10,845 Trafalgar Tour Reviews & Ratings

Trafalgar Tour Reviews & Ratings

10,845 Reviews
4.5 | Great
Excellent 6,669 Great 3,159 Average 737 Disappointing 186 Terrible 94
91% Recommend
Value:
4.5 Guide:
4.5 Activities:
4.5 Lodging:
4.5 Transportation:
4.5 Meals:
4.5

Tour Reviews

T2

Recommends

Best of China 2019 April 2019

5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
The tour guide Hubert was wonderful, very detailed oriented and organized. And had such an extensive knowledge of all the cities and locations we went to. Truly excellent!

Personalized care and helpfulness was definitely offered throughout, very nice touch to the trip.

Overall a great trip, but some considerations below:

The hotel in Beijing – Novotel Peace and the hotel in Chengdu – Crowne Plaza were way below standard – maybe a rating of 2 stars. They were dirty, dark, stained and hot without air circulating in the rooms. After extensive days with waking up early and returning late, you just want to rest in a clean environment with cool air. I would never stay hotels like these.

This trip is not for people who cannot handle extensive walking and climbing. Trafalgar lists this as from 5 to 99 years old. Not possible. There were days we did 10 miles of walking, just a caution for anyone considering. We had someone in our tour that was 82 years old and we all took turns taking care of him.

Some aspects of the itinerary could be different, but think that is all based on personal preference; however my fellow travelers did feel the same way. The cruise down the Yangtze River was just ‘ok’, time could have been spent better elsewhere. Like Xian, truly amazing city but too short a time.

NOTE: Some were charged single supplement, others were not ... I paid for the single supplement and was none too happy about that!

Also note that you need to budget for the optional tours that are not included.
Read more

L

Recommends

Perfect choice when seeking local expertise March 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Trafalgar is the perfect chose for when seeking local expertise and knowledge. They offer wonderful itineraries and incredible value.

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

N

Does Not Recommend

They are the worst February 2019

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I've never had a travel group cancel a trip before. Trafalgar canceled my honeymoon we booked ages in advance my honeymoon. They didn't even have the decency to call. They sent an email as if this wasn't a stressful enough time for planning. As far as we can tell from their non-direct answers they canceled it due to underbooking. Their solution was to just change to a different trip. I'm not sure if they realize how trip planning or buying plane tickets work. we'll never book with them again.
Read more

I

Does Not Recommend

Superb, especially... November 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The part where Trafalgar sent us with a known sex offender for 2 weeks... [Link Removed]

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

J

Recommends

Unsafe situation November 2018

1.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I lost all trust in all tour companies after Trafalgar sent us with a known sex offender on a 3 week tour. He is now jailed. I have contacted Trafalgar to at least get an apology, instead I received dismissive replies and now, radio silence. they had scrubbed this guide' social media to distance themselves AND they continue to manage his Facebook profile, changing his profile picture to pretend all is well. This is disgusting. We place our trust in tour companies mostly to be safe at destination. Think twice before using Trafalgar, they don't much care who works for them: https://www.theargus.co.uk/news/16094579.Man_jailed_after_destroying_computer_on_which_he_watched_dog_porn/
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

K

Recommends

Excellent October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just finished our 8-day Britain and Ireland Delight Tour. We absolutely loved it. Everyday a different city/country or two with wall to wall options. There is generally one group meal and/or outing that is included daily and then the option for 2 or more additional outings every day. We chose to participate in most of the additional outings and just took a night off here and there for some r&r away from the group. There were 51 people on our tour from multiple countries, ages and backgrounds. There were some people who we formed strong bonds with and others who we barely talked to. This is a fast paced tour. Lots of early mornings after late nights. Travel time on the bus and ferries allowed for additional sleep. Can’t imagine spending a week in one destination, left to make decisions on our own. Trafalgar put together a trip better than anything we would have come up with on our own. Our guide was excellent. He was funny and personable and always willing to offer tips and advice for things to do in each city. We would do this type of tour again in a heartbeat.
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

M

Recommends

Incredible October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We have just been on our fifth Trafalgar tour and would really recommend traveling with this company. We went on the Scenic Scandinavia Tour from the 23 of Sept with the best tour director EVER, Catrin Griffiths. She really made the tour even more special. Thank you Catrin - your flair, incredible knowledge, treats, music, organizational skills and wonderful sense of humour will never be forgotten!!
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

JG

Recommends

Extremely well September 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just completed our first tour with Trafalgar - 12 day European Whirl!! What an awesome and extremely well organised tour it was. Our Tour Director Peter was absolutely brilliant. Full of knowledge, very professional and well organised.....taking good care of the 49 of us!
We had Ivan driving us carefully and safely around Europe, something I would not attempt, especially in France!
Was the best trip to give us a good 'taste' of Europe including hidden treasures and front of line entries. Highly recommend Trafalgar and will definitely be booking again in the future. Thanks team!
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

S

Recommends

Wonderful September 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just got back from doing the London to Rome highlights for our honeymoon. This was our first time traveling abroad so we weren't sure what to expect. We are so beyond thrilled with our experience through Trafalgar. Our driver, Claudio, was a master at navigating the busy streets in Paris and Italy. He kept our coach well organized and clean, engaged with us, and made sure we were comfortable. Gerry, our travel director, deserves so much more than just 5 stars. He was incredibly knowledgeable and made everything come to life at each point of interest. His restaurant recommendations were always spot on and he took the time to make sure each and every person was comfortable and happy. Visiting 5 countries in 8 days with 40 people and keeping everything running smoothly is no easy job but Gerry conducted each step with finesse, humor, and patience. We always knew where to go, when and where to meet, and he taught us how to navigate the streets so we wouldn't get lost. He was unfailingly kind with those that had trouble understanding directions or just needed a little extra care. He was able to pinpoint immediately if someone was feeling lost, anxious, or confused and quickly come to the rescue. He informed us of all the pitfalls to watch out for (pickpockets, hockers, and the like) and how to be safe and we were then able to share that knowledge with other travellers we met along the way so they could be safe too. Seeing as it was our honeymoon, Gerry took it upon himself to make sure it was amazing, from setting up a wonderful accordionist and vocalist to accompany our gondola excursion in Venice, to notifying the waitstaff at dinner so we could have extra dessert and champagne, to providing us with a wonderful gift from one of the glassblowing shops that we visited. Please Gerry, don't ever stop doing what you do!
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

F

Recommends

Culture shock never felt so good September 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Beer steins, cabarets, sex shops, cows on mountains. This is what people who live in Europe see everyday. Exploring all these cultures in one trip is why I enjoyed our tour so much (aside from our outstanding tour director Brek and amazing driver Ivan). It is a glimpse, so you dont get much time in Amsterdam. Maybe 2.5 hours so I would suggest planning ahead for that. My favorite optionals were the local Switzerland guided horse and carriage tour, and the mount pilatus excursion. Both of which were in Switzerland (I'm Italian and just found Switzerland is my favorite country in Europe). The Caberet optional in paris is expensive, but the show is PERFECT. The Rhine river cruise optional allows you to see almost every important monument in paris while sitting down which is awesome considering it is only a glimpse. Our tour director Brek knew exactly where to stop and at what times it would be best to do so. As soon as we walked off the tour bus to stop and have a look at the Eiffel Tower it literally sparkled. He timed it that way. Anyways, I would take this tour if you're looking for an affordable, stress free, and under 10 day tour.
Read more

K

Recommends

Amazing August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just got back from a 20 day UK trip and I have to say it has been one of the best holidays I’ve had mind you living out of a suitcase wasn’t real good but apart from that it was amazing our tour director was amazing as well thank you so much Trafalgar
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

E

Recommends

Magnificent August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Scotlands Highlands, Islands and Cities was magnificent. We explored many castle ruins, castles still being lived in today. It was like traveling back in time when we took the ferry to the Isle of Iona. Our tour director was a true Scotsman with much knowledge, we explored many unique ancient unexpected sites. The Edinburgh Mutary Tattoo was an excellent blend of many countries and their customs. Scotland is breathtaking and the weather was exceptional for our 2 week journey. My journey into the past ended today August 23 2018
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

M

Recommends

wonderful group of strangers August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It's been a year since my 30 days of Europe trip. I can't believe how lucky I was to be able to see all those amazing sites with a wonderful group of strangers who became friends. Our tour director, Scott E., was the best. Our driver, Luigi, was always polite and jovial. I can't wait to start planning my next trip!
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

S

Does Not Recommend

Buyer Beware: CostSaver is NOT Trafalgar, regardless of how much they like to conflate the two companies! July 2018

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 3.0
If I had never traveled on my own, or never gone on a group tour, or even never gone on a Trafalgar tour before, I might have thought this one was okay. However, I have done all three, and this tour pales in comparison. Even some of my fellow travelers on this trip who've never been on a tour before were a bit taken aback and felt duped by this one. Here's why:

Trafalgar now owns Insight (a higher end group tour company) and Costsaver (a lower end one). Insight Tours doesn't use the name Trafalgar--they don't need to. They hold their own reputation. Costsaver, on the other hand, has the Trafalgar name virtually everywhere . . . letterhead, email addresses, invoices, etc. They are banking on Trafalgar's reputation to prop them up is my guess, as they certainly don't hold their own.

First, they put you in perfectly adequate lodging, but it's in the middle of nowhere, quite literally. Our hotel in Barcelona required two forms of public transportation to reach, and the only thing near it was a gas station. Seriously. Our hotel in Madrid was not even in Madrid; it was in a commercial trucking/warehouse/shipping area and was a 37-euro cab ride each way to Madrid. The hotel clerk said that, other than a bar next door (which proved terrible), there was NOTHING in walking distance. Luckily, the hotel in Lisbon was at a metro stop, so we were able to navigate the public transport and spend some time in Lisbon.

Soooo . . . if you don't pay for the non-included excursions, you are in effect--as many of us complained--a hostage! Stuck in a hotel on the Outskirts of Nowhere. If you do plan to go on all the excursions, plan on spending an additional 550-600 euros, and expect some pretty mediocre food at the restaurants on those excursions. I can't see how they think they are saving you any money at all.

As for the excursions themselves, some were great, but some should The tour guide handed out the excursion checklist while we were on the bus and told us we had to choose which ones we wanted to go on and hand it in to him in a few hours. Then he proceeded to sell, sell, sell the excursions like a used-car salesman. One gentleman on the tour said he's been a commission-only salesman for many years, and he'd never seen such aggressive and pushy salesmanship. This was a very common sentiment among the others as well.

The trip I went on with Trafalgar a few years ago was nothing like this. Please do not be confused: Costsaver is NOT Trafalgar. I will never make this mistake again.
Read more

D

Recommends

Outstanding July 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just took a 12 day tour of Italy and I can not rave enough about how much I loved every second of it. My travel director, Franco Falanga was absolutely outstanding. He went above and beyond every chance he got and truthfully found way to make this a trip of a lifetime. I will, without hesitation, use Trafalgar for my future travel adventures.
The Franco Family (my tour group name) will live on forever with smiles on our faces and pure love for everyone in our group (even our beloved driver Vincenzo�)
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

Items 1 to 15 of 10845 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x