Stride climate
3,182 Intrepid Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Intrepid Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

3,182 Reviews
4.7 | Excellent
Excellent 2,376 Great 625 Average 101 Disappointing 37 Terrible 38
98% Recommend
Value:
4.7 Guide:
4.7 Activities:
4.7 Lodging:
4.7 Transportation:
4.7 Meals:
4.7

Tour Reviews

G

Recommends

Fantastic Trip in Southern Africa August 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 5.0
We did this trip, Explore Southern Africa, from Aug 9 - 26 this year and we thought it was probably our most memorable trip ever. The variety of wildlife (we saw the big 5 plus giraffes, zebras, cheetahs, hippos, hyenas, wildebeests, impalas, baboons, ...) and our proximity to them that we experienced was unparalleled. The scenery was like nothing we had ever experienced before (our first time anywhere in Africa). Although it was winter time there when we went and many areas were looking very dry it was an experience not to be missed. Additionally we were made to feel welcome everywhere that we went. The highlights of the trip for us would be the two days to the Okavango Delta, the optional game drive through Chobe National Park and day 13 with our guide tracking rhinos in Matabos and going to the African village. Our tour leader, cook and drivers were excellent as were our co-travellers. The meals that were prepared for us tasted great, were well balanced and no one ever left hungry. The 2 person tent accommodations weren't the most luxurious but they allowed one to stay right in the "middle of the action" with the animals in close proximity to our overnight homes. This being the case, we never felt unsafe in our tents at any point. The overlander vehicle didn't have air conditioning, as is standard, however if you made sure to open windows for air circulation during the drive the heat wasn't so bad. If one is prepared to put up with these few inconveniences and willing to help out with camp set up, vehicle clean up, and meal clean up afterwards (this is a participatory type of trip where certain tasks are required of the travellers) it is an experience not to be missed. It all makes one more appreciative of the luxuries that we have at home that many do not have in South Africa, Botswana and Zimbabwe.
Read more

K

Recommends

Only excellent value for money and memories to last a lifetime. August 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Faultless service and incredible trips, at a really good price. Plus they are all really nice peeps, by email or phone, and we need more of that in the world.

So far, and still counting, I've used them for:

Alaska
Tanzania
Kenya
Uganda
Northern India
Lombok
Bali
Russia
Mongolia
China
Nepal

Never had a bad experience, only excellent value for money and memories to last a lifetime.
Read more

J

Recommends

It was an incredible experience! August 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just wrapped up a Tanzania family safari. It was an incredible experience!

Even the cook made sure my picky teenager would like his breakfast by fixing him his scrambled eggs the way he likes them.

I’ve been dreaming of this trip with my son for a long time and I’m glad I booked it with you guys! We’ll cherish the memories we made for ever

If you’re looking for a real adventure kinda trip then go with Intrepid!

Thank you Thank you Thank you
Johan & Maxime
Read more

S

Recommends

Perfect Itinerary, Guide spoiled a lot of the trip July 2019

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
The perfect itinerary allowed us to efficiently visited all the top sites with great lodgings. Unfortunately, the guide cut short stops at the Bahai Gardens, Acco, Tel Aviv, and Jerrico on days when we got to our hotel room in the early afternoon--all group members were upset by this. This Palestinian Christian guide emphasized unimpressive churches and minimized all sights that were secular, Muslim, Jewish, ancient, or other faiths. He made bizarre strident political comments about how great Mao Zedong was, praised Putin, said Palestinian people "had never done anything wrong in their history," talked about the Jews killing Jesus--all with a lot of anger. He knew a lot of about Christinaity, not much about anything else. He did a lot to make what could have been the perfect trip, mediocre.

(I would recommend the trip, but only if I knew it was a different guide.)
Read more

M

Recommends

I loved the history of this trip May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I loved the history of this trip, as well as the spectacular scenery. Our guide was knowledgeable and helpful. Having arrangements made for places to stay and transport, plus some activities, but with plenty of free time, made for a perfect balance for me. Breakfasts were delicious!
Read more

P

Recommends

This is an excellent jam May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This is an excellent jam packed tour of Costa Rica & Panama. The stops are excellent, particularly Corcovado and san Gerardo de Dota. Andres is a brilliant guide and you would be extremely lucky to have him as your group leader.
Read more

P

Recommends

This is an excellent jam May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This is an excellent jam packed tour of Costa Rica & Panama. The stops are excellent, particularly Corcovado and san Gerardo de Dota. Andres is a brilliant guide and you would be extremely lucky to have him as your group leader.
Read more

P

Recommends

Excursions was brilliant. May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This trip undertaken during May 2019, gave excellent value for money and was led by an excellent tour guide. The group dynamic was great and the mix of daily excursions was brilliant. 10 out of 10 for quality and value. Philip from Ireland.
Read more

A

Recommends

Great trip which is a good pace. May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great trip which is a good pace. You will love the smaller towns as much as the big cities. I recommend to add a couple of days at the start and finish. Pack light (with layers) as you need to carry your bag everywhere including up stairs. Very few lifts.
Read more

K

Recommends

An introductory to Vietnam May 2019

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
The trip by Intrepid was very well organized.
It was for 12 people, so it as a perfect small group size. any group larger than this would not have been so enjoyable.
If you have never been to Vietnam, this trip will highlight Vietnam's top attractions.
It is very city focused vs nature.

Our guide could have been better.
On other tours, the guide usually talked about the country during the drive around places.
During long drives, our guide was usually taking a nap.

The accommodations were mostly nice.
The only place I wasn't a fan of was hotel in Hanoi.
In Hanoi, it was not so clean, the breakfast was ok… the AC didn't work, and the elevator was tiny.

Activities for additional price wasn't really worth it.
it was better to do a day activity signing up with the hotel instead of the tour company.

The overnight boat in Halong bay was really nice.

Usually, more food is provided for tour groups, but this didn't include a lot of meals.
It was actually better this way since its there are so many great places to eat in Vietnam for really great price vs overcharged tourist prices.


Read more

G

Recommends

Helped make it a memorable trip for me. May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This is a great trip for anyone interested in not only the current local cultures, but also the history of the region that shaped so many important events of the last few centuries in Europe. You can choose how much you want to immerse yourself in either aspect, because this trip is structured with both planned group activities and free time. It offers a nice balance of time in cities and time in quieter countryside settings. Our tour leader, Henryk, was fantastic, and really helped make it a memorable trip for me.
Read more

A

Recommends

Exceptional beauty in this landscape April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The Central Europe tour opened our eyes to the exceptional beauty in this landscape and wonderful variety of cultures within such a short travel distance. Every day was an adventure.

S

Recommends

I thoroughly enjoyed April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I thoroughly enjoyed the Best of Central Europe tour that I took in May 2019 even though it was unseasonably cool it was fun to see snow! Travelling in Austria, Czech Republic, Poland, Slovakia and Hungary was incredibly interesting with beautiful scenery and architecture and many places to explore. Our tour leader Henryk did a fantastic job of recommending what to see and do, where to eat and what local cuisine to try. He was also very knowledgeable on the history of the countries and definitely taught me a lot!
Read more

R

Recommends

An amazing trip! April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
An amazing trip! Such a knowledgeable and approachable tour leader, beyond amazing sights and cities and made the best friends throughout the group!

R

Recommends

An amazing trip! April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
An amazing trip! Such a knowledgeable and approachable tour leader, beyond amazing sights and cities and made the best friends throughout the group!

Items 1 to 15 of 3182 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x