×
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!

Island Expeditions Reviews

4.8 out of 5

98%

recommend

62 Reviews

Excellent 51 Great 11 Average 0 Disappointing 0 Terrible 0

Rating Details

Value:
4.8 Guide:
4.8 Activities:
4.8 Lodging:
4.8 Transportation:
4.8 Meals:
4.8
  • Sort By:

  • Date

We really enjoyed the kayaking and snorkeling off of Carrie Bow Caye!! Paradise Islands
5.0
December 2016
Recommend: Yes

Our Paradise Islands tour was a superb opportunity to see Belize up close and personal. We were blessed with a small group (3 guests and 1 guide), great weather, easy waters for kayaking and snorkelling. We started in Tobacco Caye Paradise Lodge where Mr Ed and his staff took great care of us with fabulous local food, comfortable cabanas built over the reef so we could sit out on our back deck and watch the rays and fish hover about. Kimike, our guide, had us out kayaking the first afternoon along the barrier reef where we saw large eagle rays and an osprey flying off with a parrot fish in its talons. We paddled over to Tobacco Caye Range, a large mangrove forest, about 2.5 Km away where we encountered cormorants, pelicans by the score, southern rays and ospreys. After Tobacco Caye, we paddle/sailed our kayaks down to South Water Caye and stayed with International Zoological Expeditions where our cabana was situated adjacent to the eastern mangrove forest on the Caye. From our deck we could watch herons carefully hunting for small crabs and lizards. Once again, the staff cooked excellent local meals and are very friendly. We snorkelled off the beach using our kayaks and also paddled over to Carrie Bow Caye where the Smithsonian Institute has a research facility. The managers gave us a tour of the operations and were very informative. Kimike had us paddleboarding that afternoon, teaching us the basics as he demonstrated his skill at yoga on the water! Our last day involved a long paddle down to Billyhawk Caye, weaving in and out of a large mangrove range on the way down, disturbing huge southern rays as we glided over their hollows, listening to ospreys call from their perches and enjoying a great lunch of conch stew, salad and rice at Billyhawk Caye. We gathered our possessions and said goodbye to the kayaks. Our last snorkel was in the reefs near the Bread and Butter Islands, just south of the Caye. The size and variety of the soft coral was astounding along with a profusion of brightly colored fish of all types.
Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
We had a great time last year at Lighthouse Reef on Half Moon Caye and had no qualms about signing up again for a trip to Belize with Island Expeditions. This year we added extra time at Bocawina, Glover's Atoll and Pook's Hill with the IE staff arranging and booking rooms, transfers, local flights.

What was the highlight of your trip?:
We really enjoyed the kayaking and snorkelling off of Carrie Bow Caye where Joan had a chance to swim alongside a huge eagle ray. Night time snorkelling for the first time, where we saw an octopus, rays, channel crabs and conchs. Learning about coconut milk and Belizean rum in combination was delightful!

What would be your advice to potential travellers?:
Be prepared to travel light as all your baggage is going into dry bags and stowed in the kayaks. IE staff will look after your larger baggage in the office while you are out on the water. Bring long sleeved synthetic T shirts and tights for paddling and kayaking to protect against the sun and reduce your need for sunscreen. An infinity scarf can also cover your face and scalp while snorkelling.

Read more
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0

Well organized!! Paradise Islands
4.0
December 2016
Recommend: Yes

We traveled to Belize in Dec to get away from the old north to feel the warm breezes and warm waters of the south. We enjoyed the fresh fruits .Loved the kayaking and snorkeling. It was great fun to watch the stingrays float by in the water from the cabanas. Loved stopping on the reef for lunch before paddling.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
Well organized

What was the highlight of your trip?:
SUP attempts was fun

Read more
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0

Loved the kayaking and snorkeling!! Paradise Islands
4.0
December 2016
Recommend: Yes

We traveled to Belize in December to get away from the cold north , and to feel the warm breeze and warm water. Loved the kayaking and snorkeling The fresh melons and fruit were delicious as we do not get them fresh back home. We could watch the stingrays float by in the mornings from our cabanas. We stopped for lunch on the reef before paddling on.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
Well organized

What was the highlight of your trip?:
Lunch on the reef in the water with our kayaks

Read more
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0

This was one of those trips of a lifetime! Paradise Islands
5.0
December 2016
Recommend: Yes

This was one of those trips of a lifetime, filled with challenges as well as relaxation. The group provided lovely bonding and helping experiences in the blue waters. I would do this again and again and again!

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
I was looking for adventure and found it!

What was the highlight of your trip?:
The kayaking was invigorating and the snorkeling was blissfully serene. I loved the food and the exciting challenges of the life of adventure. Somewhere along the way, I lost the stress in my life. A blissful trip! I must return.

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Jump in! Get wet! Learn something new! Challenge yourself!

Read more
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0

The trip was all that it was advertised and I thoroughly enjoyed everything. Paradise Islands
4.0
December 2016
Recommend: Yes

I have been on several very nice tropical kayaking themed trips over the past few years. I chose Belize this year because of the wide variety of activities and the ability to add extensions. I was not disappointed. The trip was all that it was advertised and I thoroughly enjoyed everything. The paddling great, the snorkeling even better. I tried kayak sailing, which I will do again and SUP, which I'm glad I did but probably won't do again. I'm 70 years old and I think I handled the physical stuff pretty good and never felt any pressure from the guides (or other guests) to keep up. I particularly enjoyed the rain forest extension.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
I love to go on kayak based trips in the middle of winter here, but I am past the stage where I want to sleep on the ground. IE gave me that opportunity in a place I had not been before.

What was the highlight of your trip?:
The snorkeling

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Bring lots of sunscreen

Read more
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0

A great trip. Well organized!! Paradise Islands
5.0
December 2016
Recommend: Yes

A great trip. Well organized. The guides, Omar and Kimike were very professional and knowledgeable. The snorkeling was good and there was lots of variety with the different islands we went to . The food was excellent and plentiful and there were unexpected delights like the night visit to the Belize zoo and a 'coconut' talk by Omar. We had an amazing time. Thanks so much.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
Saw the ad in Outside magazine. I'd always wanted to paddle the Barrier reefs and snorkel and the fact that it was based in B.C. , helped us to decide to choose I.E.

What was the highlight of your trip?:
This is a difficult question to answer since there were so many highlights. The night visit to the Belize zoo was a definite highlight. The experience of paddling and snorkeling and sailing and the great accommodations are all highlights. This trip exceeded my hopes and expectations.

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Follow the packing list suggestions and you will be well-prepared.

Read more
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0

Guides are very interesting sharing!! Paradise Islands
5.0
December 2016
Recommend: Yes

All of the guides were very accommodating and each had a great sense of humor...made the trip fun. All guides were very interesting sharing so much info about Belizian geography, culture, animals and plants. I quickly felt a comfort level with them all.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
I liked the description on the website

What was the highlight of your trip?:
I thoroughly enjoyed all the seafood. I am now crazy for coconut shrimp soup and enjoyed experiencing conch for the first time. I also liked the different juices, especially the cucumber, watermelon and hibiscus juices. Marie Sharp's banana jam rocks!

Read more
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0

This was my first adventure trip. Thank you for a wonderful experience!! Coral Islands SUP with Norm Hann Expeditions
4.0
December 2016
Recommend: Yes

This was my first adventure trip. Thank you for a wonderful experience! The guides (ONeill, Kimike and Capi) are skilled and talented - they shared so much knowledge with us. Their love and respect for Belize, the environment, ocean, reef and marine life was presented so enthusiastically.

I have the up most respect for all three and you are lucky to have them guiding your tours. Both lodges were wonderful and charming, a real Belizean, Caribbean experience! I cannot express what a wonderful team you have. Working with Norm was amazing. Thank you for providing options for me in regards to my seafood allergy - and I loved how we all sat down and ate together as a family. I wish you success with your future SUP lodge to lodge trips.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
My travel companion recommended this trip.

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
To have previous SUP experience!

Read more
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0

Guides are amazingly knowledgeable, funny, interested. Glover's Reef & River of Caves
5.0
December 2016
Recommend: Yes

Guides are amazingly knowledgeable, funny, interested.

Good food that is different every night.
Activities are diverse and top of line interesting.
Glover reef is beautiful, the corals are in good shape.
Tropical Ed. Center was a great place to meet.
The whole organization is very professional.
We highly recommended this trip for children.

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
Spouse did 10 yrs ago and trips seem very interesting

What was the highlight of your trip?:
Meet the local guides

What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Read well what you will be doing in each trip

Read more
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0

We had an extraordinary time at Glover's Reef!! Glover's Reef & River of Caves
5.0
December 2016
Recommend: Yes

We had an extraordinary time at Glover's Reef. We had a seamless transition on this second part of our trip from Lighthouse Reef to Glover's Reef because we left it to the experts at IE! Glover's Reef has excellent patch reefs where we had fantastic snorkeling opportunities. We also enjoyed kayaking, SUP, fishing, Yoga, delicious food and all at a spectacular base camp on the edge of the Reef. What more could you ask for?

Why did you choose to travel with Island Expeditions?:
We love the company. We have done to previous expeditions in 2008 and 2012 that were so well done. Basically you show up at the airport and everything is arranged by IE. They have great connections and you feel so cared for. Amazing people.

What was the highlight of your trip?:
The beautiful Attoles and all the activities: Snorkeling, kayaking, kayak sailing, SUP, Yoga, hammock surfing
What would be your advice to potential travelers?:
Just go!

Read more
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0

Items 1 to 10 of 62 total

 
 

Tours & Operators on Stride Awarded and Featured by: