536 Costa Rica Tour & Trip Reviews

Costa Rica Tour & Trip Reviews

536 Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Excellent 412 Great 102 Average 14 Disappointing 2 Terrible 6
98% Recommend
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Editor’s Take

What to look for in Costa Rica Tour Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

Nature tours are a huge part of traveling in Costa Rica and most reviewers reflect positively on these experiences. Reviews especially highlight the benefit of having a knowledgeable expert tour guide to help describe the many different species and point out particularly well camouflaged wildlife.

In addition, tours of Costa Rica usually have a strong focus on responsible and sustainable travel, often incorporating assisting with various wildlife initiatives into their itineraries.

That said, some negative Costa Rica tour reviews warn that it felt like the tour company had presented false information regarding responsible travel. Depending on your personal views, you may or may not agree, so be sure to read these reviews carefully.  

Service level varies quite a bit when traveling in Costa Rica. Luxury eco lodges aside, for the most part you should expect to face some different levels of comfort than you may be used to at home. Travelers who may have been expecting a higher level of service, and no bugs, will have been in for a rude surprise, and this is another thing that could account for poor ratings.

Most travelers reviewing Costa Rica seem to have enjoyed their trip itinerary. Costa Rica is fairly small, so it’s easy to see a lot of the major sites, meet locals, and even have some free time to spend on the beach.

If you want a professional take on traveling in Costa Rica, see the Stride Travel Costa Rica Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

M

Recommends

Tortuguero was amazing and worth December 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Tortuguero was amazing and worth the long trip to get there.. We enjoyed the atmosphere at Mawamba Lodge.. The trips by small boat into the national park allowed us to see three kinds of monkeys and lots of reptiles and birds in their natural habitat. Dennis was a knowledgeable guide. Si Como No at Manuel Antonio was a wonderful hotel with excellent rooms, staff and food
Read more

A

Recommends

Do thorough research before you decide October 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
As a first time visitor, the holiday was a good introduction opportunity. But
I’d have to be careful who to recommend it.
Tortuguero NP. The most specutacular part of the holiday.


Our main leader was a superb leader. His warm caring personality really
helped the team get on. His expert knowledge of birds was also very
impressive.


This holiday felt like a geography trip, which is fine as long as you have a
realistic expectation. There was one walk which was so unpopular we thought
why we were doing this walk. Generally I am glad I could see things I
wouldn’t have if I’d chosen places myself.


In Hacienda hotel we had a broken shower in our room. Reported twice no
action was taken. Bad management. The sandwich lunch at the same hotel was
also terrible. Huge but bland. I don’t think anyone liked it. One thing I
realised is that Costa Rica is so expensive you can buy only so much for
£3500!


Read more

A

Recommends

Overall a very good walk and travel through Costa Rica's diverse countryside October 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
The choice of places to visit on this trip was excellent and showed off the
variety of climatic conditions, scenery, flora & fauna, and people that Costa
Rica has to offer. The two knowledgeable guides informed us about Costa
Rica's past history and right up to modern conditions found here.
No one moment. Just walking and travelling through Costa Rica's diverse
countryside.


We had two guides, Katia & Carlos. Both of whom were excellent with their
people skills as well as there job as guides.


This trip consists of walking up to 10 miles in 30 deg.C heat. Make sure you
are fit enough to do this and you will enjoy the trip.
You can get hot sun then rain, so lots of sun screen and a lightweight
waterproof jacket.


Advice to Exodus - You use United Airlines. They are not a very good airline
for long haul flights. The transfer in Houston through US immigration &
security is tedious. On the return journey the flight out of San Jose was
delayed by 1 1/2 hrs, which only left 1/2 hr for me to rush through US
procedures. I just made the connecting flight but my luggage didn't, causing
me some worry at Heath Row. My luggage was eventually delivered to my home 3
days later.


Read more

A

Recommends

Amazing Adventure with Teens October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
A wonderful couple of weeks focusing principally on the wildlife of Costa
Rica. We went at the start of the rainy season and were lucky with the
weather, but don't think you'll be suthbathing (much) as Exodus keep you
moving!
My thirteen year old son told me that the Pacific coast beach we visited was
the most beautiful place he'd ever seen.


Excellent, excellent, excellent.

Gio has an exceptionally calm, professional and efficient manner. He's also
incredibly knowledgeable and endlessly enthusiastic about his country. On top
of that, he understands the importance of group dynamics and ensured that we
formed a happy group.

I really don't think we could have asked for a more thoughtful, organised and
all-round nice guy to lead our holiday!


Two things -
1. If you're travelling in the rainy season, ignore the advice to travel
light as you cannot dry clothes (everything is constantly damp)
2. Ignore Exodus's terrible and costly advice to take dollars. You need
enough dollars to get you to a cash machine, then withdraw local Colones and
use them everywhere - otherwise you will be ripped off by terrible dollar
exchange rates offered in shops and restaurants.


Read more

A

Recommends

Wow, wow, wow!!! October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Costa Rica is a fabulous country and well worth the long flight. We went as
a family of 5, parents of nearly 50, my mum in her early 70s and 2 girls aged
10 and 12. We were looking for a change from the usual pool / beach holiday
and gosh, it was different!!!
The wildlife is nothing short of phenomenal. We saw spiders, snakes, macaws,
crocodiles, lizards, fantastic birds, frogs etc...... the list just goes on.
The plantlife was great - plants we have at home in pots in the house growing
tens of feet high in their natural habitat - it was quite something to see.
It was also very educational, not just seeing plants and animals in their
natural environment, but also other experiences such as the trips to the
chocolate / cacao plantation and the sloth sanctuary. And it was great fun,
especially the white water rafting and the zipwiring in Arenal.
It was however, quite exhausting. I must admit we were not quite prepared
for the pace, the early mornings and the long coach trips, but, in
retrospect, they were all for a reason and all worth it for the sights and
sounds and experiences in each location.
And of course, I must mention our guide Glenda and our driver Mauricio who
were quite simply, marvellous. Their professionalism, efficiency and
enthusiasm for their country made the holiday very special for us.
I think we all enjoyed the quiet boat trip in Tortuguero - how Glenda managed
to find a waterway all to ourselves given the amount of traffic on the main
river I will never know. But the chance to see turtles, crocodiles, various
birds including toucans and macaws, monkeys, lizards etc in their natural
habitat with the added highlight of the 2 dolphins was marvellous.
The white water rafting and zip wiring were such fun and we all enjoyed the
adrenalin rush!
And seeing something new almost at every turn was great. Traipsing back to
our room one afternoon we came across an armadillo, seeing a coati in the
grounds of the hotel, howler monkeys moving across in the trees above the
swimming pool... etc. I could go on.......


Nothing short of fabulous. Glenda was so knowledgeable and her telescope
managed to pick out things that we could not even see with the naked eye.
Mauricio was always there incase anyone wanted to finish a walk early and his
keen eye also spotted other treats hidden in the trees.

Glenda's enthusiasm for her country and her willingness to share this with us
was much appreciated. Our experience of Costa Rica would not have been half
as good without her...


It is hot and humid in August and clothes all get very damp. Anything that
gets wet, stays wet. So pack clothes in ziplock bags and keep them zipped
wherever possible. Dry-wicking clothes are perfect and do not bring anything
that cannot dry easily.
A ball or something for the kids to play with in the pools is a great idea.
And test your waterproofs before you travel. These need to be industrial
strength as when it rains I mean it really rains!! Stand in the shower for
15 minutes on full blast and check those seams!!!
If your kids are remotely travel sick - think about travel bands on their
wrists as the roads are windy and bumpy.
Connecting or family rooms are rare however if you have young kids the rooms
normally have 2 double beds so you could all sleep together although it might
be quite tight!
A zoom camera is a must and maybe, as we did, another soft bag to throw in
the washing and / or hiking boots when these are not being worn will keep the
suitcases relatively clean and organised.


Come with an open mind - this is not a five star country and yes it does rain
- loads!! However, the experiences are well worth the early morning starts
and the requirement to pack up and move on every 48 hours.
It is, admittedly, quite daunting. The concept of spending 2 weeks in close
proximity with 3 or 4 other families and hoping the kids get on and the
parents find common ground. However I feel we were incredibly fortunate on
our tour and met some lovely families. The kids had great fun together and
the parents did too! Looking at other reviews this seems to be a common
theme, so do not delay and book today, you will not regret it!!


Read more

A

Recommends

COSTA RICA FAMILY ADVENTURE October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was a really memorable holiday. Costa Rica is an extraordinary country
with a plethora of fantastic birds, animals, and flowers to see - and the big
appeal of it when travelling with children is that on any expedition you
ALWAYS see something. Hotel gardens themselves are places where anything can
happen - I had one of the most exciting bird sightings (a trogon) in the
garden of our hotel in Dominical - where we also saw a boa constrictor in the
stream by the hotel. It really did feel like an adventure - the itinerary
packs so many experiences into a short space of time. It was great for our
11 year old daughter to have other children in the group to make friends with
- that made her braver and more tolerant of some of the long journeys and
physical challenges of so much torrential rain. What makes it all work is
the style of the tour - yes, there is a busy itinerary but our guide always
sought to offer choices of places to eat and things to do, so it felt quite
organic and we never felt over-managed or regimented. Her deep local
knowledge, and that of the driver made a huge difference. Costa Ricans are
friendly, efficient and proud of their country and that made this trip
special too.
My daughter and I loved the rafting trip at Sarapiqui - which was the
"floating safari" rather than the white water version as we felt too nervous
to do that. In fact, because of heavy rain the night before the water was
quite stirred up so it was actually quite thrilling. The guide on this raft
was wonderful - he made it really fun. She also loved the zip wiring at
Sarapiqui, and we all enjoyed the hot springs at La Fortuna - absolutely
magical in the twilight. But the stars of the show were all the animals we
saw - especially sloths and monkeys, and endless iguanas!


Katia was one in a million - so knowledgeable and such a brilliant
communicator. Long journeys were broken up with really good background on
where we were and what we were seeing, and she gave us really good
historical, cultural and social background too. - As a birdwatcher I really
appreciated her willingness to take us on 6am bird spotting strolls. I would
never have seen half so much if she hadn't shown me it - and her passion for
flora and fauna is infectious. I will never forget her detailed description
of the social organisation of the leaf cutter ant! She is a born leader -
always managing to make things feel organic and informal, while doing masses
of contingency planning behind the scenes. She also treated us all as
individuals and sought to offer options that would appeal to each of us. Her
local knowledge of restaurants was invaluable - she gave us choices and took
us to great places.


We went in the rainy season - and boy, did it rain. Not just an hour or two
a day, but torrentially for hours on end, especially on the Caribbean side
where it rains more or less all the year round. And when it isn't raining it
is more often than not very overcast. Once we got to the Pacific side the
weather was much better - sunshine for at least half of every day. So be
prepared for the weather - it can be demoralising. Others have mentioned the
difficulty in drying clothes out - our guide was ingenious and took us twice
to local laundrettes where a service wash was efficient and far cheaper than
in the hotels. Returned either same day or following morning. Hotels are
simple - but we liked the simplest one, at Cahuita, the best because you
could hear the ocean from the garden. We had a miserable time on the
optional turtle trip at Tortuguero locally run, not organised by Exodus. We
had to walk through rainforest to get to the beach and, because of heavy
rain, floodwater was nearly up to our knees - the pitch dark and the warnings
about going single file because of the risk of snakes resulted in our
daughter being absolutely terrified. We did see turtles but by this time she
was unable to enjoy and just wanted to feel safe again. It felt very
overcrowded and not really in the interests of the turtles. But the river
trips made going to Tortuguero worth it.

Do consider doing what we did: we booked a hotel on the Pacific coast and
stayed on for five more nights after the tour relaxing, swimming and whale
watching. Really worth it - after travelling all that way.


This is a really good way of seeing fantastic wildlife and visiting a
tropical country very different from our own, with children. The
organisation and the guide take all the stress out of this kind of travelling
leaving you all free to get the most out of the experience. The Caribbean
coast is wetter but it is really fascinating and shouldn't be missed - its
Afro-Caribbean heritage making it very different from the rest of the
country.


Read more

A

Recommends

Excellent intro to Costa Rica - outstanding guide Edward October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Wow, just back from our 2 week adventure. I don't usually do reviews but this
one is definitely worth a few lines!

Firstly, our guide Edward absolutely made the trip for us. Enthusiastic,
unfappable, great with kids. Very knowledgeable about all aspects of the
country, particularly wildlife and specifically birds (Edward is a trained
and expert ornithologist and took keener members on a couple of early morning
twitching trips). Edward gauged the needs of our diverse group really well,
and made just the right number of decisions for us to keep it relaxing
without being constraining. A special word for how he dealt with a favourite
cuddly toy being left in a hotel (when we noticed about 200 miles away).
Edward's connections, organisation and determination led to a reunion the
next day!

Costa Rica, generally, delivers exactly what it says on the tin. Amazing
wildlife and landscapes.

The big highlights for us were the additional paid-for trips. White water
rafting was exhilarating, with just enough thrills to feel edgy for our 9 and
11 year olds, whilst feeling completely safe and in control. Zip wire near
Arenal volcano was similarly exciting. As someone with an intense dislike of
heights (I feel wobbly in thick socks - and seriously, struggle to stand on a
step ladder) I'd encourage anyone like me to go for it. The start and interim
platforms are deep in the trees, so don't feel at all exposed or high. And
the "zippy" bits are, yes, high above the valley, but high enough for the
drop to be abstract and so fast there's no time to look down! The only
slightly tricky bit for me was the walk (down a spiral staircase - think of a
fire escape) at the end.

Tips:
- Everyone accepts dollars, and debit cards work everywhere too (including
all the restaurants).

- It's wet in August! (as everyone kept reminding us - it's a rainforest...).
Doesn't interfere with the enjoyment at all but anything that gets wet, will
stay wet and then smelly. If we went again we'd take 7 days worth of clothes
and get them washed (i.e. and also dried) at a couple of hotels. This was
fast and efficient when we tried it.

- We travelled 1000 miles on fairly slow roads (so, a bit more than 20 hours
in total) over the 2 weeks. For younger kids, bring activities for the coach.

Feedback for Exodus (other than the obvious "it was all great and Edward is
amazing")
Cahuita didn't really do much for us and also featured the weakest of the set
of hotels. Nothing specifically bad about it (so don't worry, prospective
bookers!) but maybe drop that (and the 2 long-ish transfers) for more time
around Arenal?
The last 36 hours felt a bit flat/wasted. Maybe have an early start, drive
straight from Dominical to the airport on the last day, and have an extra
night in Dominical?

Overall, and excellent trip, well worth the money, and we'll be back for more
in the future!
Read more

A

Recommends

Costa rica family adventure October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
What a fabulous experience only made possible by our wonderful guide Glenda
Araya, our fantastic driver Mauricio and 3 families who met as strangers and
ended the 2 weeks as one big, happy family. It may have rained every night
(and when it rains it really rains) and we may have witnessed some of the
most amazing thunder and lightening I have ever seen, but that didn`t
detract from the scenery which was stunning and the wildlife which was up
close and fascinating.

Every day involved a new experience whether it was gliding slowly on a boat
through the deserted waterways of Tortuguero ( made possible by Glenda`s
expertise in managing to capture a quiet time of day) or chewing on raw cacao
beans on the chocolate tour then sampling the finished product or white water
rafting, something I always said I would never do but somehow it seemed right
to be brave and give it a go.

You lose track of the days of the week and really it isn`t important- just
let go and enjoy the experience as everything is organised for you.
Gliding slowly though the waterways of Tortuguero National Park with no other
boats around us- just the forest,the water and us. Glenda, our guide, and
Jeffrey, our boatman, helped us spot dolphins, turtles, a host of birds and
iguanas. Magical.


Glenda was approachable, fun and also had an extensive knowledge of her
country and it`s flora and fauna. Armed with her trusty telescope she allowed
us to capture amazing videos and pictures and spotted wildlife which, quite
frankly, I would never have seen had she not been with us. She was very
patient even when the group were dithering about the rafting and what grade
of river we would be on as some of our insurance didn`t cover certain grades
of river. She made several phone calls to try and clarify this for us and
found out the information and came with us for the experience.


Bring a poncho ! Bring lots of quick drying underwear as nothing dries if you
wash it. There is a laundry service in most hotels the cheapest was at
Montechiari at Arenal. Everyone took suitcases - I only mention this as I was
unsure when it said `pack light` whether it meant rucksacks or not though
you still need a day rucksack, and definitely bring walking boots or shoes.


If you are wanting a relaxing holiday to put your feet up by a pool this may
not be the best trip for you. If you want to see this wonderful country and
pack as much as possible in and still have a few afternoons or mornings to
relax then this is the best way to do it.


Read more

A

Recommends

Family Adventure October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was an excellent family holiday to a magnificent and inspirational
country full of adventure opportunities and wonderful wildlife. Our tour
guide, Hector, was excellent and very knowledgeable.
There was a lot of travelling, but the destinations were worth the time spent
travelling. It was the wet season, but the rain didn't cause any real
difficulties or stop the planned activities.
Accommodation was good, mainly in lodges, and the food everywhere was better
than expected from the guide books.
The wildlife is amazing and generally so close to hand.
Probably the turtles laying eggs at night time, although the scenery, the
oceans and the wildlife are all inspirational.


Our tour guide, Hector, was excellent, very knowledgeable, good English, gave
us options to consider, and dealt with the few problems that arose very well.
He made sure that we did as much as we wanted, gave good commentaries and has
very good knowledge of the birds, animals and insects. He was very patient
with the children.

The two drivers we had were also professional and drove safely.


A great family holiday, the children of various ages all got on well
together, but the humidity can make drying clothes almost impossible. However
the laundry services offered by the hotels were generally cheap and quick.


Our third Exodus holiday, all have been excellent. Exodus policy of using
local staff is very good.


Read more

A

Recommends

Costa Rica Family Adventure October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Family adventure trip - you moved on every couple days so you needed to pack
wisely. There was a lot of boat trips and travelling around the country.
There was a huge amount of wildlife to see so a pair of binoculars is good.
Highlights were Tortugero National Park - truly remote location, beach at
Cahuita and seeing Buttercup.
White water rafting at Sarapiqui - instructors were great - really good with
the kids and great lunch provided afterwards.


Jorge was inspirational - his knowledge of the wildlife was exceptional. He
was great with the kids.


A plastic poncho - raincoats even the highest tech do not shelter you or
backpacks enough from the torrential downpours, and invariably it takes
jackets a long time to dry out.
The luggage is packed onto a minibus so we found that smaller wheelie cases
worked well.


Would like to remain anonymous


Read more

A

Recommends

One of our best trips ever. October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was an amazing experience. The cycling was moderate on mostly quiet,
smooth roads with some hills. The bikes were good quality Scott hybrids with
disc brakes. (Ours were brand new.)
The guided nature tours were fascinating and informative with local, expert
guides.
Our trip leader, Roberto, was excellent. Always helpful and very
knowledgeable with good English.
Our driver, Luis, was very safe and helpful.
I would love to do it all again.
Ian Taylor, Vancouver, Canada.
The Nature tours with local guides.


First rate.


Add some hills into your training rides.


Read more

A

Recommends

Great wildlife! October 2018

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Great to see so much great wildlife on a cycling trip (it was the reason we
took the trip). Be prepared however if, like us, you are used to cycling
along quiet roads enjoying the views or witnessing folk going about their
lives whilst getting to know your fellow travellers. Half the cycling is on
busy roads (sometimes with little to see) cycling single file with your speed
being restricted by the lead guide. That being said, the stroll (not 'hike'
as stated in the trip notes) in Antonio Manuel NP and the biological station
as well as the boat trips at both Rio Tarcoles and Tortuguero were great and
we saw SO many birds, insects, reptiles, amphibians and animals. The trip to
the medicinal garden provided us with one of the best meals of the trip and
so many unusual and beautiful plants. I was worried I wasn't going to see a
sloth - we saw 7 (one on a fence on the side of the road we were cycling on).
The dips in the Pacific and the swimming pools during the first week were
also a particular highlight for me.
Seeing our first sloth in Antonio Manuel NP - he was awake and eating too!
Having 3 dolphins swim beside our boat in Tortuguero (very rare apparently!)
Our first swim in the Pacific, the waves were amazing and the water so warm!


Good English, good wildlife knowledge but lacking in his interaction with us


- Take binoculars!!
- Take the BA direct flight and have an extra day (or more) at the end
- Ask the last hotel to order an Uber taxi if you need one, half the price!
- Take lots of Factor 50 for the first week!
- No mosquitoes at all until Tortuguero (then they bit thru clothing even!)
- Be prepared for hot days with hot nights then warm days with cold nights
then hot days with cool nights. More varied than I thought
- Avoid beans and rice when you can as there are occasions when you'll have
no choice!


Zoo Ave near the final hotel was a nice surprise. Great to see up close some
of the birds and animals we'd seen thru binoculars during the week.


Read more

A

Recommends

Great guide and group made the trip August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The cycling was challenging in the heat but the guide, mechanic and driver
provided great support. A group were inclusive and the sights seen were
spectacular.
Looking into an active volcano at dusk.


The group letter was exceptional. Nothing was to much trouble. He looked
after the safety and welfare of the group.


The hills are challenging for casual cyclist in the heat of the day.


An enjoyable trip.


Read more

A

Recommends

What a fabulous way to explore these countries August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was our first Exodus trip and I have to say we had a few reservations
before we left . We have been on many of our own cycling holidays but never
on an organised one . We were worried there might not be enough cycling or
that we might have to wait ages for others or hold others up.
However Roberto our leader was brilliant . We all cycled at our own pace but
he kept us all together at regroup points and everyone was happy .
What I loved about the holiday was the opportunity to do something we like
-the cycling but also to do sightseeing and explore places I know we would
not have seen if we were on our own .
Everything was so well organised even down to our lunch being booked in
advance and we pay at end of the week .
I liked being in a group we had such a laugh it was like a two week party and
those on their own were looked after well.
I wish we had started looking at Exodus holidays before , I will certainly go
on another
Cycling along the lake and seeing all the wildlife
The views were amazing
Also staying on a Caribbean island in Panama


Brilliant
He made the holiday special and created the team ethos


If you can go a day earlier and stay a day later it is worth it so you see
more of Panama and Grenada


Read more

A

Recommends

Cycling, Scenery and Swimming August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The trip is a great combination of cycling in three Central American
countries all with quite distinct scenery. The cycling stages are not too
long but nonetheless quite challenging given the hills and heat/humidity.
Some training - particularly hills - is recommended! There was often time for
a swim at the end of the day and swimming one day in the Caribbean Sea and
the next in the Pacific Ocean was a highlight. Frequently, there was the
opportunity to spot wildlife along the route - sloths, howler monkeys and
toucans! A visit to an active volcano and cycling across the Panama Canal are
also part of the itinerary.
Cycling a very hilly stage of the tour through breathtaking scenery.


The trip leader - Memo - was very sociable, well organised and professional
with a great sense of humour. He too k the time to get to know each member of
the group and made sure that we were happy, comfortable and enjoying the
cycling - offering encouragement up the longer steeper hill sections.
Importantly, Memo was quite conscious of the safety of the group on the road.
Memo's briefings were comprehensive and helpful and he was always willing to
answer our questions - relevant or otherwise! Memo was well supported by the
local crew who were also very engaged with the group and made sure our bikes
were in good order and we were well hydrated/ fed with fresh local fruits at
the cycling rest stops. The trip was well supported by a great team which
contributed to the overall enjoyment.


The stages are quite hilly so some training is essential. There are a couple
of short off road stages so some off road training may also be helpful. Lunch
and dinner is at the traveller's cost which can add quite a bit to a two-week
trip. No too much time is spent in towns or villages so make sure you have
all the essentials with you. There are no too many opportunities for engaging
with local people or local culture.


Cycling Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama is a great way to get a taste of
three different Central American countries.


Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 536 total

Top Costa Rica Tours View All Costa Rica Trips
Best of Costa Rica tour Best of Costa Rica

$ 1,299 8-days trip

Pura Vida tour Pura Vida

$ 1,659 9-days trip

Costa Rica Adventure tour Costa Rica Adventure

$ 2,150 9-days trip

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Stride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!