10,827 Trafalgar Tour Reviews & Ratings

Trafalgar Tour Reviews & Ratings

10,827 Reviews
4.5 | Great
Excellent 6,651 Great 3,159 Average 737 Disappointing 186 Terrible 94
91% Recommend
Value:
4.5 Guide:
4.5 Activities:
4.5 Lodging:
4.5 Transportation:
4.5 Meals:
4.5

Tour Reviews

N

Does Not Recommend

They are the worst February 2019

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I've never had a travel group cancel a trip before. Trafalgar canceled my honeymoon we booked ages in advance my honeymoon. They didn't even have the decency to call. They sent an email as if this wasn't a stressful enough time for planning. As far as we can tell from their non-direct answers they canceled it due to underbooking. Their solution was to just change to a different trip. I'm not sure if they realize how trip planning or buying plane tickets work. we'll never book with them again.
Read more

I

Does Not Recommend

Superb, especially... November 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The part where Trafalgar sent us with a known sex offender for 2 weeks... https://www.theargus.co.uk/news/16094579.Man_jailed_after_destroying_computer_on_which_he_watched_dog_porn/

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

J

Recommends

Unsafe situation November 2018

1.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I lost all trust in all tour companies after Trafalgar sent us with a known sex offender on a 3 week tour. He is now jailed. I have contacted Trafalgar to at least get an apology, instead I received dismissive replies and now, radio silence. they had scrubbed this guide' social media to distance themselves AND they continue to manage his Facebook profile, changing his profile picture to pretend all is well. This is disgusting. We place our trust in tour companies mostly to be safe at destination. Think twice before using Trafalgar, they don't much care who works for them: https://www.theargus.co.uk/news/16094579.Man_jailed_after_destroying_computer_on_which_he_watched_dog_porn/
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

F

Recommends

Culture shock never felt so good September 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Beer steins, cabarets, sex shops, cows on mountains. This is what people who live in Europe see everyday. Exploring all these cultures in one trip is why I enjoyed our tour so much (aside from our outstanding tour director Brek and amazing driver Ivan). It is a glimpse, so you dont get much time in Amsterdam. Maybe 2.5 hours so I would suggest planning ahead for that. My favorite optionals were the local Switzerland guided horse and carriage tour, and the mount pilatus excursion. Both of which were in Switzerland (I'm Italian and just found Switzerland is my favorite country in Europe). The Caberet optional in paris is expensive, but the show is PERFECT. The Rhine river cruise optional allows you to see almost every important monument in paris while sitting down which is awesome considering it is only a glimpse. Our tour director Brek knew exactly where to stop and at what times it would be best to do so. As soon as we walked off the tour bus to stop and have a look at the Eiffel Tower it literally sparkled. He timed it that way. Anyways, I would take this tour if you're looking for an affordable, stress free, and under 10 day tour.
Read more

S

Does Not Recommend

Buyer Beware: CostSaver is NOT Trafalgar, regardless of how much they like to conflate the two companies! July 2018

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 3.0
If I had never traveled on my own, or never gone on a group tour, or even never gone on a Trafalgar tour before, I might have thought this one was okay. However, I have done all three, and this tour pales in comparison. Even some of my fellow travelers on this trip who've never been on a tour before were a bit taken aback and felt duped by this one. Here's why:

Trafalgar now owns Insight (a higher end group tour company) and Costsaver (a lower end one). Insight Tours doesn't use the name Trafalgar--they don't need to. They hold their own reputation. Costsaver, on the other hand, has the Trafalgar name virtually everywhere . . . letterhead, email addresses, invoices, etc. They are banking on Trafalgar's reputation to prop them up is my guess, as they certainly don't hold their own.

First, they put you in perfectly adequate lodging, but it's in the middle of nowhere, quite literally. Our hotel in Barcelona required two forms of public transportation to reach, and the only thing near it was a gas station. Seriously. Our hotel in Madrid was not even in Madrid; it was in a commercial trucking/warehouse/shipping area and was a 37-euro cab ride each way to Madrid. The hotel clerk said that, other than a bar next door (which proved terrible), there was NOTHING in walking distance. Luckily, the hotel in Lisbon was at a metro stop, so we were able to navigate the public transport and spend some time in Lisbon.

Soooo . . . if you don't pay for the non-included excursions, you are in effect--as many of us complained--a hostage! Stuck in a hotel on the Outskirts of Nowhere. If you do plan to go on all the excursions, plan on spending an additional 550-600 euros, and expect some pretty mediocre food at the restaurants on those excursions. I can't see how they think they are saving you any money at all.

As for the excursions themselves, some were great, but some should The tour guide handed out the excursion checklist while we were on the bus and told us we had to choose which ones we wanted to go on and hand it in to him in a few hours. Then he proceeded to sell, sell, sell the excursions like a used-car salesman. One gentleman on the tour said he's been a commission-only salesman for many years, and he'd never seen such aggressive and pushy salesmanship. This was a very common sentiment among the others as well.

The trip I went on with Trafalgar a few years ago was nothing like this. Please do not be confused: Costsaver is NOT Trafalgar. I will never make this mistake again.
Read more

WT

Does Not Recommend

Honest Feedback as we just got back from our trip June 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 3.0
We give 5 stars to the tour guide, itinerary, attractions and transport. Honestly speaking, the hotels were more of 1 or 2 stars because the misrepresented to us during the booking that it will be 3 or 3.5 stars. The first night, they put us up at the Holiday Inn, Munich which was a first bad impression! It was a run down motel, old and at a remote location. There was no aircon and so difficult to sleep. Overall all the hotels were quite pathetic other than the last night at Munich where they put us up at the Leonardo. Trafalgar/Costsaver need to ensure that they put their groups in hotels that can handle large breakfast groups in the morning. Morning breakfasts at the hotels were a nightmare! The hotels were not equipped to handle tour groups as they could not replenish the food, plates, cups, forks and spoons etc. It was crazy that 47 people in our group had to stand in line at the machine to get their morning cup of coffee or tea! Guess what, we were not the only tour groups there for breakfast! We have decided not to go with Costsaver again but to only go with the Trafalgar tour. We felt very short changed with the run down and poor hotel selection and prefer to pay extra for a better hotel experience and breakfast & meals.
Read more

S

Does Not Recommend

Don’t use them January 2018

2.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 1.0
Six hour bus rides almost daily, spent more time in hotels and bus than sightseeing. Bus driver was good and so was tour director. But they took us to places to try to sell us things and hotels were mostly awful. Except for two which had better bathrooms than any bottled water in the room
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

J

Recommends

Best of Greece December 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This trip took us to exactly the locations we wanted to go, without the hassle of trying to work out how to get there and where to stay. The Be My Guest experience was wonderful, getting off the well- travelled tourist trail for an evening. Our travel director got us to the archaeological sites early so that we were generally able to beat the crowds and the heat of the day, and she had a wealth of knowl due to share with us. The hotels were comfortable but not always in locations that we would have chosen. One of them was out of town so we had to catch a taxi into town at night to look around. The thing that we didn't like the most was the lunch stops - being on a budget, we would have liked the freedom to choose where to buy lunch rather than being delivered to a specific restaurant that was frequented by coaches on most days. A hotel breakfast and then two restaurant meals in a day, every day was a bit much for us.
Read more

R

Recommends

Britain and Ireland Grandeur December 2017

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Although we saw many interesting things, it was often an overview. I believe more time could have been spent at some venues. The time was often pressured e.g in Dublin. We had 2 hours. Queuing to see the book of Kells took some time and that meant the exhibition was rushed when we finally got to it. We then ran to the national Gallery to see an exhibition of Vermeeer paintings. The 2 hours was soon up and no time for lunch. We had to take the bus to the next "optional extra" which was Glendalough. Most of the bus tour felt it was a waste of time. I know it is an historical site, and a very spiritual one. However it is a site of ruins. It took about 3/4 hour to get there and the same back. There was very poor servicing for refreshments. We would rather have spent longer in Dublin so that we could have taken our time and also been able to walk down the pedestrian precinct.
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

C

Recommends

We had a wonderful trip November 2017

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
We had a wonderful trip, The Best of Switzerland! Our tour guide Stephane was fantastic, and our driver Francesco kept us safe travelling through all those winding mountain roads! Switzerland and Italy are truly beautiful countries and on this trafalgar trip we did see all the beautiful highlights! This was a great first trip with Trafalgar , we met many new friends and are Looking forward to traveling with Trafalgar again.
Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

L

Recommends

Best of Egypt November 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Fantastic accommodation, flights and travel . Nile Cruise was top quality experience.

L

Recommends

Best of Spain November 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We truly felt that we saw the highlights of Spain.

M

Recommends

Best of Spain November 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Very busy, really liked the 2 night stays.

C

Recommends

Best of France November 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
France is more than Paris and this itinerary proved it.

G

Recommends

Best of Italy November 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We enjoyed all the places we visited, especially how we got priority as a tour group e.g. admission to the Vatican. Special dinners and venues were great. Quality of hotels was excellent. I have one complaint and that is THE COST OF THE OPTIONAL EXTRAS which are really an important component of the tour add up to a substantial amount by the end of the tour. They should be included as part of the overall tour cost, so that you know what the cost is when you book the tour. There should be ONE total fee at the start when we book the tour. It may be embarrassing if you cannot afford some of the optional extras because you have not budgeted for them. Please consider this suggestion. I will NOT go on another Trafalgar tour because it cost me and my wife an extra 1300 Euros for the optional extras which I believe were essential components of the Tour.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 10827 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!