29 Butterfield & Robinson Tour Reviews & Ratings

Butterfield & Robinson Tour Reviews & Ratings

29 Reviews
4.9 | Excellent
Excellent 27 Great 1 Average 0 Disappointing 1 Terrible 0
97% Recommend
Value:
4.8 Guide:
4.9 Activities:
4.9 Lodging:
4.9 Transportation:
5.0 Meals:
4.9

Tour Reviews

WsIct

Does Not Recommend

Never again with Butterfield & Robinson August 2018

2.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 2.0
To use a cliche', 3 strikes you're out. After taking 3 trips with B&R, and one cancelled by B&R, we will not be using this company any further. I've travelled with VBT, Backroads, Duvine, and Eurobike (when they were around), so I have enough experience to say that B&R is not worth the extra cost. Of the categories listed above, B&R only excels in Lodging choice in comparison to the others, but they are deficient in many other areas.

When booking a B&R trip, I highly suggest that you take out insurance, as they will cancel the trip if there are not enough travelers. One of our B&R trips was cancelled, so I was reimbursed all of my expenses, but I'm still out the $1,000 for trip insurance. If your trip does have enough participants, you should ask if there is a single group or family that is making up a large percentage of the travelers. Do you really want to be the lone couple in someone else's family reunion? When our trip was cancelled, B&R suggested that we change dates to a trip that was entirely made up of people who were traveling together.

On our most recent trip, a self-guided tour, we realized that the hikes and mountain huts that the Hotel helped us find, were far better than those suggested by B&R. The trails chosen by B&R were very crowded in comparison to what we found on our own. On this particular trip, we discovered that had we booked the Hotels ourselves, we would have paid 1/2 of what B&R charged us

We booked our first trip with Butterfield and Robinson based on reputation as a premier tour operator and based on our experience I'd say, save your premium dollars and go with another company.
Read more

Tour Butterfield & Robinson Company Reviews

S

Recommends

What a special way to explore and experience Tuscany. January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Wow! My fiancée and I just got back from a tuscany self guided trip and we can’t stop talking about how amazing it was. What a special way to explore and experience Tuscany. The bike routes were perfectly planned out and easy to follow with the help of the tablet. The e-bike I had was top of the line. The hotels (especially La Bandita) we’re exceptional. And Carlos was simply the best! We have both traveled together a lot and had some amazing experiences, but this was easily our best trip together ever! Can’t wait for our next Self-Guided adventure!
Read more

Tour Butterfield & Robinson Company Reviews

B

Recommends

Our smiling Kiwi guide, Rossco, took care of everything for us and then some! January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just returned from a fantastic New Zealand Family Biking trip! The South Island of New Zealand is spectacularly beautiful and what better way to see it than by bicycle (and foot, boat, plane, heli). Our smiling Kiwi guide, Rossco, took care of everything for us and then some!
Read more

Tour Butterfield & Robinson Company Reviews

B

Recommends

If you want to see Bhutan, there is no better way then B&R. November 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
If you want to see Bhutan, there is no better way then B&R. It was top notch, from the guides, hotels, sights, food, hikes. I took my wife for her 50th Bday, she could not have been more pleased. Thanks B&R for a once in a lifetime experience.
Read more

Tour Butterfield & Robinson Company Reviews

C

Recommends

I really liked that the trip was as much about exploring the country as it was about the biking. November 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our trip to Portugal with Butterfield and Robinson was truly magical. The guides could not have done more to make sure we enjoyed the trip. The accommodations were lovely, the biking spectacular and the events were well planned and truly gave a glimpse of Portuguese life. I really liked that the trip was as much about exploring the country as it was about the biking. I will definitely return for another B&R trip. Thank you!
Read more

J

Recommends

Our expectations were far surpassed. October 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just returned from our first B&R trip, a walking tour to Machu Picchu. Our guides, Stephanie and Peter were outstanding. Each day we were surprised with amazing experiences, 5 star accommodations and exceptional food. Our expectations were far surpassed. It is hard to put into words the moment we entered the Sun Gate and first looked down on Machu Picchu. I will only say you will never forget that moment. Thank you, thank you B&R!!!
Read more

Tour Butterfield & Robinson Company Reviews

K

Recommends

The trip was planned and orchestrated seamlessly October 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just returned from a private family hiking trip to explore Machu Picchu and the surrounding areas. The trip was planned and orchestrated seamlessly - everything was first class+++ Hats off to Veronica for planning, and our guide Peter for his exceptional knowledge, care and enthusiasm!!
Read more

Tour Butterfield & Robinson Company Reviews

J

Recommends

If you've not taken a trip with Butterfield & Robinson as your guides, you must! October 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
If you've not taken a trip with Butterfield & Robinson as your guides, you must! My husband and I love to travel and are pretty resourceful at finding great hotels and restaurants on our own. However, we just completed our third trip with B&R and are always so impressed and awed at the quality of accommodations, education, and experiences we would not of had on our own.We can't wait and are already planning for the next trip!
Read more

JR

Recommends

Thank you B&R! October 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just returned from our first B&R trip, a walking tour to Machu Picchu. Our guides, Stephanie and Peter were outstanding. Each day we were surprised with amazing experiences, 5 star accommodations and exceptional food. Our expectations were far surpassed. It is hard to put into words the moment we entered the Sun Gate and first looked down on Machu Picchu. I will only say you will never forget that moment. Thank you, thank you B&R!!!
Read more

Tour Butterfield & Robinson Company Reviews

KG

Recommends

Private family hiking trip to Machu Picchu October 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just returned from a private family hiking trip to explore Machu Picchu and the surrounding areas. The trip was planned and orchestrated seamlessly - everything was first class+++ Hats off to Veronica for planning, and our guide Peter for his exceptional knowledge, care and enthusiasm!!
Read more

Tour Butterfield & Robinson Company Reviews

M

Recommends

Butterfield and Robinson has changed our lives. September 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Butterfield and Robinson has changed our lives. The combination of hiking, or biking, or cruise/biking at a slowed-down pace, with the help of their excellent guides, in foreign locations, makes for a relaxed, pleasurable travel experience. We have now travelled ten times with them, and we plan to do more. Their electric bikes (optional) extend our opportunity to travel with them into happy old age. Terry Patrick
Read more

Tour Butterfield & Robinson Company Reviews

LL

Recommends

Our Amalfi Coast walking trip was so amazing from start to finish. September 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was our first trip with B and R, but it will not be our last. Our Amalfi Coast walking trip was so amazing from start to finish. Our guides (Courtney and Lisa) took such great care to make all of us so comfortable and feel safe and secure. The food, the five star hotels, the sights, sounds, and surprises along the way will leave lasting memories and bring smiles to our faces when we think of our Italian adventure.
Read more

LN

Recommends

Italian adventure September 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was our first trip with B and R, but it will not be our last. Our Amalfi Coast walking trip was so amazing from start to finish. Our guides (Courtney and Lisa) took such great care to make all of us comfortable and feel safe and secure. The food, the five star hotels, the sights, sounds, and surprises along the way will leave lasting memories and bring smiles to our faces when we think of our Italian adventure
Read more

Tour Butterfield & Robinson Company Reviews

ML

Recommends

Wonderful trip in Denmark September 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I am just back from a wonderful trip in Denmark! Beautiful landscape perfect to explore by bike, very nice hotels, great food and amazing guides that took care of every single detail to make the trip very special! Great Job B&R!!
Read more

Tour Butterfield & Robinson Company Reviews

SM

Recommends

Self-guided adventure July 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Wow! My fiancée and I just got back from a Tuscany Self-Guided trip and we can’t stop talking about how amazing it was. What a special way to explore and experience Tuscany. The bike routes were perfectly planned out and easy to follow with the help of the tablet. The E-Bike I had was top of the line. The hotels (especially La Bandita) we’re exceptional. And Carlos was simply the best!
We have both travelled together a lot and had some amazing experiences, but this was easily our best trip together ever! Can’t wait for our next Self-Guided adventure!
Read more

Tour Butterfield & Robinson Company Reviews

Items 1 to 15 of 29 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!