21 Abercrombie & Kent Tour Reviews & Ratings

Abercrombie & Kent Tour Reviews & Ratings

21 Reviews
4.5 | Excellent
Excellent 18 Great 0 Average 1 Disappointing 0 Terrible 2
86% Recommend
Value:
4.4 Guide:
4.5 Activities:
4.5 Lodging:
4.6 Transportation:
4.5 Meals:
4.4

Tour Reviews

L

Recommends

Fortunate enough to make this trip of a lifetime March 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
If you are considering taking this company's Thailand in Style trip, do it! My 30-year old daughter and I were fortunate enough to make this trip of a lifetime in February 2018 and it was perfect from start to finish.

We were shepherded every step of the way by one or more guides who handled everything: baggage, transportation to every destination (via private vans, boats, planes), sightseeing tickets/tours, tips, most meals. The 5-star accommodations were amazing and memorable - we hated to leave all of them! The trip also includes many unique dining experiences.

I highly recommend a trip just focusing on Thailand. A diversity of landscapes - including a megalopolis, mountains and beaches - are included and the 12 days flew by, packed with temple visits, markets and a snorkeling trip. Service everywhere was friendly and exceptionally caring.

Believe A&K's statement that they will provide a tour even if there are 2 people - there were 4 in our group. Our primary guide Sarah was extremely knowledgeable and very accommodating.
Read more

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

T

Does Not Recommend

Don't waste your money on this Company! January 2019

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
We have used Tauck and other high end family travel organizations. We decided to give Abercrombie & Kent a try for our Australia holiday. It was a disappointment beginning to end. First, you never get the day to day times and "full" itinerary until you land. We stood in the airport calling for the A&K driver in the line. Finally, a man stepped forward and said: "Sorry, Miss I was just talking to my mates and the tour director is running late."The four season is nice anywhere in the world but we could have booked that on our own. The things that families want to do in Sydney are NOT included in your tour and must be booked by you and paid for in addition to the A&K costs. For example: Climbing the harbor bridge and Sydney opera house. We did get to go to Bondi Beach for a surf lesson. What they don't tell you is they are locking the door to the shop so no going back for a camera, to change out of wetsuit etc for the next three hours- just sit on the beach and burn?The Rolex Hobart Yacht Race was leaving the harbor as we were leaving the beach. We were sitting in traffic anyway so I asked to for a quick stop so we could get photos. There were several side streets along the road. The director said NO we will be late for the jet boat ride. Well, the jet boat is easy to take and runs every 30 minutes-a no brainer to do later or on your own at minimal cost. However, seeing all the yachts from above the harbor is a once in a lifetime view...opportunities missed- but this is a daily occurrence with A&K. Next was the zoo- I told the director before we caught the ferry that the one thing we wanted to do was the photos with the koalas. We came to the koalas and the booth was open. I said can I go and get our tickets? The response was no- stay with the group. The Koala pics were only US $25~ A&K should have had tickets for the 5 families on the tour. This was a low cost opportunity to make the trip special for everyone. By the time our tour finished, we were #32 in line with the ferry leaving in 1 hour. Geez! We then fly to the outback. Miserable experience- Fly economy squeezed in like sardines. I asked for a coke- they said: are you with the Disney tour? no.. then you have to pay for your own drink... ? The outback tours were long, super hot and boring. To see Ayers Rock and the Olgas once from an air-conditioned bus is ok but to do it for two days in 45 C is crazy! The afternoon activity for kids was aboriginal dot painting. But, it was scheduled at 1:00 pm (blazing sun) and they wanted them to walk to the city center and do it outdoors. No one attended. I went to the tour director and told her- the guy playing the didgeridoo had better come to the hotel and play indoors. It was planned for all of us to be outside with no kid interaction. She did adjust and have us in the gathering room so we had air conditioning but only at my request. Then we were suppose to be there for a "food" experience which was a girl walking around with some berries etc on a plate you could taste if you wanted. Then all fed fish for lunch. Finally we arrived at the airport to fly to Cairns and everything was shutting down because we were the last flight out. Disney had left the day before because nothing to do there but take a pic and be scorching hot. A&K just held us over wasting time/a day.
The snorkel dive in Cairns was a problem because we had all paid for what we thought was a small group tour only to find A&K was combining several groups to lower their overhead costs; hence, the schedule was for 87 people to be on one boat! It didn't matter because it was raining and the trip was cancelled. We arrived in Cairns ONLY TO BE BUSSED to Port Douglas for 1.5 hours. No one had eaten since 11:00 am when we arrived at the Pullman hotel at 7:30 pm. They unloaded our luggage outdoors so it was soaking wet. We had to wait turns in the lobby for a golf cart to take each family to their rooms. We had no internet the first night, the shower head was broken and the knob fell off the whirly tub. To improvise, A&K set a tour at the wildlife habitat for koala pictures (better late than never) Only 2 families attended- by this time everyone was done. We booked our own incredible experience for behind the scenes. We got to go in the nursery and hold the babies etc- Brilliant! The itinerary was to hold us for NY Eve, but we jumped ship and flew to Sydney (all costly last minute) but we were trying to salvage our holiday and glad we did- the fireworks were amazing and a relaxing time flying home the next morning instead of a 2 am wakeup and transport! Basically, A&K did not want to pay for the NY eve rooms so held everyone in Port Douglas until the next morning- then flew everyone back to Sydney. Overall, Horrible experience with A&K- so sad to have wasted so much money and my husbands coveted family time off work. All the good experiences were booked and paid for out of pocket + in addition to our high priced A&K family tour package. Don't Do It!
Read more

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

J

Does Not Recommend

Would never use them! October 2018

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
Bad service

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

V

Recommends

Perfectly organized from start to finish June 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Victoria falls and Botswana safari.
BEST trip of my life.
Perfectly organized from start to finish. Game drives, relaxing boat rides on the Zambezi and Chobe rivers.
Our tour guide, Ali Tiego , who stayed with us the whole trip, was amazing!!
Food was fantastic, the accommodations were very nice, especially chiefs camp. I cannot say enough good things about the staff at each place we stayed. And, the animals, wow. I want to go back already and would travel with A and K without hesitation
Read more

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

V

Recommends

Perfectly organized June 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Victoria falls and Botswana safari.
BEST trip of my life.
Perfectly organized from start to finish. Game drives, relaxing boat rides on the Zambezi and Chobe rivers.
Our tour guide, Ali Tiego , who stayed with us the whole trip, was amazing!!
Food was fantastic, the accommodations were very nice, especially chiefs camp. I cannot say enough good things about the staff at each place we stayed. And, the animals, wow. I want to go back already and would travel with A and K without hesitation
Read more

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

HS

Recommends

The perfect way to experience African wildlife. January 2017

5.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 3.0
This is a luxury small group safari. 12 people, two land rovers. We spent the arrival night in a hotel in Arusha, two of the nights during the safari in hotels, and the rest of the nights in the luxury camp. The hotels were all good. The food was good, not great. The luxury camp is a two room canvas tent containing a queen size bed or two doubles. then there is a dressing area leading to the "bathroom" which is a toilet seat on a box over a hole in the ground. There is a shower stall in which they fill a canvas bag with hot water from the fire. They will not begrudge you a refill if you want to take your time. The day starts early in the dining tent with breakfast. then it is off to the land rovers to begin the safari. The guides from all the different safari's communicate to share where the most sought after animals are to be found. You will absolutely be up close and personal with lions, elephants, giraffes, monkeys, wildebeest, ostrich, zebra, hyrax, and the bird life. You will also see Water buffallo and hippos, but is best not to get close to them. and you will see plenty of Cheetah and some Rhinos, but usually from afar.

Lunch is usually conducted picnic style in the park. Our A&K picnics were the envy of every other group. Then it is touring until sunset.

When you get back to camp there is a camp fire going and the head guide will present a lecture, while everyone enjoys some much needed libations, of which there is great variety and unlimited quantity. Then dinner in the dining tent, and after dinner back to the campfire for more libations, and usually to review everyone's pictures from that day.

The guides are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. You will actually miss them on your last day. I had a great time and heartily recommend this safari and A&K.

The best part is being inside the game park all day and night. You really dont want to be going back to a hotel, but to stay out in nature.

Some tips: There is a generator in the camp so you may recharge your electrical items every day. They can also launder your clothes. Things to bring: plenty of strong repellent to deter the horse flies, do not skimp on memory cards for your camera, be sure to have a telescopic lens for your camera, a good pair of binoculars with good magnification, a flashlight, a device to view your photos on, a device to copy your photos onto. Dont forget a sweater, its cold at Ngorongoro Crater. For your digestive happiness, I had good results taking probiotic and charcoal capsules every day. You can see my pictures at https://flic.kr/s/aHsiUJWDur
Read more

A

Recommends

Stunning holiday October 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Right from the very outset, I realised that I was in the hands of a professional and that was to be reflected and realised in our stunning holiday

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

A

Recommends

Great trip October 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great trip to Moscow and St Petersburg made special by our tour Director Marriana. 

Nothing was too much trouble.

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

A

Recommends

Excellent services to Ethiopia September 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The most luxurious company for a trip to Africa! Provide excellent services to Ethiopia, Kenya, Tanzania....

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

A

Recommends

Excellent September 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The most luxurious company for a trip to Africa! Provide excellent services to Ethiopia, Kenya, Tanzania....

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

VA

Recommends

Amazing safari! September 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just sitting in the Nairobi airport after an amazing A&K Safari in Kenya and Tanzania. This experience far exceeded my expectations. The guides were warm, knowledgable, and passionate. and Frankly I teared up a bit when saying goodbye to our Kenya guide, Peter, before heading to the airport. Dr Cornelius, our Tanzania guide, is a veterinarian - he knows the animals outside AND in (he's treated giraffes!). Every hotel was filled with friendly staff. Ever day was filled with surprises. We saw over 10 days seven leopards AND a rhino - some of the most elusive animals. We saw baby hyenas from a few yards away playing. We saw a lion carrying her cub in we mouth. The list goes on. Our guides were diligent and determined to find what we hoped to see. A&K makes this experience even better - you really don't have to think about anything except what time we are leaving in the morning or meeting for dinner at night. Customer service at its best - they live up to their reputation!
Read more

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

S

Recommends

Words cannot describe the level of service September 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Words cannot describe the level of service provided by A&K. I just returned from my trip to South Africa and Zimbabwe, and it was truly a trip of a lifetime.

Every single detail was executed with perfection. The pre-trip documentation was superb, the guides/drivers in each location were so knowledgable and professional, and our accommodations as well as the service provided at the accommodations was beyond First Class. Most of all, our guide was remarkable! Ananda van der Merwe was with us from start to finish, and she made our whole journey even more perfect than we could have ever imagined. She was so attentive, professional, knowledgeable, sweet, caring, thoughtful, patient, accommodating, smart, funny, and MORE!! Anyone traveling to South Africa should request that Ananda be their guide. You will not regret it!

Thank you for an incredible vacation. It was utter perfection from the moment we booked the trip to the moment we arrived back home.
Read more

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

A

Recommends

Exceeded expectations March 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Exceeded expectation in hotels, logistics and advice on what to see when on holiday. The guides were excellent and very helpful.

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

A

Recommends

Expensive, but worth it. June 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
These guys are the very best in the adventure travel arena. Want to climb Kilimanjaro? Wandering through South East Asia? Height of luxury with the best service (important) attention to detail and knowledge of local scene. Expensive, but worth it.
Read more

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

S

Recommends

outstanding service December 2014

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We travel to China last September 2014 and for us A&K is the best travel company in the world, our Director Guide on this tour was JAson Li, outstanding service all the time, we hope will travel again soon.
Read more

Tour Abercrombie & Kent Company Reviews

Items 1 to 15 of 21 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x