3,163 Intrepid Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Intrepid Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

3,163 Reviews
4.7 | Excellent
Excellent 2,356 Great 625 Average 101 Disappointing 37 Terrible 39
98% Recommend
Value:
4.7 Guide:
4.7 Activities:
4.7 Lodging:
4.7 Transportation:
4.7 Meals:
4.7

Tour Reviews

K

Recommends

An introductory to Vietnam May 2019

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
The trip by Intrepid was very well organized.
It was for 12 people, so it as a perfect small group size. any group larger than this would not have been so enjoyable.
If you have never been to Vietnam, this trip will highlight Vietnam's top attractions.
It is very city focused vs nature.

Our guide could have been better.
On other tours, the guide usually talked about the country during the drive around places.
During long drives, our guide was usually taking a nap.

The accommodations were mostly nice.
The only place I wasn't a fan of was hotel in Hanoi.
In Hanoi, it was not so clean, the breakfast was ok… the AC didn't work, and the elevator was tiny.

Activities for additional price wasn't really worth it.
it was better to do a day activity signing up with the hotel instead of the tour company.

The overnight boat in Halong bay was really nice.

Usually, more food is provided for tour groups, but this didn't include a lot of meals.
It was actually better this way since its there are so many great places to eat in Vietnam for really great price vs overcharged tourist prices.


Read more

MB

Recommends

Good experience - highly overpriced. April 2019

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I just came back from a 12 day tour to
Egypt.

Pros:
1) extremly very well organized
2) excellent customer service
3) lots of information on the site
4) very knowledgable and personable guide with excellent English
5) people on the trip were great

Cons:
1) HIGHLY OVERPRICED - one accomodation was ok, the other ones were very cheap, shabby ans dirty.

2) Our guide was no different to guides in less reputable companies. Before I travel, I asked and was told by Intrepid this trip had no "kitty". However, the guide asked on day one for it (a total of $576.09 USD which is a fortune in Egypt), took the group to "Intrepid pre-approved venders", etc.

3) Options of things to do outside the itinerary could have been better explained.

The trip is a good choice if you like to take it easy during your vacation: visit the main sites but also have time at the pool, have drinks with friends and have lots of free time to chill out. And very important: you must like to shop. Keep in mind in Alexandria you spend 3 hours at the shopping mall instead of visiting a Museum, the only activity on day 11 was a visit to the Bazaar and, as I said, you will stop at shops endorsed by Intrepid (according to the guide).

If you, like me, prefer to be on the go when you are on a trip so far from home, this might not be the trip for you. Unless, like I did, you are comfortable with doing your own thing and leaving the group to explore on your own since you will have plenty of time to do so.

Personally, I won't travel with them again. The bad points override the good ones. But again, depends on what you are looking for... and how much you are willing to pay for it.
Read more

Tour Intrepid Company Reviews

V

Does Not Recommend

Cocaine & break-in not my cup of tea April 2019

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
The tour leader was taking and pushing cocaine on Day 1 and a member of hotel staff broke into my bedroom through the window while I was inside naked on Day 7.

Sadly, I don't do Class A drugs and prefer only members of the opposite sex to manoeuvre themselves towards positions where they can see my genitals.
Read more

Tour Intrepid Company Reviews

L

Recommends

It was so much fun! April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have just finished The Real Cambodia tour, the 18-29 youth tour. It was so much fun! Our guide Channy was fantastic - he always had good places to take us, advice on everything, lots of local knowledge. The accommodation was generally good, the travel was good, and we did a lot of fun activities. This is my first time travelling with intrepid and I definitely recommend it. I’m already thinking of where I’d like to travel with them again!
Read more

Tour Intrepid Company Reviews

A

Recommends

Conditions was absolutely amazing April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
During our Kruger National Park experience with Intrepid we had a guide called Ann. We were lucky enough to have her as our guide for 3 trips during our stay!
She’s a fantastic guide. Ann knows the animals behaviour very well and she quick to act on different potential sightings. We were on our way back to the lodge when a storm was approaching us. Ann was very calm, made sure the vehicle was safe and provided us with rain jackets! The storm was intense (thundering, lighting and hale stone) Ann made us feel very safe and secure, she warned us what to do if the storm got worse. How she managed to get us out of the storm and drive in such bad conditions was absolutely amazing and can’t thank her enough for getting us back safety! After a such a journey back I gave Ann a massive hug to say thank you but I feel that wasn’t enough, so I wanted to let Intrepid know how wonderful your lovely staff member Ann is! So Thank you, Abbey
Read more

Tour Intrepid Company Reviews

D

Recommends

Excellent trip with a well designed and executed itinerary April 2019

5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
Excellent trip – the itinerary was well designed and executed. The Tour Leader (Maggie) was excellent, the bus was superbly clean, the accommodations were better than I had expected (most with air conditioning, and all with hot water). The food was somewhat bland - as expected.

Important note about money exchange for Americans: I suggest that travelers change money on arrival at the official exchange office at Havana airport. Americans will get a better exchange rate if they (step one) exchange dollars into POUNDS STERLING or EUROS at an airport in the USA *before* flying to Havana, and then (step two) exchange those Pounds or Euros into CUC at Havana airport. By doing this you will avoid paying the 10% penalty that is imposed if you simply change DOLLARS directly into CUC in Havana.
Read more

M

Recommends

I just returned from an awesome experience April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just returned from an awesome experience - travelled solo on the Intrepid Golden Triangle. What an experience. Had an amazing guide Anthika, who ensured we were safe and well looked after. Our driver/mate all good and the bus was very comfy for the long drives. We were a mixed group of male and females and solo travellers and a couple. We all looked out for each other and built friendships along the lines. Go with an open mind and enjoy the experience. Be aware that India has a different culture to our / your own, read up before you go and it will be one of the most rewarding experiences ever. I loved it :)
Read more

Tour Intrepid Company Reviews

B

Recommends

Fantastic !! March 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
This was a great trip to Patagonia. A couple of the hiking days are strenuous, but the views at the end are spectacular. The camping days are more "glamping" than camping, with thick sleeping pads, warm sleeping bags, and hot meals in the dinning tent. The long travel day to Ushuaia was even enjoyable, with great scenery to past the time, along with a ferry ride across the Magellan Straight. And, to finish it all, penguins in Ushuaia. Take the trip !
Read more

R

Recommends

Fabulous two week tour of Mexico City March 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just finished as of today a fabulous two week tour of Mexico City and the surrounding Colonial Cities led by Juan Carlos. He did a great job and has a tremendous feel for the Country he was born and raised in.This was our first tour ever as we always like to go it alone but being unfamiliar with the language we decided on Intrepid because there would be a small Group with a lot of personal time to explore the Cities at our own pace. Thanks Intrepid.
Read more

Tour Intrepid Company Reviews

B

Recommends

Cambodia was fantastic March 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our trip with sareth so TKSE190219 to Cambodia was fantastic. He made us all so comfortable was so kind and thoughtful. It was my birthday while I won tour my daughter tried to have flowers put in my room but the language barrier was unable to get it done. So she contacted Sareth so and he rang the hotel and got it organised. Was so very good of him. Was delighted to get to my room and the beautiful roses on my bed and side table. Made my birthday all thanks to Sareth help.. after every meal we had out Sareth came round to each of us to see if we enjoyed our meal. So if anybody has Sareth as tour leader yeah will be the best.
Read more

Tour Intrepid Company Reviews

LT

Recommends

Classic Sri Lanka March 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I’ve just returned from the Classic Sri Lanka tour and couldn’t be more happy. This was not just my first intrepid trip but my first holiday travelling alone.For me each day of the itinerary just got better by the day. Our tour guide Ananda Upasiri was fantastic. His passion, knowledge and love of this beautiful country was evident every time he spoke. He made the long coach journeys entertaining by not only informing us of the history of the places we were visiting but telling daily jokes and sometimes singing. There was nothing you could ask for and this wonderful man would not organise. He truly went above and beyond to keep everyone happy. Everything about this tour exceeded my expectations and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. It was also wonderful that the whole group got on well.
Read more

Tour Intrepid Company Reviews

P

Recommends

Absolutely amazing tour February 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Icelandic tour- Northern Lights Escape. Currently here in Reykjavik, on our last day. Absolutely amazing tour, mainly due to the best tour guide ever Làrus, who is so informative, patient and thoughtful. Until we meet again farewell to this beautiful country, its people and tour buddies!
Read more

Tour Intrepid Company Reviews

J

Recommends

The team is very professional February 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Traveling with intrepid is an experience. "road to zanzibar" was an amazing journey. The team is very professional and the design of the route is excellent. Definitely, I'll travel with them again
Read more

Tour Intrepid Company Reviews

CQ

Recommends

Memorable experience February 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just finished a 10 days tour from Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh City. This is my first ever Intrepid Tour and I have to say that I am very satisfied, especially with our guide Sonny. He is very knowledgeable about his country and kept the tour fun by including many jokes & sarcasm (now I can’t get it out of my head lol). Our group had a total of 16 people with a variety of ages from 16-72. I will definitely use Intrepid again for future travels. Thank you Sonny for making my Vietnam experience so memorable!!!
Read more

Tour Intrepid Company Reviews

JRSC

Recommends

Mohammed was one of the best travel… February 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Mohammed was one of the best travel guides I had in my lifetime.
He was extraordinarily knowledgeable, kind, thoughtful & considerate. One of the Best Tours ever for me, I know it was truly because of Mohammed. I was on his Feb. 6 , 2019 Tour to Morocco.
If Mohammed did other tours around the world I would commit to all of his tours. He was Amazing!!!!!!
Read more

Tour Intrepid Company Reviews

Items 1 to 15 of 3163 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x