Stride climate
138 Athens Tour & Trip Reviews

Athens Tour & Trip Reviews

138 Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Excellent 94 Great 34 Average 4 Disappointing 3 Terrible 3
96% Recommend
Value
4.5 Guide
4.5 Activities
4.5 Lodging
4.5 Transportation
4.5 Meals
4.5

Tour Reviews

B

Does Not Recommend

DO NOT TRAVEL WITH EF ULTIMATE BREAK May 2019

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
DO NOT TRAVEL WITH EF ULTIMATE BREAK. They do not value returning customers, they will not help you if your trip goes awry. I am really disappointed in this agency and how they handled my request for a partial refund for my trip due to things I missed because of their negligence. I just went on the Greek island getaway tour with them and spent $3000 to not get to visit the Parthenon and the acropolis when that was one of the most important things I was looking forward to. I tried to plan it on my own around the itinerary but was reassured we would visit it and we didn’t. Their customer service is awful and they don’t care whether you’ve been a customer for years. The whole trip was a disaster and they do not show any empathy for you. If you want to visit Greece you are better off planning it yourself. Don’t book with them.
Read more

J

Recommends

Such a Wonderful Company November 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This is such a professional and caring company. They are a great example why it's best to deal with real people instead of internet searches. I booked a condo on Tripadvisor for a month in Greece and found out about a week later that they had double booked and I was out of luck. But not really out of luck--a friend turned me to Wingbuddy and, considering the various curves our party of four threw at them (leaving from and returning to different cities, changing our minds, etc.), they proved to be patient, organized and reliable! They have an equally amazing partner in Greece called Courmouzis Travel. I had my passport stolen on the plane from Montreal and so was detained at the airport for a day. They did not miss a beat in providing logistics for me separate from the rest of the larger group to get me a new shuttle and ferry ticket. And when we did not like one of our accommodations, they immediately changed us the same day to a very acceptable alternative. I needed to extend my stay in Athens and they were kind enough to arrange their special pricing for me at the very nice Jason Hotel. I cannot say enough great things about them, but I do thank both Wingbuddy and Courmouzis in my most sincere way,
Read more

A

Recommends

Evia - a true gem on the second largest Greek island (who knew?) October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just an hour away from the port of Rafina is the unspoilt island of Evia. A
really lovely destination for walkers and Greek island hoppers alike.
The final day's walk is long but a nice end to the trip. Meeting some of the
proud Evia residents was inspirational, very versatile and industrious people
from the hotelier who has a farm and makes the cheese at breakfast, to the
fisherman who not only fishes but rescues animals, and the lady who hosts
jazz and music festivals at the local historic vineyard estate.


Cecile was great, calm and collected, just the right balance.


It is rough enough terrain with a lot of undergrowth on the hills, so bring
long trousers and some antiseptic creams.
Walking poles aren't mandatory but I would recommend them.


Go, you will be surprised how lovely it all is.


Read more

A

Recommends

Great Trip! October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Excellent trip. A nice combination of historical sites and cycling. Our local
guides offered to provide guidance for the evening meals so the culinary
experience was also top notch.

The two guides were both very passionate about sharing their history and
culture. I can’t say enough good things about Dimitris Steriotis and
Dimitris Gotsis.
It is literally hard to pick as there were three categories of highlights:

Favourite site: the theatre at Epidarous

Cycling: the km downhill stretch into the pistachio orchard

Meal: Petite Planette

Other fav: swimming in the Aegean Sea


Both group leader and support driver were excellent. Dimitris and Dimitris
were a good team that worked well together.


Be open to eating with group. Do some long rides with uphill before you go.

Prepare to enjoy yourself.


Excellent trip, thanks very much.


Read more

A

Recommends

Awesome trip October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our guides were great. They shared their passion for Greek History, Greek
culture, Greek food and cycling.
When I was able to ride down switchbacks and think that it was fun, rather
than terrifying!


I found both Dimitris ‘ to be very supportive. I am a relatively new
cyclist and they helped me get more comfortable with many aspects of cycling.


Don’t be shy about sharing your meals! The guides picked well, the food
was terrific and the cost was reasonable. We got to taste many dishes this
way!


I think it would be terrific if Exodus could organize cycling jerseys for
sale to participants, that symbolize Greece in some way. That would be s
great souvenir for me.


Read more

A

Recommends

Brilliant trip in beautiful Greece October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
A brilliant trip from start to finish. The cycling is a nice mix of
countryside, coastal and a few hills thrown in. You also get to see Greece
away from hustle of tourists. The cycling is all on mostly quiet roads and
through a couple of towns although you're not on any busy roads for more than
a few minutes. The food is also excellent, and you also get some excellent
local knowledge on just about everything from Greek mythology to which is the
best Olive oil to buy to take home. I highly recommend this trip.
Seeing the Acropolis on the final day is very special, but just cycling
around the amazing coastline and hills of the Peloponnese and taking in the
colourful Greek history.


The leaders were outstanding. Dimitris, Dimitris and Niovi. Nothing was too
much trouble for them and they worked very well as a team looking after the
group. The trip ran smoothly and without a hitch, the food they provided was
excellent and they just took care of everything - I could not fault them in
any way.


Make sure you take swim wear as most afternoons you'll be able to take a swim
in the sea after your day in the saddle.


Read more

A

Recommends

Cycling in Greece October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Fabulous trip from start to finish. Both guides, Dimitris Steriotis (bike
leader), and Dimitris Gotsis (van support), were wonderful. They couldn't do
enough to make our trip a special, fun, and very interesting. The culture,
historical locations, food, and new friendships were everything I had hoped
for. The trip exceeded my expectations. The entire group were wonderful
traveling companions, which only enhanced the experience.
Ascending to the entrance of the Acropolis and getting my first views of the
Parthenon.


Combined professionalism with a friendly attitude. Both guides were terrific!


Make sure you visit the National Archeological Museum next to hotel. I came
in a day early to do this. It's worth it. Also, get in shape for some hill
climbs. The ride encounters some fairly challenging hills, but with some
moderate conditioning, it's not a bad ride at all.


Go and have an adventure!


Read more

A

Recommends

Cycling in Greece October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The guides were fabulous , the group fun and the adventure grand.
The antiquities


Both guides, both Dimitris's were great. They were knowledgeable engaging
and did a many things that made the trip more of an adventure and and an
experience I will never forget


Our group chose to share dinners. This allow us to share our day's
experience , get to know one another and eat more great food.


Read more

A

Recommends

Cycling in Greece October 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
All accommodations were excellent
Bikes were in good condition, two flat tires reported the entire trip.
Some group members thought they were to heavy.
Snacks and meals were delicious, a good selection of Greek foods.
Side excursions good as well
Personally I loved Poros island, the dinner we had on the seafront, with the
sunset, and our toes in the sand❤️


Our guide was great (Niovi), she was always smiling and cheerful, she was
able to turn us into a relaxed cohesive group.
We had lots of laughs.


Be aware of the climate when you are planning to travel. Our trip was mid
September and we rode in temperatures in the mid 30C.


Because it was very warm by 10am, it would have been a more pleasant cycle to
start earlier in the morning when possible.


Read more

A

Recommends

Cycling In Greece October 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
This was our first trip with Exodus Travels and to Greece. This was an
excellent way to really see the countryside of Greece. We went to many local
places that your average tour bus trips would not go. We had a larger group
of 16 people so we were fortunate to have two fantastic guides (Niovi and
Demitrius) as well as a wonderful driver. (Also named Demetrius) This trip
is highly recommended if you want to see more of the local culture of Greece.
My only suggestion is to definitely upgrade the quality of bikes used on this
trip. On our last day of the trip my husband had a small medical emergency.
Niovi helped us handle this situation with complete professionalism and ease.
She helped us locate a private doctor in Athens (on a Saturday!) stayed with
us, and helped with translation with the doctor. We both will be forever
grateful for her assistance!
We loved visiting the ancient Theater of Epidarus as well as being able to
visit a local organic vineyard and see the production in action, as well as
sample some fantastic wine! Also, just some of the breathtaking views of the
ocean from our hotel room.


As I have mentioned above I cannot say enough good things about our lead
guide, Niovi. She went beyond her job duties to help us in a stressful time
of need. She was very personable and tried to met all the needs of our group
members which is a difficult task with 16 people!


Please make sure you read the travel description of this trip and that you
are physically able to ride a bike at least 25-35 miles comfortably and can
climb hills. This trip is described as a moderate difficulty level and if you
are not as fit as you should be then request an ebike so you can fully
participate.


Exceptional trip with many opportunities to learn about the history and
culture of Greece.


Read more

P

Does Not Recommend

BEWARE OF WINGBUDDY!!!! September 2018

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
BEWARE- WINGBUDDY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND DISSAPEAR. THEY WILL NOT RESPOND TO CUSTOMERS IN EMERGENCY SITUATIONS!!
My parents booked a vacation to Greece through Wingbuddy and unfortunately for them, due to poor weather conditions the ferry from Santorini to Athens was not in service. When they tried to contact their service provider Wingbuddy, (whom they paid a significant premium to book through) to find out where they were going to stay the additional night in Santorini and how they were going to get home, as they needed to return to Athens to catch their flight back to Toronto, they were unable to reach a representative. Despite numerous attempts to contact the emergency line that was provided to them prior to their trip- NO ONE RESPONDED OR GOT BACK TO THEM. As you can imagine they are in quite a panic, being in an international country, unsure if there is even enough capacity to stay another night in the hotel, or if they will make it back to Athens in time to catch their flight home. They were able to get a hold of their airline, who advised them that in the event that they missed their flight, they would need to repurchase the next flight out, with an estimated cost of $2,000-$4,000 per person. WINGBUDDY IS A DISGUSTING PROVIDER. THEY TOOK THEIR MONEY WITHOUT PROVIDING A FULL SERVICE AND WERE NOT AVAILABLE TO ASSIST IN AN EMERGENCY. I've since tried to call their office on my end, and I have not been able to get a hold of a representative, nor has anyone reached out to me/gotten back to me. Buyers, beware, WINGBUDDY IS TERRIBLE.

Additionally, they claim to set you up in 3-4.5 star hotels in Greece but this is not accurate. Completely dishonest and disgusting service.
Read more

S

Does Not Recommend

Terrible September 2018

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
If I could leave zero stars I would. The ONLY thing that made this trip worth booking through affordable world was that we didn't have to worry about transportation. But wait, we did! I booked the Greece trip through them. It was 10 days from Athens, mykonos, santorini. Unfortunately two of our first days were completely travel days because our first layover was delayed which caused us to miss both flights and be stuck at both airports for 5+ hours each one. I knew ahead of time and notified affordable world because as their policy states, they can't do anything if anflight is delayed but will do their best to accommodate of we notify them ahead of time, which I did. When I did I was told to notify them when I got to next destination (Turkey). I said I wouldn't have service in Turkey and that is why I'm notifying them now. The representative ignored me and just said to see what happens. We ended up getting to our hotel at 4am when we had to be up at 6am for our tour of Athens. Our tour guide skipped several spots on the tour and left us to fend for ourselves to get back to hotel when we had no map or WiFi. Then on our ferries, I upgraded each one to VIP as I read many reviews that said to do so, and my husband and I were seated on the opposite side of the boat from each other! In what world does that make sense when you need to book it for two people on the first place that you don't even get seats next to each other on top of paying more for VIP?!?! This happened on EACH of the three ferries! Now affordable world ignores my messages and won't respond with anything other than they are sorry but it's not their fault. Please do yourself a favor and book with a more reputable company like gate 1 travel!
Read more

J

Recommends

AMAZING Spectacular Greece August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This tour of Greece was AMAZING! We returned 2 weeks ago and my heart still skips a beat when I look at our pictures. Granville was personable, great at making sure we got where we needed to go, and shared stories that made the places we visited come alive. You could tell the country and people of Greece touch his heart. The local guides that met us at various points were delightful. Two in particular were Fuelia at Ephesus and Susie on the island of Patmos. The staff on the cruise ship were kind, efficient, helpful and tireless! The tour of the islands offered a postcard picture opportunity at every turn and the people of the islands were warm and welcoming. For the second half of the tour we were blessed with the WEALTH of knowledge that was Kassandra Porioti. Her vast and varied comprehension of the historical sights we visited was astounding. She knew backstories and dates like the back of her hand and as a bonus she took us to wonderfully scenic and quaint coffee stops along the way and recommended the BEST restaurants in each town.We LOVED our time in Greece, and wouldn't hesitate to go with smarTours again. In fact, even though it was our first tour, several of the people in our group had been on MANY trips with smarTours all over the world, which was a huge compliment to the standards of the company.Thank you, thank you. We are forever grateful for this opportunity.
Read more

A

Recommends

Our first Exodus trip, but it won't be the last.......... August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
A great first trip, Cecile the group leader was excellent. Competent, calm,
interested. A different type of walking each day. From hot up & down treks to
ancient roman quarries to beautiful ridge walks with quiet, unspoilt gorge
walks in between. Not sure I would describe it as "leisurely" - think
moderate is more accurate.
The second day's Ridge walk, great views, lovely breeze to counteract the
heat.


Interesting, warm, not overbearing.


Wear lighter walking boots- ankle support useful, but leather boots too hot!


Read more

A

Recommends

Mountains of Evia August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Two days walking mountains.
Two days walking gorges.
One coastal walk.
One day in Athens.
I can’t pick out a best day there were a variety of days, all different,
all good.
I particularly enjoyed Athens as I had never been there before and it was so
different to the other days.


Very good. He was there for Breakfast, led us through our walks and took meal
orders and served drinks in the Restaurants we visited in the evening. He was
always still there when I went to bed.
When did he sleep??


If the programme remains the same the first two days are the toughest with
two mountain walks. Everybody agreed that these walks would have been better
on the last two days when we had acclimatised.
Walking boots definitely required and plenty of water, all the islands
springs provide drinkable water.


Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 834 total

Top Athens Tours View All Athens Trips
The Greece - Nafplio Untour

$ 869 7-days trip

Best of Greece in 10 days

 NA 10-days trip

Cyclades Islands Adventure tour Cyclades Islands Adventure

$ 1,232 7-days trip

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x