62 Island Expeditions Tour Reviews & Ratings

Island Expeditions Tour Reviews & Ratings

62 Reviews
4.8 | Excellent
Excellent 51 Great 11 Average 0 Disappointing 0 Terrible 0
98% Recommend
Value:
4.8 Guide:
4.8 Activities:
4.8 Lodging:
4.8 Transportation:
4.8 Meals:
4.8

Tour Reviews

K

Recommends

We really enjoyed the kayaking and snorkeling off of Carrie Bow Caye!! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our Paradise Islands tour was a superb opportunity to see Belize up close and personal. We were blessed with a small group (3 guests and 1 guide), great weather, easy waters for kayaking and snorkelling. We started in Tobacco Caye Paradise Lodge where Mr Ed and his staff took great care of us with fabulous local food, comfortable cabanas built over the reef so we could sit out on our back deck and watch the rays and fish hover about. Kimike, our guide, had us out kayaking the first afternoon along the barrier reef where we saw large eagle rays and an osprey flying off with a parrot fish in its talons. We paddled over to Tobacco Caye Range, a large mangrove forest, about 2.5 Km away where we encountered cormorants, pelicans by the score, southern rays and ospreys. After Tobacco Caye, we paddle/sailed our kayaks down to South Water Caye and stayed with International Zoological Expeditions where our cabana was situated adjacent to the eastern mangrove forest on the Caye. From our deck we could watch herons carefully hunting for small crabs and lizards. Once again, the staff cooked excellent local meals and are very friendly. We snorkelled off the beach using our kayaks and also paddled over to Carrie Bow Caye where the Smithsonian Institute has a research facility. The managers gave us a tour of the operations and were very informative. Kimike had us paddleboarding that afternoon, teaching us the basics as he demonstrated his skill at yoga on the water! Our last day involved a long paddle down to Billyhawk Caye, weaving in and out of a large mangrove range on the way down, disturbing huge southern rays as we glided over their hollows, listening to ospreys call from their perches and enjoying a great lunch of conch stew, salad and rice at Billyhawk Caye. We gathered our possessions and said goodbye to the kayaks. Our last snorkel was in the reefs near the Bread and Butter Islands, just south of the Caye. The size and variety of the soft coral was astounding along with a profusion of brightly colored fish of all types.
Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
We had a great time last year at Lighthouse Reef on Half Moon Caye and had no qualms about signing up again for a trip to Belize with Island Expeditions. This year we added extra time at Bocawina, Glover's Atoll and Pook's Hill with the IE staff arranging and booking rooms, transfers, local flights.

What was the highlight of your trip?:
We really enjoyed the kayaking and snorkelling off of Carrie Bow Caye where Joan had a chance to swim alongside a huge eagle ray. Night time snorkelling for the first time, where we saw an octopus, rays, channel crabs and conchs. Learning about coconut milk and Belizean rum in combination was delightful!

What would be your advice to potential travellers?:
Be prepared to travel light as all your baggage is going into dry bags and stowed in the kayaks. IE staff will look after your larger baggage in the office while you are out on the water. Bring long sleeved synthetic T shirts and tights for paddling and kayaking to protect against the sun and reduce your need for sunscreen. An infinity scarf can also cover your face and scalp while snorkelling.
Read more

K

Recommends

This was one of those trips of a lifetime! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was one of those trips of a lifetime, filled with challenges as well as relaxation. The group provided lovely bonding and helping experiences in the blue waters. I would do this again and again and again!

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
I was looking for adventure and found it!

What was the highlight of your trip?:
The kayaking was invigorating and the snorkeling was blissfully serene. I loved the food and the exciting challenges of the life of adventure. Somewhere along the way, I lost the stress in my life. A blissful trip! I must return.

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Jump in! Get wet! Learn something new! Challenge yourself!
Read more

A

Recommends

A great trip. Well organized!! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
A great trip. Well organized. The guides, Omar and Kimike were very professional and knowledgeable. The snorkeling was good and there was lots of variety with the different islands we went to . The food was excellent and plentiful and there were unexpected delights like the night visit to the Belize zoo and a 'coconut' talk by Omar. We had an amazing time. Thanks so much.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
Saw the ad in Outside magazine. I'd always wanted to paddle the Barrier reefs and snorkel and the fact that it was based in B.C. , helped us to decide to choose I.E.

What was the highlight of your trip?:
This is a difficult question to answer since there were so many highlights. The night visit to the Belize zoo was a definite highlight. The experience of paddling and snorkeling and sailing and the great accommodations are all highlights. This trip exceeded my hopes and expectations.

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Follow the packing list suggestions and you will be well-prepared.
Read more

A

Recommends

Guides are very interesting sharing!! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
All of the guides were very accommodating and each had a great sense of humor...made the trip fun. All guides were very interesting sharing so much info about Belizian geography, culture, animals and plants. I quickly felt a comfort level with them all.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
I liked the description on the website

What was the highlight of your trip?:
I thoroughly enjoyed all the seafood. I am now crazy for coconut shrimp soup and enjoyed experiencing conch for the first time. I also liked the different juices, especially the cucumber, watermelon and hibiscus juices. Marie Sharp's banana jam rocks!
Read more

S

Recommends

Guides are amazingly knowledgeable, funny, interested. December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Guides are amazingly knowledgeable, funny, interested.

Good food that is different every night.
Activities are diverse and top of line interesting.
Glover reef is beautiful, the corals are in good shape.
Tropical Ed. Center was a great place to meet.
The whole organization is very professional.
We highly recommended this trip for children.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
Spouse did 10 yrs ago and trips seem very interesting

What was the highlight of your trip?:
Meet the local guides

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Read well what you will be doing in each trip
Read more

J

Recommends

We had an extraordinary time at Glover's Reef!! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had an extraordinary time at Glover's Reef. We had a seamless transition on this second part of our trip from Lighthouse Reef to Glover's Reef because we left it to the experts at IE! Glover's Reef has excellent patch reefs where we had fantastic snorkeling opportunities. We also enjoyed kayaking, SUP, fishing, Yoga, delicious food and all at a spectacular base camp on the edge of the Reef. What more could you ask for?

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
We love the company. We have done to previous expeditions in 2008 and 2012 that were so well done. Basically you show up at the airport and everything is arranged by IE. They have great connections and you feel so cared for. Amazing people.

What was the highlight of your trip?:
The beautiful Attoles and all the activities: Snorkeling, kayaking, kayak sailing, SUP, Yoga, hammock surfing
What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Just go!
Read more

C

Recommends

Our trip with Island Expeditions was fantastic!! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our trip with Island Expeditions was fantastic. The arrangements were perfect, the guides friendly and knowledgeable with a great sense of humor. Snorkeling at Glover's Reef was the best we ever had. The beach cabanas were comfy, the setting gorgeous. I would highly recommend Island Expeditions for your trip to Belize.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
Happened upon it while googling tourism in Belize. Sounded like our kind of trip! Love adventurous trips.

What was the highlight of your trip?:
Snorkeling was the best we've ever done. The reef is alive and well in Belize. However, the cave tubing was fantastic also.

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
The facilities are not 5 star hotels, but beach cabanas. We loved it, but many people would prefer regular hotel. The food was phenomenal.
Read more

P

Recommends

The Glover's Reef trip was amazing.!! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The Glover's Reef trip was amazing. The setting was beautiful and the kayaking was great. I so enjoyed seeing so many different types of fish and rays. We even saw a turtle swimming by. I also tried two new things - paddleboarding and sailing a kayak. The guides were unbelievably warm, helpful, knowledgeable and personable. The food was delicious!! I was a little hesitant going on the trip because I was traveling by myself but I had nothing to fear. The other members of the group were so welcoming and interesting that I made lifelong friends. Glover's reef was one of my best trips.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
It was well-organized and seemed to offer all the outdoor experiences I wanted.

What was the highlight of your trip?:
Sailing a kayak
Read more

A

Recommends

The trip was excellent, very well organized! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The trip was excellent, very well organized and the guides were all very friendly and extremely helpful. Our 12 year old son really enjoyed the variety of activities. Overall, we all enjoyed and would highly recommend it.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
Looking for an active water-based holiday in the sun.

What was the highlight of your trip?:
Kayaking in the crystal clear waters
What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Be prepared to push yourself and have fun.
Read more

S

Recommends

The trip from start to end was most enjoyable.!! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The trip from start to end was most enjoyable. We started out adding an extra day to see ALTUN HA - a Mayan ruin. It was costly [$60/per person for a family of 4 for a morning taxi tour ] but well worth it. It seems that this type of trip attracts people who automatically get along - we soon became a close knit family! The caves were amazing, so much more than we ever could have dreamed of. Our guide JC was excellent. The Belize Zoo is a great experience for young and old alike, all the animals are indigenous and in appropriate settings. Our accommodations were simple but comfortable and pleasant. The trip to Dangriga lets you see a little of the inland countryside. Seeing the island -where we were staying for the next 5 days - as we were coming nearer in the boat it was''love at 1st sight". It is a charming place - little white tents under palm trees. We had everything we needed - a great cook Bol, 3 patient guides and lots of sunshine. The outings to snorkel, etc. were wonderful. We all adjusted well to the environmental bathroom facilities. There was great sadness when we had to return to the ''real world ''and now we share our great memories.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
looked most appealing in an internet search

What was the highlight of your trip?:
Zoo, caves, snorkeling, island life
What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Highly recommend the trip. Tevas with socks or similar shoes or shoes that do not get destroyed by water are perfectly fine for caves and tubing. Take an extra day to see a Mayan ruin or/and Belize City.
Read more

M

Recommends

We really enjoyed all the activities on the island including snorkeling!! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We are a family of 5 and we went to Glovers Reef over Christmas. We had an outstanding time during our trip. We really enjoyed all the activities on the island including snorkeling, kayaking, standup paddling and fly fishing. The food was simply outstanding and the staff was very good at programming activities and being able to accommodate all of our family with ages from 9 to 51 years old.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
The trip was recommended to us by friends.

What was the highlight of your trip?:
All the activities on the island were excellent and a big highlight

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
My advice would be to be aware that the living conditions on island are rustic as you are staying in tents (with great beds), the climate can be humid and windy and the washroom facilities are composting toilets. We enjoyed our stay but you have to have the right expectations - it is not a 5 star hotel with maid service, etc.
Read more

R

Recommends

I've never felt so prepared for a trip.!! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I've never felt so prepared for a trip. Absolutely loved the packing list and opportunity to ask questions during the phone call a week before my trip! Phenomenal food. I was so grateful to have a special meal prepared just for me on curry night. I will never forget the presentations of the meals by Lady D and CY, or the opportunity to eat the barracuda caught by Taiga during our groups fishing trip.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
After doing some google searches I chose Island Expeditions because the opportunity for daily yoga sessions, kayaking and snorkeling were all included in the trip.

What was the highlight of your trip?:
The whole trip was an awesome experience and I have already recommended it to others. Your team made all the difference and I really felt like part of a family. Thanks a million!

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Stay covered and drink lots of water - it was very hot while I was there.
Read more

S

Recommends

This was a wonderful trip! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was a wonderful trip. The guides were very attentive, knowledgeable, and aware of us at all times. We really enjoyed the snorkeling and found the accommodations suited us perfectly.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
Our friends had been there before and were returning

What was the highlight of your trip?:
The snorkeling and yoga

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Get a container to avoid the long trek at night to the toilets! We spent extra nights before the trip at Crooked Tree and that was wonderful.
Read more

B

Recommends

It was wonderful! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was our first trip to Belize and we went with 8 other friends in their 70s. It was wonderful. It is funny that it comes up as a "resort" as in fact it is 10 high wall tents on a wooden base and good beds inside. One walks to the composting toilet ( clean and efficient) dodging the hermit crabs on the pathway. The food is superb.. Even after 8 days we were still getting wonderful papaya and pineapple and fresh salads. It is totally off grid and 2 hours away from the mainland by a big boat. Once there, you are away from it. Early morning with a yoga lesson on the beach at sunrise, then on to the activities of the day. Everything is weather dependent and we were very lucky: enjoying fabulous snorkeling. The Blue Hole is the best snorkeling I have ever done, including the Galapagos, the Great Reef, Hawaii and Malaysia. We kayaked, tried paddle boards and one day rigged sails on our kayaks and sailed to the next reef. They are very safety conscious. We always had two guides with us in the water and one nearby watching from a boat. Yes we pushed ourselves a bit and were challenged--but enjoyed every minute.

Others who we met that had been on Ambergris Caye and Glovers Reef were complaining of mosquitoes and sandflies. We didn't have that problem. Audubon was on the reef as it is where the red footed boobies nest and the frigate birds nest. The birds were there in February so it was also a treat. The company is Island Expeditions that runs the trips; a Canadian company.

Room Tip: this is an adventure camp--not a resort. All rooms are oceanfront!!!

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
went with friends who had been the year before

What was the highlight of your trip?:
the Blue Hole snorkel followed by the magical yoga mornings

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Do it...you are never too old!!
Read more

R

Recommends

Excellent underwater pictures! December 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I spent 5 days on Half Moon Caye and had the best time of my life. This trip exceeded my expectation of adventure, natural beauty and relaxation. Excellent food was prepared by Oliver and Anna. The Blue Hole trip had world class snorkeling and views of the coral. My pictures were like the ones on National Geographic TV . I recommend future guests to rent an underwater camera for some excellent underwater pictures.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
Great reviews and found in local newspaper Telegram and gazette Worcester MA

What was the highlight of your trip?:
Blue hole diving and underwater pictures

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Rent an underwater camera before you go only $70 for a week
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 62 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!