First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

562 Costa Rica Tour & Trip Reviews

562
Costa Rica Tour & Trip Reviews 98% Recommend

4.7 out of 5
Excellent 431 Great 105 Average 14 Disappointing 2 Terrible 6
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Tour Reviews

  • Sort By:

B

Does Not Recommend

Vomit Trail March 2018

4.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
This is a whirlwind sightseeing tour, not a carefree backpacking vacation. We were on the bus for hours almost every day, with multiple days having bus-boat-bus transfers, so consider your travel stamina before you sign up. It is not an ideal trip if you are prone to motion-sickness because the roads in some areas are rough and mountainous. Half of our group was continuing on from the GAdventures Mexico/Belize tour and were exhausted and burned out on visiting ruins by the time the Volcano Trail tour started in Guatemala. If you are looking for a beach party tour, go on the Mexico/Belize tour; if you are looking for an outdoor/adrenaline tour, go on the Costa Rica tour. This Volcano Trail was more of a passport-stamping tour and there were too many cities that we only spent one night in before packing up and hitting the road again in the morning. I don't regret going, but I learned it is not the style of travel for me; I am now fluent in requesting nausea medication in Spanish at local pharmacies and drugstores. On a positive note, our guide was great and very helpful with local recommendations and border crossings. We saw a lot of places I would not have seen by myself, and everyone on the trip was fun to be around.
Read more

D

Recommends

Fabulous countryside & well organised trip October 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 3.0
We had a great trip with 2by2 Holidays to Cost Rica and still enjoy looking at all the photos. It's such a beautiful country and the walks were exactly the right level of challenge for us. The guides were very knowledgeable and added a whole extra dimension of enjoyment for us. Everyone we met was so relaxed and friendly and the accommodation was pretty good. We especially enjoyed the hot springs at Arenal after a long day of exploring. You wouldn't go to Costa Rica for the food as its a bit bland but there was always a lot of it so we never went hungry! We are planning our next one trip with 2by2... possibly Peru. Highly recommend them as their service and knowledge is excellent.
Read more

O

Does Not Recommend

Horrible disgusting company June 2017

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
My tour guide organized a robbery where all my money and passport were stolen and then I was ditched for more than a month alone with nom money or documents in Honduras. G Adventures says "it's not their fault. No refund, no compensation. I wrote a bad review and was blocked. So immature. Disgusted.
Read more

N

Does Not Recommend

Truly fake. Similar to visiting ‘Paris’ in Vegas. May 2017

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Truly fake. Similar to visiting ‘Paris’ in Vegas.

It is advertised as volunteering, family friendly and building international network to help undeveloped countries and nature where scientists are involved. The reality is that it is a typical student back-pack trip. There are no activities for children under 12 to participate too either fun or educational. Young, good natured girls are not scientific personnel and the local people disliked anything American. It felt like a prison and a ‘ghetto’ where you devise a cause, do something without the community’s support that deeply affects their lives (ex-poachers) and be high-minded that you are actually helping. Social division, looking down on people and experiencing poverty is not what I wanted to participate in. I am very upset that this has happened and that no one was interested afterwards.
Read more

S

Recommends

Discovering a new paradise every day January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This trip with G Adventures was amazing. Every day we were visiting a new place, a new paradise. Walking through the tropical forest, we were always amazed by the wildlife we encountered. There are no words to describe the feeling you get when you wake up roasting in the sun listening to the bird and the river that is just next to your sleeping arrangement. This trip was amazing because we got to stay with locals. Each place we went was more amazing the the previous one. There is no better place to get away from work, relax and enjoy the simple things of life. Even though we walked a lot on this trip, I felt at peace with myself and relaxed when I got back.

Amazing place, amazing people, breathtaking scenery what else do you need?
Read more

D

Recommends

A great adventure awaits with G adventures! January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just returned from this Costa Rica Quest trip. It was probably the best vacation of my life. It was an ACTIVE vacation and there was little down time. If you want a holiday where you are sitting by a pool and being waited on, then you shouldn't book this trip. However, if you like to try new things, want some adventure, enjoy nature and meeting great people then go with G! Also, I found all of the staff to be exceptionally helpful and responsive.
Read more

KaM

Recommends

I would recommend it to everyone! January 2017

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
We volunteered on our Honeymoon in Costa Rica and I would recommend it to everyone! There is no better way to truly learn about a country and its people than to volunteer and give back to the community.
Read more

AY

Recommends

Very special January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
If you are seeking an opportunity to get to know the countries and communities you are visiting on a deeper level, definitely partake in Give a Day Global! The teams both at Give A Day Global and at FIMRC were exceptionally helpful and welcoming, leading to my very special volunteer experience in Costa Rica.
Read more

AK

Recommends

Great Costa Rica Guided Tour January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I had a great experience with Costa Rica Tropical Adventure by Caravan. The whole trip was well organized, carefully planned and simply terrific. My friend recommended this trip to me and I am too, highly recommend this tour.
Read more

J

Recommends

Great Costa Rica land tour 2006 September 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Caravan exceeded our expectations for scenery and wild life. Exceptional value, great food choices, guide, and activities.

A

Recommends

Great trip, beautiful country, new friends...what more could you ask? August 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I read all previous reviews before booking and they were all useful information - if you are planning this trip I suggest you do likewise.
I booked this as the dates suited me but we had a bird-watching expert and it was interesting to be part of a group some of whom were 'on a mission'. Despite the specialism I don't feel that we 'non-birders' missed out on anything and our guide also pointed out animals, gave information on culture, geography, etc.
All in all a well paced trip and having two nights at each place meant less pressure to pack up every morning.
So many, others have described them, I think the sunsets at Tortuguero took some beating and SAvegre was my favourite lodge.

Guillermo certainly had his work cut out, a very diverse group, several of us fell ill at various points and he coped well. I think we tried his patience at times but he mostly stayed in good humour.
He explained all the options and his recommendations for optional trips were pretty good too.
He also gave us some extra treats like taking us to meet his friend who had a horse ranch and showed us his favourite horse in action (as a horse-lover this was lovely).
I can't speak for the bird-watchers but he seemed to know his stuff and spotted lots of birds. He also held a meetingmost evenings to talk over the daily 'list' of birds seen,

Just do it, I'm 50-something, overweight and very unfit, and I coped with it.
Do go swimming at La Fortuna, do go on the suspension bridges walk (I'm not good with heights but it was very solid and a superb view), do support the turtle museum at Tortuguero.
Definitely tell the guide if you aren't well - several of us were poorly at the same time and our guide took us to a pharmacy, explained our problems and negotiated a good deal on medicines.

The Costa Ricans and (strangely also the Austrians, you'll have to visit to find out why!) are trying their best to look after the country and join up the many National Parks they already have there.
It's a stunning place with so much variety and this trip gives you are very well-paced view of it.

Read more

I

Recommends

I have already recommended G Adventure tours to my sister and she is now looking into booking a tour later this year. This was my first time travelling on my own and in this style of travelling, I absolutely loved it and definitely want to do another tour with G Adventures in the future. It was great travelling in a group and with a Costa Rican guide who made the trip really easy, fun and gave the group opportunities to explore real Costa Rica that I wouldn't have had travelling on my own e.g. the guide taking us to his family home for breakfast, public hot springs in Arenal and teaching us how to dance salsa and taking us to fun local discotecs. Would definitely recommend this trip and G Adventures in general to other friends and family. August 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The Costa Rica Adventure was absolutely incredible! Every day was amazing and I loved every part of the tour. It was great fun travelling in this style and meeting new people from across the globe. I feel like I got
Read more

P

Recommends

Go on this trip, you won't be dissapointed! August 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It was a terrific experience. I would do it again in a heart beat. Our tour guide, Rolando Meneses, was the best. We couldn't have asked for a better tour guide. I went with my wife, her brother and my mother-in-law. Ages, 60 to 85. We had no problem getting around. Our ages and various problems like arthritis were not a problem. Every place we stayed was very good. Some were exceptionally good.

All meals and tips were paid for by the tour company. Breakfast, lunch and dinner. All included. I've been on other tours with a different company but Caravan was definitely better in every way.

Read more

F

Recommends

Wonderful tour to Costa Rica August 2016

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I wanted to give some feedback on our Caravan tour to Costa Rica. We went this route for the following reasons:

1. Price – most other companies quoted a much higher price for a similar itinerary and accommodations. Caravan was priced extremely reasonably.

2. Ease – no worries about how to get from A to B. I wouldn’t want to drive on some of those mountain roads and I felt safer in a larger vehicle. Bus was secure so we could bring whatever we needed for the day and just take with us what was necessary for each outing and leave everything else safely on the bus. Check-in, baggage, and entrance fees – everything was taken care of for us. We didn’t have to think twice about what we were eating or drinking – important when traveling with kids! The itinerary included rest stops at least every two hours so we knew would have food or a bathroom before it became an emergency.

3. Tour guides – our Caravan tour director was a nature specialist (which was especially wonderful) and we had excellent local guides in each location.

4. Company – I really enjoyed traveling with a group of people all of whom loved to travel. Hubby and I don’t see eye to eye on how to vacation so this took a lot of the stress away. My mother and brother also joined us so this way I didn’t have to worry that each person in our party wanted to do something else – it was already planned for us!

Drawbacks:

1. Loss of flexibility – can’t stop anywhere for a picture or can’t linger – always on a schedule.

2. Up early every morning to cover the distances and beat the crowds (though the latter was a plus in my book)

3. Exposed to a lesser variety of local food though Caravan doesn’t do a bad job on the whole.
Read more

F

Recommends

Fun trip with Caravan Tours! August 2016

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
This tour was a 10-day trip covering San Jose to Tortuguero to Arenal to Manuel Antonio and many places in between (It has been a while since I was on the tour, so the exact route may have changed by now). Although the bus fits 44 people we had just 34 due to last minute cancellations (another plus is an inexpensive trip insurance of $100 which allows you to cancel with almost no penalty). Age ranged from 6 (my younger son) to a very fit 88-year-old woman. Most people were over 50 and well traveled. This made for a very laid-back group with an open mind. Food was great for lunches when were served ‘tipico’ Costa Rican food and just okay for dinners when it was mostly Americanized food. Fruit was always available – just wish we had mangoes and papaya more often. Desserts are not a fine culinary skill here but that was okay with me. Lots of variety for vegetarians, mostly chicken and fish served (almost always a choice in meats) and beef was rarely served. Loved the variety and freshness of all the fruit juices served at meals – mango, soursop, tamarind, strawberry, blackberry, guava, fruit punch. My family and I really enjoyed this trip with Caravan Tours, and we would definitely look at taking another trip with them in the future.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 3639 total

Reviews of Costa Rica tours focus on the positive experience of visiting local communities and wildlife initiatives. Some warn that certain trips seem to present falsely responsible wildlife experiences and this is something to be wary of - be sure you have all the facts! Nature tours are a huge part of traveling in Costa Rica and most reviewers reflect positively on these experiences, especially highlights the benefit of having a guide to help describe the many different species they saw along their tour.

Top Costa Rica Tours View All Costa Rica Trips
Best of Costa Rica tour Best of Costa Rica

$ 1,199 8-days trip

Costa Rican Adventure tour Costa Rican Adventure

$ 849 8-days trip

Costa Rica

$ 1,899 9-days trip

Tours & Operators on Stride Awarded and Featured by:

  • National Geographic, Condé Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure
  • Outside, The New York Times