a very experienced traveller who’s had the Salt Flats on my bucket list for years I was worried about it not living up to expectations. Boy was I wrong! The landscape was truly stunning, and we never felt like we were in touristy crowds or being rushed around the sights. We had plenty of time at every stop to get photos and soak up the magic, and our driver was truly a friend by the end of the trip!
We were really worried about some of the bad reviews we’d seen online for other companies but found everything through Keteka and their partners to be flawless. Reliable, punctual, friendly and helpful!
Highly recommended if you’re looking for the trip of a lifetime!
Read more

L

Recommends

Was one of the most wonderful trips June 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Was one of the most wonderful trips of my life for its colorful landscapes.
It is necessary to go with very warm clothing since in this time it is very cold but without envargo the tour is cute the tour is very different from the other traditional agencies.
Our driver was Freddy is very friendly and knew all the places very well so I want to thank him.
We also want to thank the agency for their organization of our tours
The agency is highly recommended for those who want to go to the salar de uyuni.
Read more

A

Recommends

Was a great experience Orlando June 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Was a great experience Orlando the driver did so much efforts for making us statisfied from the trip. Explained about the places and gave information

A

Recommends

Our trip with these guys was great. May 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our trip with these guys was great. Our driver Johnny took great car of the vehicle making sure the tyres were always pumped up and the windows always clean. The food was good, especially the lunches. Had better food than some other tours staying in the same place in the evenings. Would totally recommend. In fact we did and some friends just had a great trip with them.
The only reason for 4 rather than 5 is that the operator said that they would reserve bus tickets for us with a company we asked for. However when we got to Uyuni we found that they hadn’t and they were sold out. Johnny took us around to bus companies though until we found some tickets. So worked out in the end.
Read more

l

Recommends

We were really impressed May 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had an amazing 3D2N tour! Remy was our driver and we were really impressed with how well he looked after us after all the horror stories you hear Remy was very professional and a safe driver. We were told before we went on the tour that they did not have an English speaking guide but luckily one of the girls in our car spoke Spanish. However Remy spoke slowly and clearly and repeated himself and it was surprising how much we could understand. Remy is so knowledgeable and very patient he made sure we saw as much as possible and that we were all ok as well as checking the car and it’s tyres at every stop. The food was great and we had no hidden charges. Our second night in the Salt Hotel was great with hot showers. The first night although there was hot showers very few people used them as it was so windy and freezing in the hostel. The only negative thing I can think of is that when we booked Eric had told us sleeping bags were included but when we arrived at the first hostel there weren’t enough. Once we arrived in Uyuni Remy took us to get bus tickets and also the ATM and told us to call him if we had any problems. I would definitely recommend requesting Remy as your driver if you can!
Read more

F

Recommends

it was amazing! Warm and cozy May 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
After all the horror stories I’ve heard of the San Pedro to Uyuni tour, I was wary of booking one. But my hostel I was staying at recommended this one and assured they offered a safe service, so I opted for it, and I’m glad I did! The tour with [the operator] was extremely safe (which was my main concern), the drivers were professional and drove appropriately. Although they seemed a bit over worked and tired on the first day (they had to be up at 5am!) they managed to do the whole trip in a very safe manner! The trucks were also good, only had a small minor flat tire which was quickly fixed!
The first night accommodation is COLD! Just like everywhere in the desert, bring many warm clothes and maybe a sleeping bag and you’ll be fine! You also don’t sleep above 4000m of altitude which is a good thing! The second night was in a Salt hotel and it was amazing! Warm and cozy, and wow what a place to look at the stars! (Again bring warm clothes for star gazing!)
The food was really good, and plenty, always had enough for the big group of hungry travellers we were!
If you (or someone in your group) speaks Spanish, it will help a lot! The drivers had a lot to say about the places were we visiting but only spoke Spanish! So if you speak Spanish a little bit, you’ll get a driver AND a guide!!
Overall, I’m happy I did it with [the operator], the price was VERY cheap for the quality of the food and accommodation that you get! If I were to do it again, I would chose [this operator]
Read more

S

Recommends

All days were interesting May 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
After some research decided to book with [the operator]. Very happy with the tour. Our guide, Eddie, spoke really good English and liked to explain a lot about the Bolivians and their culture.
We heared some bad stories about drunk drivers before but Eddie was very careful and made sure everything was safe. All days were interesting but the day on the salt flats I liked the most.
Read more

T

Recommends

We spend 3 wonderful days April 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We spend 3 wonderful days with our guide Chris. I was so heardbroken to leave him. Thank you Chris for this amazing trip, it wouldn’t be the same with another guide !

M

Recommends

Enjoyed very much our dinner conversations. Great group March 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Had a great 3D2N trip to Uyuni. Everything went really well.
Great driver Paulo, safe driving
Super guide Giovanni who was fun and great company. Spoke good English and took good care of us. Enjoyed very much our dinner conversations.
Great group
Even though there were 25 land cruisers with tourists leaving the Chile/Bolivia border, we were often on our own or with only 1-2 other groups. Also because we were a bit faster than others.
Decent food
Accommodation was better than expected
Good price, though of course that depends on how you book / bargain
A negative was that the first night was spent at 4200m whereas the manager in San Pedro had promised a stay at 3500m. In the end this was not a big problem but why give this promise? So if some aspect of the trip is important to you, I would recommend to get it in writing *and* confirm it with the guide at the border.
But in any case, I would highly recommend [the operator] travel based on this experience
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 36 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x