First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

645 Morocco Tour & Trip Reviews

645
Morocco Tour & Trip Reviews 99% Recommend

4.6 out of 5
Excellent 1,266 Great 589 Average 71 Disappointing 14 Terrible 7
Value
4.6 Guide
4.6 Activities
4.6 Lodging
4.6 Transportation
4.6 Meals
4.6

Tour Reviews

  • Sort By:

S

Does Not Recommend

Don’t use them January 2018

2.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 1.0
Six hour bus rides almost daily, spent more time in hotels and bus than sightseeing. Bus driver was good and so was tour director. But they took us to places to try to sell us things and hotels were mostly awful. Except for two which had better bathrooms than any bottled water in the room
Read more

J

Recommends

Awesome experience. January 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
It's one of the best tours I've done during my travels. Morocco is full of history and culture, what made this tour a great experience for me was our guide Abdul, before we went on the tour I had heard so much about him, he's great full of knowledge and pretty funny I may say. Sleeping under the stars in Sahara desert was amazing, we stayed in a camp for two nights. I've recommended this tour to all my friends and everyone.
Read more

B

Does Not Recommend

One of the worst tours I've ever been on. November 2017

1.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
One of the worst tours I've ever been on. My guide Mustapha was not detail oriented and he kept making errors. I've been on Intrepid tours where the group size was a maximum of 12 but on the Best of Morocco the group size was 16. We were squeezed into a small, uncomfortable minivan for most of the trip. I submitted my negative review on Intrepid's website several weeks ago but it has yet to be published on the website. I tried to follow up with an email but it was ignored. This really makes me wonder about Intrepid's overall review score of 4.8 for the trip. If Intrepid excludes negative reviews then its ratings system is suspect and I wouldn't trust any of the ratings on their website.
Read more

B

Does Not Recommend

One of the worst tours I've ever been on. November 2017

1.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
One of the worst tours I've ever been on. My guide Mustapha was not detail oriented and he kept making errors. I've been on Intrepid tours where the group size was a maximum of 12 but on the Best of Morocco the group size was 16. We were squeezed into a small, uncomfortable minivan for most of the trip. I submitted my negative review on Intrepid's website several weeks ago but it has yet to be published on the website. I tried to follow up with an email but it was ignored. This really makes me wonder about Intrepid's overall review score of 4.8 for the trip. If Intrepid excludes negative reviews then its ratings system is suspect and I wouldn't trust any of the ratings on their website.
Read more

A

Does Not Recommend

Make your own Morocco tour!! November 2017

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
Intrepid Travel – Morocco Uncovered 13 days tour (Oct. 2017)

I like to read reviews before choosing a tour. Intrepid lists details of the itinerary for “Morocco Uncovered,” but doesn’t say much about the accommodations and restaurants for this trip. I’ll focus mostly on those. I hope it helps those of you who are considering taking this tour. I want to help everyone have a great time when they travel.

DAY 1: Casablanca
Included Activities • Complimentary Airport Arrival Transfer

First, be sure to re-confirm your pick-up. Mine worked out fine. But, others in my group had issues. We got together at 6 p.m. for a group meeting. We briefly went over the tour itinerary, filled out forms for travel insurance, next of kin, etc…choosing between local tour guides’ tip of 300 dh, or tip plus daily bottled water for 350dh. It was a no brainer, my group all agreed on the 350 dh to save the trouble of having to keep purchasing water. Though, we would still have to purchase water bottles locally if the tour minivan wasn’t around or at overnight accommodations.

TIP: Plan in advance by bringing a wide-neck 1-liter water bottle that can be re-filled.

Dinner: Not part of the regular itinerary so you paid on your own. The group leader took us to “Restaurant des Fleurs” (very close to hotel). We saw several tour groups eating there also.

Accommodation: Hotel Les Saisons at Casablanca.

DAY 2: Casablanca-Rabat- Meknes
Included Activities
• Casablanca - Guided Tour of Hassan II Mosque
• Chellah
• Kasbah Les Oudayas Rat

Lunch: On your own. Group leader took us to “Pizza Capri”. That’s a common choice for tour groups.

Dinner: On your own. Tour leader recommended an obscure restaurant (no name on its glass door). We were told you had to pre-select your meal or wait for 40 minutes for the food to be served. So, 8 people in our group chose the dinner meal while minibus drove us to Meknes. My groupmates were the only customers sitting in the Café Restaurant Camprinoss (I asked for their card after meal). The café substituted goat/lamb tagine for my order of beef tagine without informing me. Since the cafe is so small and empty, I doubt they even had beef in their kitchen.

Lesson learned – Write down details of any diet/food restrictions for Intrepid if you have to be certain you’re getting what you order for health/allergy reasons.

TIP: Meknes is the 6th largest city by population, so there are plenty of restaurant options. You may want to ask the group leader for the name of his suggested restaurant before committing.

Accommodation: Hotel Oasis Tafilalet at Meknes.

DAY 3: Meknes-Volubilis-Chefchaouen
Included Activities
• Guided walking tour - Meknes
• Entrance and guided tour Volubilis

Lunch: Own your own. The group leader took us to Columbe Blanche Hotel (going from memory), a family guesthouse with a beautiful Moroccan dining room. The food was very good, among the best on the trip.

Dinner: On your own. Try the set menu of Aladdin Restaurant on the roof terrace.

Accommodation: Hotel Tarek. My room was dimly lit and small.

TIP: if you like to wear Henna (temporary tattoos made from dye), it’s best to have that done here. Four of the women on my trip did their Henna on Day 10, but it had almost completely worn off the next day.

DAY 4: Fes

Lunch: On you own in Chefchaouen.

Dinner included: Forget to ask for a restaurant card. This restaurant is not in one of the nicer neighborhoods, but the food was good.

Accommodation: Hotel Across Fes. The nicest hotel on this trip.

DAY 5: Fes
Included Activities
• Fondouk Nejjarine
• Mederassa Bou Inania
• Medersa Attarine - Entrance - Fes
• Guided walking tour Fes (forcus on “Art Naji”)

Lunch: On your own. The group leader took us to “Dar Hatim”. This restaurant was also popular with other tour groups.

Dinner: On your own. I suggest any restaurant/café that overlooks Medina.

Accommodation: Still at the very nice Hotel Across Fes.

DAY 6: Midelt (Stop at Ifrane for coffee and visiting a Nomad family)

Picnic Lunch: own your own, the group leader took us to a westernized grocery store, and we purchased our lunch.

Dinner: included, at the Kasbah Asmaa.

Accommodation: Kasbah Asmaa. A full-of-character kasbah. We got room 101, a decorated junior suite. The living room was so dimly lit my roommate and I never even went in. The shower wasn’t designed well. You have to climb over an 18-24 inch tall wall to get in.

DAY 7: Midelt-Merzouga

Lunch: On you own. The group leader took us to “Maison vallee de ziz” for a lunch buffet.

Before heading to camp, you left your belongings at the Kasbah Hotel Yasmina. That’s also where we showered and had breakfast the next morning. They said wi-fi was “available” at the Yasmina, but it wasn’t working when we were there.

Dinner: included at the camp on long outdoor picnic tables

Accommodation: Desert Camp.

TIP: Bring upset stomach/diarrhea medicine to camp. 7 out of 12 in our group already had or started to have problems here. No need to bring sleeping clothes. Since the tent was hot and no air breeze outside, most of us chose to sleep outside the tents. Have blankets nearby because the temperature dose get chilly overnight under the clear sky.

Highlights: Definitely the most exciting part of the trip. We rode camels, climbed sand dunes, celebrated a tour mate’s birthday, and watched drum show performed by our tour leader and camp workers. I heard drum shows from three other camps while falling asleep under the stars. It was even fun watching the camels go to sleep.

DAY 8: Todra Gorge-Dades Valley-M'goun Valley

Breakast: at Kasbah Hotel Yasmina after shower.

Lunch: On your own. Group leader took us to visit a Berber family for Lunch.

Dinner: included at the accommodation.

Accommodation: Gite d'étape Tamaloutte (impossible to get WI-FI to work). The Boutaghror town didn’t even have electricity until 2006.

DAY 9: M'goun Valley
Included Activities
• An easy guided half day trek at M'goun Valley. A local’s home served as the midway stopping point. We had tea, then began our return. (Several women activated their exercise APP, which said we walked more 10,000 steps each way). I’d recommend suitable hiking shoes, though the local tour guide and two women in our group were fine with Teva style hiking sandals.

Lunch: On your own at the Gite.

Dinner: included at the Gite.

Accommodation: Gite d'étape Tamaloutte (No WI-FI)

DAY 10: Skoura-Ait Benhaddou
Included Activities • Visiting Kasbah Skoura

Lunch: On your own. Group leader took us to the “Habous” at Ouarzazate.

Dinner: included in the hotel. Nice restaurant, however not enough food to feed the whole group.

Accommodation: Hotel La Kashbah. The room we stayed in was darker than the Gite d'étape Tamaloutte and shower water came out very weak in 3 streams. So, I skipped the shower.

DAY 11: Ait Benhaddou-Marrakech (said goodbye to our driver)
Included Activities: (The activities were originally scheduled for day 12. But our group leader switched them to the afternoon of day 11. Since we didn’t start our activities until 3:30 pm, the local guide was in such a hurry that many of group couldn’t keep up with his walking pace. Plus, some of the places were closed after 5 pm. This was very disappointing. Ask your group leader to NOT change the itinerary.)
• Marrakech - Guided walking tour
• Koutoubia Mosque and minaret
• Marrakech - Palais Bahia
• Photography Museum

Lunch: On your own.

Dinner: included from a street vendor at the square of Jemaa el Fna.

Accommodation: Raid Marrakech by Hivernage.

Lesson Learned: Ask your group leader to NOT change the schedule, particularly if you want to see all the palaces and museum.

Day 12: Marrakech
A free day.

Farewell Dinner: My group took the group leader to the “Nomad”. We had to sit inside because of the rain.

Day 13: Marrakech
End of tour.

TIPs and Warnings:

1. Most accommodations on this tour were basic, some were dingy, except for Across Fes. I had many bug bites from different accommodations. Bring your own small bed sheet or a “Protect-A-Bed” style Mattress Protector to separate your body from the sheets. It’s also a good idea to bring a couple of E12 or E27 LED light bulbs to brighten rooms, and a travel power strip. Some locations only had one electric outlet in the room. I think “Kasbah Asmaa“ and “Hotel La Kashbah” had nicer rooms for higher end guests, but they gave out lesser, dingy, and non-functioning rooms to group tourists.

2. Transportation times were longer than I expected from what had been listed in Intrepid’s itinerary. And, the minivan or minibus seats were not comfortable. Think of a minivan jammed with 16 seats plus back luggage areas. I’m 5’4” 125 lbs, and I felt no space for my legs in the cramped vehicles. A Greyhound bus ride is way better than this minivan. I did like the driver a lot. He was a very nice young man, and his driving was extremely safe and cautious.

3. Always set your price before purchasing anything or travelling in a taxi. Double-check your currency/bills carefully before handing them to vendors. Unfortunately, some will try to scam you. One woman was cheated out of 300 DH by a snake charmer, he claimed she had given him a smaller bill than she had. Also, some of Marrakesh street vendors in the Jemaa el-Fnaa were not friendly toward foreigners. Some of my group mates were yelled at, treated rudely, and talked dirty to when they walked on their own free time.

4. The overall travel route was well-designed. It covered imperial cities, 6 UNESCO sites (Meknes, Volubilis, Rabat, Fes, Marrakech, and Ait-Ben-Haddou), Chefchaouen (which many other tour companies don’t have), and the desert. However, the execution was not good due to our tour leader changing the schedule, enforcing a very short visiting time at important sites, but then setting up a very long shopping time at stores.

The shopping list included Art Naji(Fes), leather shops at Tanner’s quarter(FES), sliver shop, carpet shop, and several aroma shops including one extremely long one in Marrakech. While shopping can be fun. I was more interested in “SEEing” Morocco than “shopping” Morocco.

5. I was concerned that sharing a room with another group mate might cause inconvenience due to jet lag and a shared bathroom. I was very lucky that my roommate was a young sweet Welsh woman named Kerry who made my trip much more enjoyable. I hope all of you reading this are as lucky as I was in this regard.

6. If you have a food allergy or sensitivity to cumin, select your food carefully because cumin is everywhere in Moroccan cooking. I have this sensitivity, but was unaware cumin was so prominent in Moroccan cuisine. My knuckles and the skin on the underside of my fingers became red, broken, scaly, hardened, patchy, and then bloody after 13 days of eating in Morocco. Really, for any food allergy, study in advance to make sure you won’t run into trouble.

7. Remember, Morocco is an Islamic country. So, you won’t see single women sitting in a coffee shop/restaurant by themselves except in tourist cities. My tour leader said Moroccan women work in the household, while the men make a living. Thinking back, the only female hospitality or food workers encountered were two receptionists in Hotel Les Saisons, and Hotel Across-Fes, and a Baghrir cook at Kasbah Asmaa.

SUMMARIZING Report Card:
Route/Circuit design – B+
Accommodation – C-
Transportation – B
Food – B
Musuems, site visitations – B (because of schedule changes, we spent too little time at Ait-Ben-Haddou and in the Marreckech tour of palaces, and I would have preferred to spend a little more time at Todra Gorge. Also, slept two nights at the Gite d'étape Tamaloutte at Boutaghror town (M'goun Valley) isn’t necessary when the scenery and hiking is nothing memorable.)

Trip Highlights: Hassan II Mosque” at Casablanca, Chefchaouen, and the desert.

Overall, a nice option for people who don’t speak Arabic and don’t want to travel alone. Our group leader said the female to male ratio on his tours are about 80% women to 20% men. And most of the men come with their wives or girlfriends. My group consisted of 10 women and 2 men, same as the tour that departed one day earlier than us.

Research your Morocco destination lists, and know your travel style before selecting a group tour. Create your own itinerary using public transportation (train or bus) and have nicer accommodations than the Intrepid trip. Plus, the same pre-trip and post-trip accommodation are cheaper to book directly through the hotel than through Intrepid.

If I were going to do a similar trip again, I’d start from Spain taking the Algeciras -Tangier ferry across the Gibraltar Strait to Tangier. Then, I’d take a CTM or Nejme Chamal buses to Chefchaouen, a bus to Casablanca, visit Hassan II Mosque, take a train to Marrakech, then stay in a hotel near Erg Chebbi.

I hope you have a wonderful time in Morocco!
Read more

LT

Does Not Recommend

All is not well in Morocco...problems with radicalism...I would steer clear of Northern Africa for the moment... January 2017

3.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 3.0
Despite being back home since late February 2016, I continue to have negative feelings about my tour to Morocco with Peregrine. Everything started out fine, but as we came to learn, Morocco is having a difficult time containing radicalism and folks from the West are just not liked too much. In addition, our guide was a sociopath...no other word describes him in my opinion. Nice enough on the surface but raging with anger underneath. I was told by Peregrine that he is "Number One in Morocco." I would hate to see Number Two. He behaved inappropriately towards a woman in our group and threatened violence against another tour member--me. Think carefully about Morocco and your personal safety. Think even more carefully about Perergrine because their follow up should something go wrong while you are away leaves much to be desired. Weak and passive at best. I find it curious that Intrepid would co-brand with such a tour supplier. Believe it or not, I actually continue to have bad dreams about the at times unsettling places we stayed in and visited and the polar moods of our guide which literally changed the dynamics of our group on a day-to-day basis as the trip went on.
Read more

j

Recommends

Excellent Option for First-Time Travellers to Morocco January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I visited Morocco with the Intrepid Travel group in November of 2012. I had never traveled to any continents besides the U.S. and Europe, and was hesitant to visit Africa as a single woman, alone. The Intrepid Best of Morocco trip was absolutely perfect. It was a wonderful mix of couples and single travelers, older and younger folks from several different countries. The group got along extremely well and had a great time. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in visiting Morocco, but hesitant to go alone. The small group dynamic allows for plenty of company without feeling lost in the shuffle by a larger group.
Read more

t

Recommends

Great COSMOS value November 2016

4.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
I am a budget solo female traveler. I have traveled with COSMOS for about 20 years in the past, all over Europe, Switzerland, Turkey, etc. The best thing is that I never have to pay extra for single supplement when I room with someone. If Cosmos can not find a room mate for you, you end up having the whole room. Because of this feature, I was able to travel everywhere by my self with reasonable price. Cosmos always provides great value for the bucks. I would do it again. I highly recommend to you all.
Read more

RVA

Recommends

Awesome Experience November 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just returned from the Majestic Morocco Tour ending November 13 and we were truly overwhelmed with the experience. The tour guide Larbi El Mahdar was incredible, he was gracious and kind and his goal appeared to be ensure that our visit was a success! and he accomplished that. His knowledge was great, he helped each individual as if they were the only person on the trip. He was a great representative for Morocco as we referred to him as the "Minister of Tourism" throughout the trip. Our entire trip was enjoyable due to the accommodations and the way he handled each person's unique need. Thank you Larbi for ensuring our trip was a great experience!
Read more

JG

Recommends

Incredible Experience November 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just finished our tour an hour ago and I have to write and rave about this wonderful experience. Everything exceeded our expectaions. We have taken close to 20 SmarTours trips and this will be a favourite. Our guide, Larbi El Mahdar was superb. He was a walking encyclopedia of knowledge, so helpful and patient, anticipated potential problems and solved them before they could happen. He was always happy and kind (even after answering the same question repeatedly). The tour was filled with diverse interesting sites and experiences. The evening camel ride and sunset in the Sahara was incredible. Hotels, meals, and the bus are pleasant, comfortable, and excellent.
Read more

PB

Recommends

Morocco 10/4/16 October 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was my 13th trip with smarTours and it was wonderful, thanks in no small part to our tour director Larbi. He made sure that we were well-informed and comfortable -- in the hotels, the souks, and on the road. What a fabulous visit to a wonderful country!
Read more

A

Does Not Recommend

Wonderful except September 2016

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 3.0
We arrived after a long trip in which it was wonderful except of two things
1- Trafalgar packed over 50 people in very uncomfortable bus with no leg room and very hard cushions, my wife was in pain riding at the back bench and because we were packed like sardines everyone in the bus got stomach something. Either they were vomiting or running to the bathroom including me and my wife. Needless to say it was miserable
2- The hotels in Fez was substandard - AC was not cooling and some complained of soiled sheets and bathrooms. The hotel in Tangier was ok except the bathroom. Gwen slipped on the floor and hurt her back.
The tour director was excellent and tried his best, the experience was great however Trafalgar could have been less greedy and split our group into two buses.

Read more

Tour Trafalgar Company Reviews

LS

Recommends

Marvelous tour of Morocco March 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The smarTours Majestic Morocco tour was an excellent way to see the highlights of Morocco. Our tour director, Khalid Lamdiro, had an encyclopedic knowledge of everything about Morocco, was an entertaining speaker, and took excellent care of those on the tour.
Read more

MDB

Recommends

Departure date 01/19,2016 March 2016

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Mr, Khalid Lamdira, the tour Director is a professional lecturer and a very good guide.The food in Marocco is very plain and OKI enjoyed the tour very much! Thank YOU smarTours!!!Sorry to be late with my review.
Read more

D

Recommends

Majestic Morocco February 2016

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Our guide was excellent.

Items 1 to 15 of 2061 total

Most reviews of Morocco are of SmarTours’ Majestic Morocco. Most reviewers emphasized how knowledgeable and enjoyable the tour guide was. They also describe Morocco’s culture and its uniqueness. This was prevalently shown through its food, architecture, and people. It was also noted that having a tour that covers Morocco’s vast terrain is a must.

Top Morocco Tours View All Morocco Trips
Morocco: Sahara & Beyond tour Morocco: Sahara & Beyond

$ 2,799 15-days trip

Morocco Biking tour Morocco Biking

$ 8,995 8-days trip

Treasures Of Morocco tour Treasures Of Morocco

$ 1,599 9-days trip

Tours & Operators on Stride Awarded and Featured by:

  • National Geographic, Condé Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure
  • Outside, The New York Times