First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

90,325 Tour & Trip Reviews

90,325
Tour & Trip Reviews 98% Recommend

4.7 out of 5
Excellent 57,539 Great 15,597 Average 2,483 Disappointing 774 Terrible 696
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Tour Reviews

  • Sort By:

J

Recommends

Jordan + Egypt = Such an AMAZING Adventure! May 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
I am super impressed with how Wildland Adventures handled my trip to Jordan & Egypt, the most amazing part might be that they were able to put everything together less than a month before I left. They organized a 6-day trekking trip from Dana to Petra along the Jordan Trail and finished with exploring Petra for two days. The guides, trail, and camps were all incredible! I also can't say enough good things about the Jordanians, they are so welcoming to travelers.

After Jordan, we flew to Cairo and spent 7 days exploring Egypt. I need to start with our guide in Egypt was out of this world, she's been guiding for 35 years and is one of the most knowledgeable guides I have ever met. On top of that, she has such a wonderful personality and is so excited about sharing Egypt with travelers. Our trip started with the Egyptian and then we flew south to Aswan to get on a luxury cruise boat to spend the next three days cruising up the Nile towards Luxor. Each day we did day tours through a new city, I loved traveling like this and we got to see so much. After the cruise, we flew back to Cairo from Luxor and spent the next three days exploring the Cairo area and the Great Pyramids. We saw probably double if not triple what I think most people saw because we had such an amazing guide and the planning of the trip was done so well.

Can't wait for my next adventure!

Cheers,

Jonathan
Read more

Tour Wildland Adventures Company Reviews

t

Does Not Recommend

test May 2018

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
test

Tour Rover Hike

K

Does Not Recommend

Road Scholar Owes My Mom A Huge Apology and Refund. Highly advise AGAINST using them. May 2018

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Let me preface this story with some background about myself: I backpacked through most of Europe by myself when I was studying abroad in Ireland. I suffered through horrendous bus rides, getting kicked out of seats on trains, sleeping in questionable hostels, and going weeks without being able to really do laundry. I know how crappy it can be to actually get from one place to another, and how worth it is to suffer through all of that just to lay eyes on something magnificent.

And yet, Road Scholar has, without a doubt, managed to give me the single worst travel experience I've ever had in my entire life, and we didn't even make it off the ground. I would never, ever, EVER recommend them to anyone looking to go anywhere, and as far as I'm concerned, Road Scholar needs to seriously reconsider their travel-making procedures and give my mother a huge apology and refund. (Also, I'm only in my twenties, so I have a lot of years ahead of me to make referrals.)

It all started with Road Scholar not getting us flights. We claimed our spot on a trip to the Lake region in Northern Italy, but no one ever called us back about any travel arrangements. It appeared we were on the trip IN Italy, but no one had bothered to make any arrangements to get us there. My mother called and left messages, emailed people, and the only response we got was that our flight should be booked at some point in early May (when our trip was set to start on May 22). Road Scholar urges people to book their flights through their preferred travel agency, which is who didn't call us back. Road Scholar, to market themselves as educational tourism rather than shallow "I just want to see things" tourism, partners up with different educational institutions, and ours was through Trinity College. The director of the Italian programs called us asking for our travel information, since she didn't have it yet. Interesting news to us. We were then told that we could make travel arrangements of our own (even though we were paying Road Scholar to do it for us) and then inform the program of our travel plans and how we were getting to our hotel. So we started to investigate making our own plans, when someone finally called us back saying that they were taking care of our travel arrangements, and they "didn't know why we hadn't had them made for us already." The director of the program was happy to hear this, because the Lake region of Italy is not as easily accessible as other areas.

We asked for upgraded seats because my mom has had both of her knees replaced, and while that doesn't inhibit her in the slightest from being active, it limits where she can sit on planes. In a cramped regular economy seat with no leg room on an international flight that was going to last 8-10 hours, she wouldn't have been able to walk off the plane because of how her knees would cramp up. But they said they could make the arrangements (which is also advertised on their website) so that was that. We got our itinerary, accommodations, and were all set. We were booked through United and Lufthansa (neither of which either of us will EVER book through again), so I downloaded the United app onto my iPhone so I could check us in and make sure we had mobile copies of our boarding passes in addition to the paper ones my mom printed out. We were all set to fly from Cincinnati to Washington D.C., from D.C. to Frankfurt, and from Frankfurt down to Verona where we would be meeting up with the group -- which, by the way, we never received any information regarding where the group was meeting, the transportation to the lake resort, etc. Nothing. Just "after you get there" stuff.

Then this morning, I woke up to a notification from United Airlines (and a text message alert that I had set up) saying that our flight to D.C. had been cancelled due to weather. Obviously I'm not blaming Road Scholar for that. What I am holding Road Scholar accountable for is what happened next: my mom called the Emergency Hotline (which is a recording -- and I HIGHLY recommend that they change this, because when I studied abroad, we had two emergency hotlines, both of which were always answered by real human beings, one for anything happening in the United States, and the other for the program, which was a different number for each location and a direct line to one of the program directors on the ground in the country you were actually in). We left a voicemail, someone named Mike called us back, and he was an absolute asshole. When you book your flight through a travel agency/group travel organization, if anything happens to your flight, it is the THEIR responsibility to take care of it. We were told by Road Scholar, and it's available on their website: "When you book your airfare through Road Scholar, we're there to help you in case of any emergencies." When Mike called us back and we told him that our flight to D.C. had been cancelled, he told us that he couldn't look up any other flights (on both United and any other airlines) for us to potentially get on to get to D.C for our transatlantic flight. Instead, he told us to call United ourselves and to go to the airport and talk to the desk agent. I then ended up on the phone (and on hold) the entire drive to the airport, which resulted in nothing because tons of flights had been cancelled due to airline politics and weather. We finally got to the desk agent at the airport, had a hell of a time getting rebooked on another flight, and weren't able to get the upgraded seats that we paid extra money for. When we called Road Scholar and Mike back to ask if during the course of our day when we would be traveling (and unable to make phone calls) he would call Lufthansa to at least make the airline aware of our need for better seating due to my mother's knee replacements, he was unhelpful and rude, at first attempting to refuse calling on our behalf and finally agreeing to, but only after repeatedly telling us "there's no guarantee of those seats" (something we definitely understood because we're not stupid).

Our rebooked flight wasn't set to leave until 7:45 PM tonight, putting us in Verona at 4:05 PM the next day (4 hours after the group transfer to the hotel), so we returned home instead of waiting around the airport for 12 hours. We got on both United and Lufthansa's websites and discovered that not only had our original itineraries not been removed, we had been double booked, one for a flight out of North Carolina to Munich through Delta, and another out of D.C. (the 7:45 PM flight) which had a 23 hour layover in Munich. A call to Road Scholar resulted in us being told that we had to contact the airlines. My mother was on the phone, talking to either United representatives or Lufthansa representatives, from about 9:30 AM to 2:00 PM. We were told we had reservations but no tickets, told we had tickets but couldn't see the numbers, told there were seats available for us to get upgraded to but we would have to try to get the desk agent in D.C. to arrange that for us, told that there was no guarantee we could get those seats, and more. It was incredible the amount of bureaucratic bullshit we had to put up with, especially since each airline wouldn't take any responsibility for us getting the seats we paid for and on a new flight, telling us "we'd have to talk to the other company about that." We finally called Road Scholar to see if there was anything more they could do, who encountered the same mess we already had, and all they did was eventually advise us to go back to the airport (a 45 minute drive) and talk to the desk agent to see IF they could put us in the upgraded seats -- ones we had already paid for and my mom couldn't make the trip without!

Then when asked how they would be getting us to our destination in the Lake region (which is not an easy place to get to, as I looked up the train and bus schedules myself, because - remember - I have tons of experience at this point traveling on the ground across Europe), they wouldn't outright say what our plans would be, which could've been anything from picking us up in the airport in a car, giving us a damn rental to drive ourselves, or simply paying for tickets and expecting us to haul all our luggage from the airport to the shuttle to the train station in Verona, take the 2+ hour train to a town an hour away from our destination, have to catch a bus to the actual town we were supposed to be in, and then walk the rest of the way there. Seeing what all happened, I would bet it would've been the latter, which isn't a problem for someone like me, but is an issue for someone like my mom.

The moral of the story here is that my mom and I shouldn't have had to be on the phone with anyone other than Road Scholar, PERIOD. Seeing as we paid well over $10,000 for this trip, the minute the flight was cancelled, Road Scholar should've called us to let us know that they would be making other arrangements for us to get to our trip in the Lake region of Italy. THEY should've been the ones on the phone, dealing with the airline bureaucrats, working their hardest to get us any combination of flights to get us to Italy in the seats that we paid for. Or, if it really came down to it, they should've made arrangements for us to be on this trip at another point in time, offered us another excursion in its place, or simply given us a refund. Instead, they didn't want to do the jobs that we paid them to do, and we were the ones that had to take time out of our day, which was already scheduled to be a hectic and stressful time because traveling is simply just that, to do Road Scholar's job. They didn't look out for us one single bit and completely and utterly RUINED what was supposed to have been a wonderful trip for me and my mom.

My mother has an adventurous and curious soul and hasn't gotten to go to Europe the way she always wanted to. Since I graduated college, my mother suggested taking a mother-daughter trip. This was supposed to be incredibly special for the both of us, getting to go somewhere new together (I hadn't explored Northern Italy much and that's where we decided to go), learning about the food and the culture, and bonding over all the amazing things we were going to be able to do. I think my mom was even more excited about this trip than I was, voraciously reading all the required/recommended reading, practicing Italian in her room so she could order correctly at restaurants, not giving up when we hit little bumps in the road along the way. Instead, we have been nothing but doubtful at best in the entire planning of this trip, and deeply disappointed and angered at worst. I will never again recommend Road Scholars to anyone looking to go on group trips. Instead, I will steer people away and recommend that they either find a better travel agency, book the trip themselves, or go through Rick Steve's program.

Road Scholar should issue my mother a refund and an apology or risk being sued.
Read more

Tour Road Scholar Company Reviews

SoAaNZ

Does Not Recommend

The trip was awful due to flight cancellations and failure of the contractor to adequately compensate for missed activities and days. May 2018

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 4.0
My wife and I were on the Smithsonian Journeys Splendors of Australia and New Zealand between April 13 and May 2, 2018. Smithsonian is rated by this site as Luxury travel. However, Smithsonian "farms out" the logistics for their trip to Odysseys Unlimited. Odysseys booked within country air travel with the lowest cost air carriers. Flights were cancelled from Ayers Rock to Sydney and from Queenstown New Zealand to Rotorua. Another flight was significantly delayed so that we did not arrive at our Christchurch destination until 2:00 am, making for a really tired next day. Odysseys Unlimited compensated us $400 per person for missing a day in Sydney and paid for an excursion in Auckland for missing Rotorua. This was wholly inadequate, given that these were highlights of the trip. In addition, our tour guide was rude to several people on the trip. If Smithsonian Journeys is truly a luxury travel outfit, as we had believed, then they would not be farming out travel logistics to such a chinch company as Odysseys Unlimited. We will think twice about traveling with Smithsonian again, and so should others.
Read more

Tour Smithsonian Journeys Company Reviews

CB

Recommends

Excelente!! May 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Excelente atendimento recebido pela empresa.

S

Recommends

Great experience of Lantang trek! May 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Lantang valley trek was amazing. Everything was well managed and easy going. Sunrise adventure trek was a wonderful company they make everything was sure and safe. So I would like to come next time with this company for Everest base camp trek. I highly recommend everyone to use this company.
Read more

S

Does Not Recommend

They take advantage of the elderly May 2018

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I had high hopes for Road scholar. However, when I was diagnosed with cancer I got no sympathy from Road Scholar. The agents and management kept saying you should have purchased insurance. But the insurance was extremely expensive and would not have covered the cancellation fee either. I ended up attending anyways because I didn't want to lose my money. I felt sick the entire time and could barely complete the activities. The group leader was wonderful. But the program was very strict and I felt that they over charged for everything. They demonstrated shocking behavior for a non profit that is supposed to be all about education and supporting the elderly. Yet they constantly are sending catalogs and pushing expensive programs. I highly recommend taking your money elsewhere. They do not respect their customers and only care about money. They took advantage of a cancer patient and according to the others on my trip this is common.
Read more

H

Does Not Recommend

A 55 year old American woman that had to urinate on the side of a four-lane highway and Deli because the driver could not find me a toilet April 2018

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Terrible horrible company. I went to India for 2 weeks for New Year's 2017 with my husband and my daughter. I was promised an English-speaking driver that we could have throughout the evening and that he could make dinner recommendations. The driver could not speak English we had him for three cities he did not know where to go in any of them. Our guide in Varanasi was on his cell phone with his children all day everyday. At 4 a.m. we were on a boat to go to the airport were never notified that our flight has been cancelled nor was the hotel notified. We had completely customized Dart trip with company before we left and when we arrived none of the guides knew any of our itinerary or are changes that have been made. Every single day we had to call the company and complain. This could have been very easily fixed on the very first day of our vacation but it was never resolved. I could not believe the amount of time we spent everyday retraining our guides and calling the company.We told Enchanting that my husband had a bad hip and could not walk long distances because the driver did not know the cities we had to walk very long distances and wait over 45 minutes several times for the driver to find us I know there's bad traffic in India put on these particular days and times there was not bad traffic. We were promised elephant bathing and painting experience. When we discussed with the guide what time to leave we insisted that we left earlier to be on time and it's a good thing we did or we would have missed it. Upon arrival we found out it was a ride and dinner there was no painting and no bathing. For 3 hours I told the driver I had to use the bathroom finally he pulled over on the side of a four-lane highway and I had to urinate in public by the side of the road because he could not find a toilet in Delhi! Unbelievable. There is so much more to tell but honestly I'm just so tired of complaining about this horrible terrible crappy company. Do not use them!
Read more

Tour Enchanting Travels Company Reviews

A

Recommends

80% great, 20% a waste of valuable time April 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 2.0
Our guide and group were wonderful. Most of the sites visited fascinating and worth it. I especially loved the visit with the monk and the Hakone Outdoor Art Museum.

It broke my heart that the one day in Tokyo was such a waste of time. Please, taking us to a mediocre mall and a car exhibit, what were you thinking? There should of been two days allotted to that fabulous city to see the real sites. Also, I am an adult and making sushi for four year old was a huge insult and should be skipped at all costs. Also I believe that the trip to Nari should be included as part of the trip and not an optional tour.

Except for breakfasts, the food was cafeteria grade at best and repetitive. You could do better. The best food was that which we picked ourselves.

I would never recommend going in cherry blossom time. There were 80 buses lined up to get into the outdoor sites. Buy a postcard and put it on your wall, or better yet, visit Washington DC. I would recommend this trip if modifications were made.
Read more

L

Recommends

Great trail running adventure April 2018

5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I had been to Skopje once before, where I looked at Mt Vodno and dreamt of doing a trail run up it. Fortunately, Hiking the Balkans managed to get me in touch with Dean, a fantastic running guide who showed me all types of cool paths on the mountain. Dean’s pace and fitness levels were great: we covered 21km and almost 1000m uphill in under three hours (excluding breaks). The views were great and Dean told me lots of fascinating things about the mountain and about Macedonia itself. I’ll definitely be in touch next time I’m in Macedonia and have time for a trail running expedition
Read more

Tour Hiking the Balkans Reviews

F

Recommends

PERFECT TOUR! April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 5.0
After trying many atravel agencies in Quito, let me tell you that Latin Adventures is the best one so far. I booked the Cotopaxi Tour with them and I enjoyed every second. The guide was polite and fun.. and most important he was really patient and stimulating during the hike! That day it was really cold but view breathtaking. Really good thing was to have lunch in a really nice and warm place.
Would reccomend everyone to hike the Cotopaxi and to do it with this agency!
Read more

AL

Does Not Recommend

Terrible experience April 2018

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 1.0
Fantastic advertised company on internet/social media what makes you think you will be going on the trip of a life time. However, the reality is that you are paying a lot of money for a dodgy, unsafe accommodation located in the suburbs. Unfriendly driver and few American highlights. The company offered “professionally-trained tour leader” and free wifi on the van but in my opinion that wasn’t the case. The “tour leader” had very poor knowledge about the places we were visiting and didn’t help me much after I had a thief in the hotel room. I am frequent traveller who consistently use many travel companies along with organising tours on my own and I have never experienced such a poor service. I would have never picked any of Trek America accommodation myself what would have saved me from being robbed and stressed on my holidays. Read all small prints before you decide to go on the trip because as soon as they have your money customer satisfaction & your enjoyable experience doesn’t matter what they have clearly showed after I have raised my concerns upon my return.
Read more

Tour Trek America Company Reviews

A

Recommends

Beyond Perfect! April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I traveled with Carpe Mundo for the Iceland Highlights tour and it was beyond a perfect experience! This was the first time I traveled alone and am so happy I found this small group tour. From the start it was easy to communicate via email leading up to the trip for all the details and answering of my questions. The small group size allowed for us all to experience different special activities as well as adjust on the fly the amount of time we spent at certain locations. We had packed days and I feel like I've seen all of Iceland and then some. All of the accommodations were very nice with spectacular views from the windows. The meals are delicious with breakfast included everyday. Mero is a very knowledgeable guide and even has special surprises planned as well to keep the trip exciting! The trip was smooth and transportation was very comfortable the whole time. Mero makes sure everyone is happy, even if it means driving back and forth to bring everyone to their desired location. I can't wait for my next Carpe Mundo Trip!
Read more

Tour Carpe Mundo Company Reviews

R

Recommends

Great tour April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great adventure for someone who wants a taste of vietnam. Our guide Manh went above and beyond making sure we got the best of everything.

K

Does Not Recommend

Not so good April 2018

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
The guide in Yangshuo was rude and unpolite, and also push us to shop at the local store. Never use China Highlights again!

Items 1 to 15 of 95896 total

Top Tours Tours View All Tours Trips
Beautiful Cuba tour Beautiful Cuba

$ 1,513 8-days trip

Castles And Kilts Summer 2018 tour Castles And Kilts Summer 2018

$ 2,695 10-days trip

Iconic Peru tour Iconic Peru

$ 3,499 14-days trip

Australia Family Adventure tour Australia Family Adventure

$ 7,990 12-days trip

Tours & Operators on Stride Awarded and Featured by:

  • National Geographic, Condé Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure
  • Outside, The New York Times