113 River Cruises Tour & Trip Reviews

River Cruises Tour & Trip Reviews

113 Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Excellent 90 Great 21 Average 0 Disappointing 0 Terrible 2
98% Recommend
Value
4.8 Guide
4.8 Activities
4.8 Lodging
4.8 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.8

Editor’s Take

Most trip and cruise reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guides, travel or cruise company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

By and large the demographic that takes river cruises are affluent older travelers seeking a relaxing vacation, and expecting to be well looked after. The expectations when it comes to customer service, quality of lectures and guided tours, meals, and general comfortability are fairly high among this group.

Positive river cruise reviews often highlight the personal attention received from engaging guides and ship staff. Professionalism plays a big role, as well as room size and ease of getting around the ship.  

Disappointing reviews may result from those travelers who were expecting a more luxurious cruise, or perhaps were traveling with a handicapped person. Most river cruises are not terribly well equipped for wheelchairs or scooters, though there are some exceptions.

If you want a professional take on River Cruising, see the Stride Travel River Cruise Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

R

Recommends

Outstanding private group tour November 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We were a group of 34 seniors departing from JFK on 12 Oct 2017. The itinerary was the same as the standard 17-day tour and it was well-paced for our group. Mark Ma was our Tour Director, and he was very helpful, friendly and made sure that everyone was safe and enjoying the trip. My group has been on several guided international tours, and this was one of the best. smarTours helped us set up the tour, get our visas and got us first-class hotels throughout the trip. I recommend that you consider them for your travel group. Ms. Suzanne Anderson at their NYC office was specially helpful. Thanks to everyone at smarTours for this excellent experience.
Read more

M

Recommends

18 Amazing Days in China November 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Julian and I are still talking and telling everyone we meet about the surprisingly wonderful trip we recently took. Our guide, Mr. Li Bo, Oscar, was our mother, father, savior, historian, bathroom locator and best friend throughout the entire trip. He seemed to have a second sense and was there when we needed him, either for a pharmacy, help with our luggage or credit cards and the ATM's. The local guides, especially Allie, in Shanghai were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The hotels and Yangtze River rooms were excellent. All the shows, parks and extras and river cruises were wonderful. The food was pretty good but the hot pots and dim sum that we had when we ventured out on our own was sensational. It's an amazing country with beautiful and unusual sites. I look forward to more trips with SmarTours and I can only hope that they are as great as this trip was for us. Thank you Oscar.
Read more

L

Does Not Recommend

Misleading and often just plain dishonest. October 2018

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 3.0
We paid for a 3 week luxury river cruise but received a large group bus trip across Europe with many days of packing and unpacking. I called our Viking representative when we received an email message just 2 days prior to departure that mentioned a possibility of problems with low river levels. I was assured that everything was "normal" In reality, as we learned later from ship personnel, nothing has been normal for at least 3 months. About 2 weeks prior to departure, we received by mail, lovely personalized booklets describing all the details of our voyage on the Viking Lif, which we were to board in Russe, Romania. Instead, we boarded the Viking Aegir but not at Russe, because the Danube was too low. Instead we rode buses upstream to a port on the Romanian side directly opposite our first scheduled stop at Nikopol, Bulgaria. We had a beautiful cruise through the Iron gate gorge, but after three more scheduled stops in Bulgaria, Serbia, and Croatia, our voyage was terminated in Mohacs, Hungary, an unscheduled place two days short of reaching Budapest. So we were herded into buses for a 1.8 hour ride each way to our scheduled stop at Kalocsa. The next day we retraced the journey to Kalocsa and continued an extra 1.5 hours to reach Budapest. We lost the entire morning in Budapest and spent the night at the Marriott hotel. The next day we lost the entire afternoon in that city because we had to take a 4 hour bus ride to Vienna. Where we were put aboard the Viking Embla. Our voyage on that ship ended two steps later at Passau Germany. After a day in Passau we went upriver for a short distance and it seemed that we had entered the canal to take us to the Main river. But much to our surprise, it was a dead end channel for an industrial port. We spent two days there with our balcony room moored tightly against another Viking ship so there was nothing to look at but the scenery at that site was even worse than looking at someone else's window and the balcony was unusable anyway due to the unpleasant odors at that site. The pattern continued with a long round trip bus ride the next day to our scheduled stop at Regensburg and a 3 plus hour trip the following day to Nuremberg where we finally boarded the Viking Lif. A crew member told us that the Lif had not traveled east of Nuremberg for 3 months. We sailed from Nuremberg to scheduled stops in Bamberg, Wurzburg, and Werthiem and then our voyage terminated for good at an unscheduled port in Mainz. Once again we endured a long round trip journey to our next scheduled stop at Koblenz, followed by a 10 plus hour bus trip (with lunch and a walking tour in Cologne) to Amsterdam and a night in a hotel. Despite a promise that our bags would be in our rooms (they did take great care to provide us with tags so they could easily keep our bags organized) all the baggage was dumped in the hotel garage and it took a good 15 minutes of searching to find it and then take it to our rooms ourselves. There is much more, but it would only be more descriptive of the misery of this trip. We know Viking didn't cause the low river levels, but they did not need to lie to us and make us suffer because of it.
Read more

D

Does Not Recommend

Viking Rescheduled my Flight to CHRISTMAS Without my Consent June 2018

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I received an email day before yesterday stating that my trip has been moved and now my flight will leave Denver on CHRISTMAS EVE and arrive in Cairo on CHRISTMAS.
And they are sorry if this causes me any inconvenience.
The young people who answer the phone cannot change my cruise to one of the same value since my dream New Years cruises are now unavailable. I spoke to three of them and each one just gives me an email address to send a complaint. No response as of yet. I feel so embarrassed for trusting this company. But I am grateful that I was able to see their true colors before I booked again. I as going to take a Mediterranean cruise with more availability a bit sooner because I was so excited. I feel sick now.
When we read in the disclosures that there may need to be some flexibility in the dates, no reasonable person actually believes that they would deliberately change the schedule in such a way to force you to miss spending Christmas with your family. But they did. And they did it by email. My $20,000 wasn’t even worth a phone call.
Read more

M

Recommends

The China & Yangtze River Cruise w/ Hong Kong was truly amazing! June 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The China & Yangtze River Cruise w/ Hong Kong was truly amazing! Smartours had all arrangements down to a science, with all tours and transfers running like clockwork. Our tour director, Jason Hu, was a wonderful, caring young man who went the extra mile to take care of our group of 19....always with a smile. Our tour guides, Jennifer, Tom, Alun, Kenny, Linda and Kelly were very knowledgeable and smoothed the way for some interesting tours, as well as being very attentive. The Yangtze River cruise was wonderful and the scenery magnificent. We could not have asked for better accommodations or meals in China....all places were truly the best, as was the Hong Kong hotel. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone seeking a top notch tour to see the highlights of China!
Read more

J

Recommends

Ask for Hanna! May 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Splendors of Egypt is less a vacation and more of an adventure, and I highly recommend you ask for the tour guide Hanna. Always full of energy, optimism and passion, Hanna spent hours working with tour guests to make sure we had everything necessary. On our tour, there was one woman who had trouble walking, and I watched as Hanna spent her own money to make sure this guest had a wheelchair for the Cairo Museum. Before you go, I recommend reading up on historical attractions. Egypt's pyramid's, temples and natural wonders are devoid of any informational signs or guide posts. Pack plenty of bug spay/suncreen and be prepared to get up early if you want to avoid the hot sun of afternoon. An optional tour, the hot air balloons over Luxor is definitely worth every penny. The food is great, if your big on meat and desserts. Egypt is a Muslim country, but alcohol was everywhere.
Read more

A

Recommends

Splendid Trip April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our 10 days in Egypt with Smartours was amazing. Our tour guide Hanna treated her “Lovely Pharaoh’s” as if they were family. She made sure we were well informed on the day’s events and historical sites. The tour is fast paced and full of activities’ from the beginning to the end. By the way, this was my first guided tour and it was fantastic.
Read more

B

Recommends

Amazing Egypt March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We loved our trip to Egypt! Tarek was an excellent guide. He has a degree in Egyptology and showed and taught us so much! Besides seeing so many amazing sites, we enjoyed the cruise on the Nile. Because of tight security in Egypt, we always felt safe. We would recommend this tour to everyone, especially if your guide is Tarek.We loved our trip to Egypt! Tarek was an excellent guide. He has a degree in Egyptology and showed and taught us so much! Besides seeing so many amazing sites, we enjoyed the cruise on the Nile. Because of tight security in Egypt, we always felt safe. We would recommend this tour to everyone, especially if your guide is Tarek.
Read more

J

Recommends

Very exciting January 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
My husband and I really enjoyed this trip to Egypt with our guide Henri! He was knowledgeable in Egyptology. We saw the most significant sites and learned history as we traveled. The cruise on the Nile was relaxing and balanced longer days of walking.
Read more

B

Recommends

Splendors of Egypt not to be missed - FANTASTIC January 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Splendors of Egypt lives up to it's name. smarTours does it again by providing an amazing travel experience to a country I have always wanted to visit. I did feel very safe. Egyptian police and military security are everywhere. smarTours logistics are great. From being met at the airport, inter-Egyptian flights between Cairo and Aswan, and Luxor and Cairo. The 3 day Nile Cruise on Movenpick Royal Lily was so relaxing and wonderful in the middle of a busy itinerary. The ship was small which made it so nice and personal. Not like big ocean cruise liners. The crew could not have been nicer. Food was great. Hotels in Cairo (Cairo Marriot and Fairmont Nile City Hotel on return) were very nice. Sonesta St. George in Luxor also very nice. The horse and carriage ride around Edfu was fun. Egyptian Tour Guide Fouad was excellent. He ensured that everything ran smoothly. He was so knowledgeable and very helpful. He helped make our understanding of the ancient wonders we saw even more amazing. He explained how additional excursions worked or if you wanted to take a camel ride at the Great Pyramid which was fun. His assistant in Cairo, Hosam was also very helpful and nice. To visit the Great Pyramid at Giza, enter the Tomb of Tutankamon in the Valley of the Kings, see the Temple of Hatshepsut in the Valley of the Queens, the Temples of Luxor and Karnak - bring ancient history to life. The Egyptian Museum in Cairo was great. If you are fascinated by Ancient Egyptian Art, History and Architecture as I have always been, this tour is not to be missed. Thank you smarTours for a trip I will never forget.
Read more

S

Recommends

Egypt Review January 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My husband & I had a fabulous time during our 10 days Egypt tour.Our tour director Tarek Tewfik is very knowledgeable of the history of Egypt & very accommodating to any requests or questions.We are blessed to have him as our tour director.We love the Nile River Cruise, the room, food & the staff. We highly recommend to this tour.We love to go back to Egypt.
Read more

R

Recommends

Amazing land of the pharohs January 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Hosam was very accommodating and ensured everything go smooth and safe. Our guide Fouad demonstrated his complete knowledge of Egypt's glorious old dynasty with interesting stories to tell. It made the entire journey fun and enjoyable. (12/21/2017). A winning TEAM.
Read more

L

Recommends

Splendid Tour!! January 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Everything about this trip was amazing. The accommodations were superb, service 5 star, food was excellent. It was a well paced trip where all the most important sites were visited. Our tour guide was an Egyptologist, full of knowledge and had great love for his country.
Read more

A

Recommends

Great China Trip December 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great trip from the start. China Eastern Airline treats its customers better than a lot of U.S. airlines. Seats had enough room, 3 sufficient meals were served on the 15 hour flight. Our guide, Li Bo, was absolutely exceptional from start to finish of the tour. The hotels were all 5 star. The sites along the trip were all unbelievable, even without the optional tours. We had enough free time to do the little extra things that we wanted to do. The local guide were all very good, friendly and knowledgeable. China surprised us with its absolute beauty, size, opulence of the tourist sites. Even the factories that were visited proved to be eye opening and not just tourist traps. The trip left us extremely happy that we had taken it and was an absolute bargain.
Read more

S

Recommends

We also enjoyed the other local guides October 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just returned from our 4th SmarTour. Our guide Sun Harry made our China trip outstanding. He spoke perfect English, was knowledgeable, kind, friendly,fun and was able to keep our large group of 34 with different needs and wants very happy. He taught us so much about the chinese culture. He always informed us in advance of what we needed for the next adventure. The trip was very active and diversified and we visited cities, villages, and enjoyed lunch in a family home. We interacted and had many opportunities to join local welcoming people in their different recreational activities like exercising in the parks and listening to music. The food was outstanding with many choices. The 4-day Yangtze River was spectacular. The beautiful hotel accommodations were places we would not be able to stay at if not on this tour. We were taken to many cultural performances that we will always remember. Thank you Sun for making our trip so special and teaching us so much. We also enjoyed the other local guides knowledge.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 113 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!