Stride climate
62 Butterfield & Robinson Tour Reviews & Ratings

Butterfield & Robinson Tour Reviews & Ratings

62 Reviews
4.9 | Excellent
Excellent 60 Great 1 Average 0 Disappointing 1 Terrible 0
95% Recommend
Value:
4.9 Guide:
5.0 Activities:
4.9 Lodging:
5.0 Transportation:
5.0 Meals:
4.9

Tour Reviews

A

Recommends

The trip was a perfect July 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just returned from our first family trip with B&R though Normandy. Our guides, Thilo & Sigrid, were incredible. The trip was a perfect balance of cycling, history, food (and wine, of course). The kids loved hiking across the bay to Mont Saint-Michel and the go-karting was a huge hit (as was pizza night)! Really can't say enough great things about this trip. We enjoyed every minute and are looking forward to planning our next adventure!
Read more

S

Recommends

Grand adventure July 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just completed my 9th biking trip with Butterfield & Robinson! We loved every minute of biking in Tuscany with our guides, Alex, Stephano and Edo. Stunning scenery, challenging biking, a great group of fellow travelers, and, of course, delicious food and wine! Private access to illuminated Medieval manuscripts was a highlight for us because we are college professors and book lovers. Thank you so much for a grand adventure.
Read more

R

Recommends

Incredible this trip July 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just got back from an amazing trip with B&R from Vienna to Prague. This was my first trip with B&R and I was so impressed by every detail!!! Our guide was so thoughtful and made sure every moment was perfect!! We really enjoyed getting to know him and felt completely spoiled by all the great treatment. The accommodations were fabulous, food and wine was delicious and plentiful, and the bike rides were all so much fun with new adventures and beautiful scenery around every turn! Even the walking tours in each place were top notch with very interesting and knowledgeable tour guides that we enjoyed getting to know. I cannot even believe how incredible this trip was, I highly recommend B&R and am already planning my next trip!!!
Read more

R

Recommends

Incredible this trip July 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just got back from an amazing trip with B&R from Vienna to Prague. This was my first trip with B&R and I was so impressed by every detail!!! Our guide was so thoughtful and made sure every moment was perfect!! We really enjoyed getting to know him and felt completely spoiled by all the great treatment. The accommodations were fabulous, food and wine was delicious and plentiful, and the bike rides were all so much fun with new adventures and beautiful scenery around every turn! Even the walking tours in each place were top notch with very interesting and knowledgeable tour guides that we enjoyed getting to know. I cannot even believe how incredible this trip was, I highly recommend B&R and am already planning my next trip!!!
Read more

R

Recommends

Incredible this trip July 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just got back from an amazing trip with B&R from Vienna to Prague. This was my first trip with B&R and I was so impressed by every detail!!! Our guide was so thoughtful and made sure every moment was perfect!! We really enjoyed getting to know him and felt completely spoiled by all the great treatment. The accommodations were fabulous, food and wine was delicious and plentiful, and the bike rides were all so much fun with new adventures and beautiful scenery around every turn! Even the walking tours in each place were top notch with very interesting and knowledgeable tour guides that we enjoyed getting to know. I cannot even believe how incredible this trip was, I highly recommend B&R and am already planning my next trip!!!
Read more

T

Recommends

Amazing! February 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just completed our first bike trip with Butterfield & Robinson riding in the Piemonte area of Italy. It was amazing! The accommodations, food, wine, bikes, guides and routes were great. Each bike had a tablet on it with the days route so you could go at your own pace and stop and take pictures and really enjoy the beautiful scenery. It was a very challenging ride but after the first day I switched from a hybrid to an E bike which absolutely made my trip more enjoyable. B&R is very accommodating to all of your needs and provided the best trip I have ever been on. My husband and I look forward to planning our next trip!
Read more

J

Recommends

Wonderful November 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Butterfield and Robinson just planned and executed a great, great trip for us to the Amalfi coast. All the services and hotels were wonderful and the guides were great fun and and well informed. Many nice surprises along the way and an itinerary we would have had trouble putting together on our own was effortless.
All guides were well trained the transportation and drivers were polite and on time. The recommended hotels were amazing. We loved every minute of our vacation.
Read more

WsIct

Does Not Recommend

Never again with Butterfield & Robinson August 2018

2.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 2.0
To use a cliche', 3 strikes you're out. After taking 3 trips with B&R, and one cancelled by B&R, we will not be using this company any further. I've travelled with VBT, Backroads, Duvine, and Eurobike (when they were around), so I have enough experience to say that B&R is not worth the extra cost. Of the categories listed above, B&R only excels in Lodging choice in comparison to the others, but they are deficient in many other areas.

When booking a B&R trip, I highly suggest that you take out insurance, as they will cancel the trip if there are not enough travelers. One of our B&R trips was cancelled, so I was reimbursed all of my expenses, but I'm still out the $1,000 for trip insurance. If your trip does have enough participants, you should ask if there is a single group or family that is making up a large percentage of the travelers. Do you really want to be the lone couple in someone else's family reunion? When our trip was cancelled, B&R suggested that we change dates to a trip that was entirely made up of people who were traveling together.

On our most recent trip, a self-guided tour, we realized that the hikes and mountain huts that the Hotel helped us find, were far better than those suggested by B&R. The trails chosen by B&R were very crowded in comparison to what we found on our own. On this particular trip, we discovered that had we booked the Hotels ourselves, we would have paid 1/2 of what B&R charged us

We booked our first trip with Butterfield and Robinson based on reputation as a premier tour operator and based on our experience I'd say, save your premium dollars and go with another company.
Read more

J

Recommends

Beautiful July 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We highly recommend the bike, boat, hike, trip on the Dalmatian coast. The Butterfield guide was exceptional (thanks Dama!), weather was perfect, coast and countryside were beautiful and every detail was attended to with friendly professionalism. A very memorable trip!
Read more

R

Recommends

An amazing trip July 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just got back from an amazing trip with B&R from Vienna to Prague. This was my first trip with B&R and I was so impressed by every detail!!! Our guide was so thoughtful and made sure every moment was perfect!! We really enjoyed getting to know him and felt completely spoiled by all the great treatment. The accommodations were fabulous, food and wine was delicious and plentiful, and the bike rides were all so much fun with new adventures and beautiful scenery around every turn! Even the walking tours in each place were top notch with very interesting and knowledgeable tour guides that we enjoyed getting to know. I cannot even believe how incredible this trip was, I highly recommend B&R and am already planning my next trip!!!
Read more

R

Recommends

An amazing trip July 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just got back from an amazing trip with B&R from Vienna to Prague. This was my first trip with B&R and I was so impressed by every detail!!! Our guide was so thoughtful and made sure every moment was perfect!! We really enjoyed getting to know him and felt completely spoiled by all the great treatment. The accommodations were fabulous, food and wine was delicious and plentiful, and the bike rides were all so much fun with new adventures and beautiful scenery around every turn! Even the walking tours in each place were top notch with very interesting and knowledgeable tour guides that we enjoyed getting to know. I cannot even believe how incredible this trip was, I highly recommend B&R and am already planning my next trip!!!
Read more

C

Recommends

Fantastic trip June 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Rioja Spain bicycling trip in Oct 2018 - personal service and attention from our guides Oscar, Alvaro and Craig complemented the geography of this trip to a tee. What a fantastic trip - treated like royalty (even met some!), we'd definitely recommend B&R to all who ask!!
Read more

B

Recommends

Outstanding May 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just returned from a fabulous Butterfield and Robinson family cycling tour from Vienna to Prague. The guides were outstanding, as were the food, hotels, and activities. Our teen daughters were nervous about traveling with the small group but quickly ditched us to ride with their new friends! The rides were just challenging enough, with lots of food and water breaks. We have traveled with B and R before and find this to be our absolute favorite way to see the world!
Read more

C

Recommends

superb April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
One-third of the way through a Butterfield Australia trip. Incredible. Hotel choices have been superb, and guides have been typical B&R guides: knowledgeable, smart, interesting, and mildly eccentric. Restaurant choices have been absolutely killer. Can't say enough about the B&R trip plane. Now finishing up in Tasmania, which is a treasure.
Read more

M

Recommends

Beyond awesome April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Four of us just completed a private tour walking on the Camino de Santiago in Spain. Our guide, Catherine, was beyond awesome as were the accommodations, food, wine and total experience. It is highly likely we will do another B&R tour soon.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 62 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x