1,227 Morocco Tour & Trip Reviews

Morocco Tour & Trip Reviews

1,227 Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Excellent 747 Great 384 Average 75 Disappointing 13 Terrible 8
96% Recommend
Value
4.5 Guide
4.5 Activities
4.5 Lodging
4.5 Transportation
4.5 Meals
4.5

Editor’s Take

Things to Look Out For in Morocco Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

Most Morocco reviews are positive, in the 4-5 star range and consistently comment on the benefit of having a knowledgeable guide. Guides that could really dive into the historical and cultural significance of various sites, as well as help provide a local point of view received high marks.

With regard to service level and accommodation, it’s important to be very clear about what to expect. Most tours in Morocco are in the basic - value range, with a few more high end tours available. Accommodation style and service level may take some adjusting to - don’t expect a 5 star hotel with a lot of extra amenities.

You will most likely encounter very basic lodging in Morocco. Many negative Morocco reviews do focus on the accommodation as a key component to their less than stellar experience in Morocco. However if you’re the kind of traveler for whom a bed and running water (not always hot!) is sufficient and actually adds to the adventure, you would most likely view the experience in a much more positive light.

Morocco travel itineraries can tend to feel a bit stretched, particularly those that also include Spain, which is very common given their proximity to each other geographically and culturally. Negatives reviews for Morocco often comment on the tour trying to cram too much in. Additionally many felt that while the tour covered a lot of ground, the time allotted for in depth sightseeing was cut very short.

If you want a professional take on traveling in Morocco, see the Stride Travel Morocco Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

A

Recommends

Mt Toubkal Climb 7 day trek October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have a wonderful time met some amazing people and shared the adventure of a
lifetime. I would have no hesitation in recommending this holiday to anyone
who loves hiking/trekking
Getting to the summit


Mohamed Idali was a very well informed local guide from the Berber community
who spoke good English. His extensive knowledge of the High Atlas put
everyone’s mind at rest whilst in remote areas.


Drink lots of water to prevent altitude sickness


Get a good pair of walking boots


Read more

A

Recommends

atlas panorama October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I really enjoyed my visit to Morocco.On our 1st day a few of us visited the
Jardin Marjorelle which was just up the road from the hotel. It was lovely
and peaceful after our journey to the airport that morning.There is an
interesting Berber museum there as well.
2nd day we had a guide who took us to explore Marrakech. Very colourful and
interesting. We then travelled to the village on the 3rd day.
The next few days were spent at the riad which was basic but fine. The next
3 days we spent trekking. We had wonderful views and we were provided with a
delicious picnic each day transported on donkeys.The walking was not that
difficult and the pace was leisurely.
I think the walk round the village was really interesting. The way of life is
simple and everyone seemed happy. I just wonder how much longer it would last
but our guide assured us it would remain unchanged.


Hassan was very good. He knew all the footpaths and stopped to point out
anything of interest. He was also very interesting to talk to.


Bring walking boots with good soles as the paths are rocky. A pole could also
be useful.


As a vegetarian I was a bit worried about food but there was ample vegetarian
food. Not as spicy as I would have liked.Also be prepared for long wait at
passport control both arriving and departing. Also a wait to get into the
airport on departure due to bag checks.


Read more

A

Recommends

Fantastic trip to the Atlas Mountains! October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The Atlas Panorama trip was just incredible. We had the chance to explore
Marrakesh, with a tour guide to take us to the most beautiful sights and
guide us around the markets. We then travelled into the mountains and stayed
in the most hospitable village home, with wonderful fresh food provided each
day, an expert guide and lots of breath-taking views.

I definitely would recommend this trip!
Walking through the mountains on our longest hike and then swimming in a
beautiful lake in the middle of glorious views -magic!


Hassan was professional, polite and friendly - an absolute gem.


Take enough money for tips and extras! And it's a great trip if you like both
culture and hiking.


Read more

A

Recommends

Atlas Peaks and Valleys October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was a very good trek. Sadly had to miss out the most remote 4000m peak
due to weather, but our guide did a great re-route. This is a good mix of
trek and exposure to Berber culture.
I enjoyed being with the group, but also enjoyed at the day's end taking a
bit of time to sit and savour the views alone.


I can't speak highly enough of our Berber group leader. A highly capable
mountain leader who shared his culture with us, and was extremely thoughtful
towards all members of the group.


Brace yourself for drop toilets and sometimes unhygienic toilet conditions.
Take t roll and sanitiser.
Take a few of your favourite snack bars for the longer trek days.
Take it steady at altitude. Be fit enough for 8 hours hill-walking in the UK
without being exhausted and you'll be okay on this one.
Can drop close to zero at higher camps at night - equip accordingly.


Read more

A

Recommends

Superb trekking in the Atlas Mountains October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
An energetic trekking holiday through the High Atlas with summits of Toubkal
and Ouanoukrim as the ultimate goals.
We enjoyed all of the trekking, but the climbs to both Toubkal and Ouanoukrim
(in fair weather) were especially rewarding and enjoyable. We also enjoyed
passing through Berber villages, along with the hospitality of several
families who invited us for tea.


I see from other reviews that this trip has very highly reviewed leaders, and
our trek was no different. Youssef was a terrific leader - one of the best
we have had on any trek. Calm, engaging, unruffled, yet authoritative when
it mattered. Youssef is a young man with a great future, and he is a credit
to both Exodus and his country. We particularly appreciated the pace he
set, which served to both keep the group together whilst also allowing us to
make good progress. Other leaders could learn a lot from this approach.


In September the weather can vary widely - we experienced very hot
conditions, storms, driving hail, torrential rains, cold nights in the
mountains etc etc, so come prepared. We’d also recommend you bring a
Thermarest as the provided mattresses are dirty and thin. The food is
excellent - no real need for snacks (the local trail mix is superb!).


Read more

A

Recommends

Amazing October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My daughter asked me to join her on this trip in preparation for her trek to
Everest Base Camp.
It was hard but amazing in equal measure and I’m so glad I did it!
Keeping positive and being part of a great team are key to completing the
trek.
The sense of pride at reaching the summit was immense. Having not had much
sleep the previous few nights and then the unexpected heavy snow made the
achievement even more worthwhile.
If you are lucky to get a clear sky at the top, like we were, the views are
breathtaking.


Lahcen was fantastic - patient and kind and we felt completely safe with him.
We had a 2nd guide, Mohammed, at the back of our team of 8 on the summit day
who was equally great.


It took us 6hrs (with breaks) on the 1st day to get to the Refuge. It felt
like we would never get there!
Due to the unexpected snow we were given crampons at the Refuge but
thankfully it wasn’t icy so we didn’t need them.
The timings of the summit day were longer than the itinerary suggested so I
began to have doubts but dug deep and made it!
We got up at 3am, left at 4 and reached the summit at 8. Magnificent
Read more

A

Recommends

Mount Toubkal 2018 October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The trip was well organised and everything went to plan. The travel and trek
information and description was informative and correct. There were no
unpleasant surprises.
I would personally rate the trek a 6 in difficulty due to the 8 hour trek on
the first day and the 13 hour trek on summit day as well as the snow we
encountered 700metres from the summit.
I would also like to say just how good our tour guide Larchen was. He was
very friendly and extremely helpful and professional in every way. This
really helped the actual trek run smoothly and made it so enjoyable
Reaching the summit, a magical moment.


As stated above, Very very good.


Yes. Be prepared for very changeable weather, hot weather at the foot of the
mountain, heavy rain and cold and snow on route to the summit during
September.
The Refuge will be very very basic, with no heating and limited power for
lighting


No


Read more

A

Recommends

Mount Toubaki October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We love this experience, it was challenging however so insightful to be
immersed into another culture and to experience a trek through the Atlas
Mountains.
Making it to base camp


Fantastic


Be prepared for night time climbing


Read more

A

Recommends

Feedback October 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Good trip, well organised and followed schedule as planned. Accommodation
functional, clean and as described. I'm vegetarian and food could have been
better, adding a few pulses to the dishes of a few vegetables would have
been easy to do and been helpful.
.


Hussan was excellent - really experienced , polite and helpful. He dealt
with a difficult and potentially dangerous situation on the hiking with
confidence and skill. Thank you.


Respect the mountains - none of our group expected huge storms, torrential
rain and flash floods. Be prepared for all weathers


A big thank you to our guide


Read more

A

Recommends

Favourite Exodus Trip October 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Probably the best Exodus walking trip I have been on; incredibly well
organised and paced, and a wonderful contrast between the very different
delights of Marrakech and the Atlas Mountains.
The final long walk to the lake and back is gruelling but well worth it, the
scenery is stunning, virtually not another person to be seen on the way, and
the chance for a swim and a hot meal among the mountains when you reach the
lake!

Perhaps not inspirational, but sitting back with a drink in one of the
rooftop bars in Marrakech looking at the view is very pleasant.


Hassan is friendly and very knowledgeable of the area, mountains and people.
As I said, the organisation of the trip was fantastic; there is an awful lot
that could have gone wrong with this, but everything was seamless.


I was a bit apprehensive about visiting Morocco in August; the heat in
Marrakech was intense but actually you get used to it after a couple of
hours. There is more of a cooling breeze in the mountains and on each day
there was a late afternoon thunderstorm (one very heavy), so don't ignore the
advice to bring waterproofs!

The gite at Tighza is very atmospheric and a lot more comfortable and
well-equipped than I had expected, it's pretty much like staying in a hotel.


The first walking trip I've done outside my European comfort zone, and glad I
did!


Read more

A

Recommends

Peaks & Valleys Of The High Atlas October 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I enjoyed this trip immensely.
Just the right level of challenging.
A great fun mixed group of people who all encouraged each other through the
trip
There were a number of inspirational moments - the views are breath-taking,
how the Berber people live was so far removed from the day-to-day life we
expect - no electricity or running water, almost inspiring myself by how I
could actually sleep in tents and achieve the high altitude climbs


Omar was excellent, his knowledge of the mountains extensive.
I do feel as though he could have done with more support - ie a back marker.
We did have one issue where a member of our trip became ill. It was thought
to be mountain sickness - however this particular member was an experienced
trekker and climber and knew his illness wasn’t that. They ended up paying
a passing guy with a mule to get him to the refuge where that evening, he
arranged for a taxi to Marrakech. He had to have stents in Marrakech as a
result.
I gel that had we had a back marker - that person could have got him to
Marrakech sooner, or had Omar had a satellite phone -there could have been a
quicker result. As it was it fortunately turned out ok in the end.


Make sure you take plenty of snacks.
The food is good, but it’s amazing how much energy you use, and whilst camp
food is also good, it can’t help but feel a little repetitive by the end of
the trip. Food is fuel on these trips.
Insurance - given the experience of a member of our trip. Make sure you have
the correct travel insurance.
Walking poles a necessity - a couple of members of our group didn’t bring
them. I would suggest they are a necessity.


Read more

A

Recommends

Camels in a sandstorm October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
A relaxing and very enjoyable adventure. First day of camel trecking was
enhanced by a terrific sandstorm, followed by torrential rain that fell
whilst we were sleeping outside in the Sahara desert. The guide said we
needed scarfs to protect us if there was sand storms and we needed them
(although at first I thought they were making fun of the travellers).
Having what some would call bad weather, which made the experience more of an
adventure. Spending time gelling with the group. Spiritual drinks. The Haman.


Abdul the 1st was very knowledgeable and took time to speak to all members of
the group. Was also helpful when mine and another member of the groups bags
broke.


Take a scarf at least 2 meters in length.


No.


Read more

A

Recommends

Magnificent Morocco October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
What an exciting adventure my trip to Morocco was with nearly everyday a new
city/town to visit in just over two week period. I thoroughly enjoyed the
culture past and present, the historical buildings, the vast landscape and
the many people along the way.
The fact that I got on and managed to stay and hold on for a camel ride of 1
1/2 hours to our Sahara camp. Seriously, the late afternoon, early evening
thunderstorm in the Sahara desert was a wonderful sight to behold and one I
won't forget. The next morning the shades of the orange sand with the
different levels of moisture from the rain overnight were truly beautiful.


Mohammed was a good leader for our trip. He was well organized and phoned
ahead for our meals and reservations in advance. He was very knowledgeable
about the places we went to and he also subcontracted to local guides so we
got a more personable experience. On several occasions, he purchased extra
water to supplement our supply, which was of great benefit. I particularly
enjoyed the personal touches he made by our group having dinner with a local
family and tea with other families in other towns, so we got an up close
personal feel to our trip, which made it very memorable.


I would like to recommend to potential travelers that they purchase and drink
plenty of water to keep hydrated while on the trip as the temperature in
Morocco was anywhere from 35-42 degrees in August. Wear a floppy hat and
definitely apply sun cream regularly too.


I would like to suggest that potential travelers make sure they have enough
money as the medina with the souks (shops) with all the things you could buy
are really tempting and you need to make sure you have enough money for food
and tips later on.


Read more

A

Recommends

Enlightening Tour of Morocco! October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the trip. Thought it was well organised.
Riding through the dunes on a camel!
Staying in Kasbah Oliver and exploring the village and community in the Atlas


Mohammed is a brilliant guide. He is very well informed, imparts his
knowledge effectively and with enthusiasm and is always happy to explain
anything whether to do with the culture or the practical arrangements of the
trip. His commitment to us travellers was evident, all details were
carefully planned and executed and it is plain that for Mohammed being a
guide is more than a job. Overall he gave us a wide perspective and
understanding of the people and culture of his country and we travellers have
all come back enriched as a result.


If travelling in the Spring, make sure to bring warm clothes for the desert
and, just in case, elsewhere!


Read more

A

Recommends

An unforgettable trip to a great country - Morocco - I will return! October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Although there was a lot of travel in the week, it meant we saw, and
experienced much more of Morocco - a special country. It was such an
enjoyable holiday, and I truly relaxed! The itinerary was well planned so
that we did not get caught up in the big tour groups at busy times of day.
The highlights were the camel ride and camp in the desert, and the stay in
the gite/hostel in the mountains (including the hammam!). The scenery was
beautiful and peaceful.


Abdelhadi was a fantastic group leader - very knowledge and enthusiastic. He
developed a great rapport with the group, which made the trip so enjoyable.
I travelled on my own and the group dynamic to which he contributed, made me
feel welcome, and never alone.


In Marrakesh, visit the Jardin Majorelle - but arrive before 9 am to miss the
crowds. Don't miss the Berber museum there - it was a real gem!


Thank you Exodus!


Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 1227 total

Top Morocco Tours View All Morocco Trips
Majestic Morocco

$ 2,599 13-days trip

Complete Morocco Explorer tour Complete Morocco Explorer

$ 4,369 15-days trip

Riads and Kasbahs of Morocco tour Riads and Kasbahs of Morocco

$ 2,060 15-days trip

Morocco: Sahara & Beyond tour Morocco: Sahara & Beyond

$ 3,199 15-days trip

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!